Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kpowersave blocked by dbus
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:22 am    Post subject: kpowersave blocked by dbus Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge -NupD world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating world dependencies /
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "dev-libs/dbus-qt3-old" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-libs/dbus-qt3-old-0.70 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "sys-power/kpowersave-0.6.2" [ebuild])



!!! Problem resolving dependencies for sys-power/kpowersave
!!! Depgraph creation failed.

Now how do I fix that? The ebuild is not updated, yes I know I run ~x86 there. The dbus-qt3-old ebuild is masked, so that does not work. But I need this kpowersave badly for my laptop, it really saves my battery... Any ideas?
(There is an update of kpowersave that does not rely on dbus anymore but the ebuild will have to be changed quite a bit, I'm not sure that's a good solution)
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temet
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 2579
Location: 92

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using "x86" and I have the same problem ... I didn't find a solution yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sonicbhoc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 1805
Location: In front of the computer screen

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --sync, and see if dbus-qt3-old is still masked. If it is, just unmask it. I had unmasked it a while ago and it worked just fine on my computer...
_________________
I'm too lazy to keep this stupid signature up to date, so here's something more interesting:
My friend Hetdegon can draw if you ask me.
Now using PClinuxOS on my laptop and Gentoo on my desktop and new laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sonicbhoc wrote:
emerge --sync, and see if dbus-qt3-old is still masked. If it is, just unmask it. I had unmasked it a while ago and it worked just fine on my computer...
There's a reason why it is masked, right? That's really strange...
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lloeki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 437
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kpowersave requires >=dbus-0.91 which blocks <=dbus-0.90, the latter being needed by <=hald-5.4.1, which is in turn a dependency of kpowersave.
rephrased: kpowersave needs both =dbus-1* and hald, but hald indirecly blocks dbus-1
the solution is to fix hald to build against dbus-1, which shouldn't be hard, as dbus-0.63 and dbus-1 have the same new api... another one would be to let kpowersave build against dbus-0.63, which obviously is able to since I had the exact same version installed against dbus-0.63. seems the ebuild got updated in a ridiculous way (no -r1, stupid dependencies, obviously no testing)

tip: use the --tree option of emerge :)
_________________
Moved to using Arch Linux
Life is meant to be lived, not given up...
HOLY COW I'M TOTALLY GOING SO FAST OH F*** ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help, I've added a bug and referred to this thread. I hope this will sort things out quickly, I like to keep my system up to date...
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, the developers say it's not a bug because it's ~x86 software... I unmasked dev-libs/dbus-qt3-old-0.70 but then it asks me to unmask dbus-1. That sounds a bit too unstable, does anyone have experiences with it?
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Braempje wrote:
Right, the developers say it's not a bug because it's ~x86 software... I unmasked dev-libs/dbus-qt3-old-0.70 but then it asks me to unmask dbus-1. That sounds a bit too unstable, does anyone have experiences with it?
Update: I'm giving it a try and so far it seems to work fine, I'll update this thread subject if everything keeps working.
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smoothhound
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I battled with this recently and finally got everything working by unmasking the following packages (from a generally x86 system):

Code:
sys-power/kpowersave            ~x86
sys-power/powersave             ~x86
=dev-libs/dbus-qt3-old-0.70     ~x86
=dev-libs/dbus-glib-0.72        ~x86
=sys-apps/dbus-1.0.2            ~x86
=sys-apps/hal-0.5.7.1-r2        ~x86
=app-cdr/k3b-0.12.17            ~x86


I can't quite remember the failure details but the x86 versions of hal and k3b would not compile once I had unmasked dbus-1, Also I think dbus-glib was a dependency of the newer k3b. I have been running with dbus-1 for 3 or 4 days now and have not hit any problems.

Hope this helps someone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lloeki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 437
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hal has a ( <sys-apps/dbus-0.90 >=sys-apps/dbus-0.60 ) depend, that's why it wouldn't emerge.

the way you did it is a nasty trick:
installed dbus-0.62
installed hal
removed dbus-0.62
installed dbus-1

that way, hal is installed, dbus is installed, kpowersave is happy. things might break in hal, since it's not built vs the current dbus. you would need to do a revdep-rebuild/remerge hal but it would try to pull dbus-0.62.

whatever, someone is updating the ebuild without adding -r(n+1) each time nor checking what he does. someone please slap him.

PS: I mistakenly talked aboud dbus-0-63 before, that's obviously 0.62 ;)
_________________
Moved to using Arch Linux
Life is meant to be lived, not given up...
HOLY COW I'M TOTALLY GOING SO FAST OH F*** ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smoothhound
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually hal-0.5.7.1-r2 has a depend:

Code:
RDEPEND=">=dev-libs/glib-2.6
        || ( >=dev-libs/dbus-glib-0.71
                ( <sys-apps/dbus-0.90 >=sys-apps/dbus-0.60 ) )
...


So in theory it should be happy with the dbus-glib I installed before it.

I did have a few installs revdep-reuilds before everything was happy unfortunately I can't remember the exact order I did things :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temet
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 2579
Location: 92

PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I use stable dbus, I've put the ebuild of Kpowersave in my local overlay and removed the dependance on "dbus-qt3-old".

It works like a charm ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2007 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't get kpowersave to compile with dbus-1:
Code:
...
checking for dcopidl2cpp... /usr/kde/3.5/bin/dcopidl2cpp
checking for mcopidl... /usr/kde/3.5/bin/mcopidl
checking for artsc-config... /usr/kde/3.5/bin/artsc-config
checking for meinproc... /usr/kde/3.5/bin/meinproc
checking for kconfig_compiler... /usr/kde/3.5/bin/kconfig_compiler
checking for dcopidlng... /usr/kde/3.5/bin/dcopidlng
checking for xmllint... /usr/bin/xmllint
checking whether byte ordering is bigendian... no
checking for MAXPATHLEN... 4096
detected distribution: Gentoo
enabled debug messages: no
enabled YaST menu entry: no
enabled faked sysfs - proc environment: no
checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-pkg-config... no
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for PACKAGE... yes
checking dbus/connection.h usability... no
checking dbus/connection.h presence... no
checking for dbus/connection.h... no
configure: error: You need D-BUS/Qt3 bindings

!!! Please attach the following file when filing a report to bugs.gentoo.org:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/kpowersave-0.6.2/work/kpowersave-0.6.2/config.log

!!! ERROR: sys-power/kpowersave-0.6.2 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1546:   Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 937:   Called src_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 1255:   Called kde_src_compile
  kde.eclass, line 170:   Called kde_src_compile 'all'
  kde.eclass, line 340:   Called kde_src_compile 'myconf' 'configure' 'make'
  kde.eclass, line 322:   Called econf '--with-x' '--enable-mitshm' '--with-xinerama' '--with-qt-dir=/usr/qt/3' '--enable-mt' '--with-qt-libraries=/usr/qt/3/lib' '--disable-debug' '--without-debug' '--with-arts' '--with-extra-includes=/usr/kde/3.5/include' '--with-extra-libs=/usr/kde/3.5/lib'
  ebuild.sh, line 540:   Called die

!!! econf failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.

Any ideas? Other ebuilds like k3b and kdebase correctly depend on dbus-qt3-old. dbus/dbus-connection.h does exist, perhaps the configure file is wrong?

(Now I rebuilt my system to dbus-1 for kpowersave and now it does not work :( )
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've opened a bug for this, but dbus-qt3-old seems to be a problem.
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lloeki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 437
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Smoothhound wrote:
Actually hal-0.5.7.1-r2 has a depend:

Code:
RDEPEND=">=dev-libs/glib-2.6
        || ( >=dev-libs/dbus-glib-0.71
                ( <sys-apps/dbus-0.90 >=sys-apps/dbus-0.60 ) )
...


So in theory it should be happy with the dbus-glib I installed before it.

in theory it should even try to pull dbus-glib before trying to pull dbus itself... which it did not in my case (along with a few other oddities). whatever...

Quote:

I did have a few installs revdep-reuilds before everything was happy unfortunately I can't remember the exact order I did things :oops:

in the end, it worked (dbus-1 + dbus-glib + hal 0.5.7.1-r2). the way I did it was by -C'ing the deeper I could, then -1'ing things in the order I wanted, then revdep'ing.
so, as always I proceeded step by step, without making any wild assumptions, being logical in all places, and it worked. certainly that was a mistake of mine in the first place.
_________________
Moved to using Arch Linux
Life is meant to be lived, not given up...
HOLY COW I'M TOTALLY GOING SO FAST OH F*** ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lloeki wrote:
Smoothhound wrote:
Actually hal-0.5.7.1-r2 has a depend:

Code:
RDEPEND=">=dev-libs/glib-2.6
        || ( >=dev-libs/dbus-glib-0.71
                ( <sys-apps/dbus-0.90 >=sys-apps/dbus-0.60 ) )
...


So in theory it should be happy with the dbus-glib I installed before it.

in theory it should even try to pull dbus-glib before trying to pull dbus itself... which it did not in my case (along with a few other oddities). whatever...

Quote:

I did have a few installs revdep-reuilds before everything was happy unfortunately I can't remember the exact order I did things :oops:

in the end, it worked (dbus-1 + dbus-glib + hal 0.5.7.1-r2). the way I did it was by -C'ing the deeper I could, then -1'ing things in the order I wanted, then revdep'ing.
so, as always I proceeded step by step, without making any wild assumptions, being logical in all places, and it worked. certainly that was a mistake of mine in the first place.

Wow that's a strange way to install something. There are certainly some problems with this ebuild, I hope they get sorted out by the devs
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Braempje
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 748

PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now it works all of a sudden, but the ebuild had no new revision of course :?
_________________
Dictionary of the Flemish Sign Language - Woordenboek Vlaamse Gebarentaal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum