Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel Panic With Two NICS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:38 pm    Post subject: Kernel Panic With Two NICS Reply with quote

OK, I am sure you have all heard wierder stories but this one is a mind f'r for me.


Spoke with HP about it and i think i got my answer.. but i want to ask the real experts =)

Basically the system boots fine.. however if BOTH nics are plugged in then it kernel panics.. if ONE is plugged in then it
comes online but i have to PHYSCIALLY remove the cable form one nic and put it into the other in order get online.

HP-9000 D380 Dual Risc

4. UL 350 Core LAN (802.3) at 0xffd07000 [8/16/6] { 10, 0x0, 0x02f, 0x0008a }

eth0: GSC DS21140 Tulip rev 34 at Port 0x10000, 00:10:83:F5:79:7F, IRQ 23.
eth0: Setting full-duplex based on MII#1 link partner capability of 45e1.

now after speaking with hp they tell me that the 10mb MUST be plugged in to boot.. and the 10/100 card will be activated afterwards.

However i am only seeing eth0.

now i was also told i need to configure the port to half duplex but at the moment i only have a unmanaged switch. I order one that i can
manage.


Thanks in advance guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on Alternative Architectures.
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8045

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using modules? Specifically, have you tried loading only the module for the interface which is actually used? Or not building the module for the unused interface at all? Or building in the module for the used interface and leaving the unused interface as an unloaded module for failover purposes?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desultory wrote:
Have you tried using modules? Specifically, have you tried loading only the module for the interface which is actually used? Or not building the module for the unused interface at all? Or building in the module for the used interface and leaving the unused interface as an unloaded module for failover purposes?


Tried all of the above.

I am almost certain this is a HalfDuplex issue because my switch is not managed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8045

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried forcing the used interface to half duplex during the boot process, then restarting it full duplex after the system has booted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desultory wrote:
Have you tried forcing the used interface to half duplex during the boot process, then restarting it full duplex after the system has booted?


hmm how can I force it to half?


I ordered a managed switch. SO hopefully it will resolve my issue.

But it would be good to know how to do this manually
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desultory wrote:
Have you tried forcing the used interface to half duplex during the boot process, then restarting it full duplex after the system has booted?



Well I got the managed siwtch in and changed the port to half duplex and I still get the same problem.

I basically have toboot with it plugged into the 10MB ONboard LAN then once the os is up I have to switch the wire into the 100MB Intel card & then I have a network.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8045

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

techn wrote:
Well I got the managed siwtch in and changed the port to half duplex and I still get the same problem.
I meant the interface not the switch, but then the manner in which I was thinking of doing that seems to be unavailable.

Does mii-config work with the interface which is used? If so, then perhaps rate limiting the card at boot (via restricting what media types are advertised), then removing that limit would work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desultory wrote:
techn wrote:
Well I got the managed siwtch in and changed the port to half duplex and I still get the same problem.
I meant the interface not the switch, but then the manner in which I was thinking of doing that seems to be unavailable.

Does mii-config work with the interface which is used? If so, then perhaps rate limiting the card at boot (via restricting what media types are advertised), then removing that limit would work.


Tried this and it crashed the machine.

Spoke with HP and they told me i HAVE to have that iface active on boot... do not understand why.. but thats what they said.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8045

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more try, can the unused interface be disabled in the system setup, before the OS loads?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desultory wrote:
One more try, can the unused interface be disabled in the system setup, before the OS loads?


that's an excellent question. One I have been trying to find out for two weeks. No one has an answer for me. Not even HP heh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gmsoft
Developer
Developer


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To force 100mbit half duplex you can use "mii-tool -D 100baseTX-HD" or whatever mode you want. See mii-tool --help for a short list. However, I don't think it'll fix your issue.

Could you post the full dmesg with the panic message and the kernel config somewhere ?
It should not crash.

Also, you can join #gentoo-hppa on irc.freenode.net. We can try to help you out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gmsoft wrote:
To force 100mbit half duplex you can use "mii-tool -D 100baseTX-HD" or whatever mode you want. See mii-tool --help for a short list. However, I don't think it'll fix your issue.

Could you post the full dmesg with the panic message and the kernel config somewhere ?
It should not crash.

Also, you can join #gentoo-hppa on irc.freenode.net. We can try to help you out.


Well thats the messed up thing about it... The system just locks then I get FLT Messages that rotate on the display on the actual HP box and on the concsole port . but nothing more then that. They move rather quickly but from what i saw it was like

FLT2058
FLT2048
FLT4310

etc etc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum