Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
ImageMagick Won't Emerge [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
palsyboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 262
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:34 pm    Post subject: ImageMagick Won't Emerge [Solved] Reply with quote

If I try to install imagemagick, I get the following error:
Code:
!!! ERROR: media-gfx/imagemagick=6.3.0.5 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1546: Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 937: Called src_compile
  imagemagick-6.3.0.5.ebuild, line 86: Called die

!!! compile problem


It seems to be a dependency of the GIMP, as I don't have imagemagick enabled as a USE flag. Will I lose GIMP functionality if I try to install the GIMP with USE="-imagemagick"?

I should note that it's breaking when I try to run: emerge grip gimp gimp-user-manual gimp-help gimp-freetype gimp-print kuser kicker-applets mesa-progs alsa-utils alsa-oss alsa-tools alsa-plugins kamix

Thanks.


Last edited by palsyboy on Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:02 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sonicbhoc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 1805
Location: In front of the computer screen

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That wasn't the error message, I can't figure out what's wrong from that. That's a call stack - the error message is a few lines up. Try compiling it again and post the errors it prints to the terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palsyboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 262
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about that. Here's what it says:
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.1.1/../../../../i686-pc-linux-gnu/bin/ld: cannot find -lMagick
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [blib/arch/auto/Image/Magickr/Magick.so] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/var/tmp/portage/imagemagick-6.3.0.5./work/ImageMagick-6.3.0/PerlMagick'
make: *** [all-perl] Error 2
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs...

Then it gives the call stack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sonicbhoc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 1805
Location: In front of the computer screen

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you give me a few more lines? sorry to bother you so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palsyboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 262
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No need to apologize - you're the one helping me. :)

I was typing all that manually from my Linux machine to my Mac, since I don't yet have a running X-server. I decided to try getting it running so I could just copy the code over from Konsole to Firefox, but I found out that I was missing some necessary parts of make.conf. I'm now running a major emerge --newuse, so it might be a while before I get back to this thread.

At least I finally pulled my head out of my rear to figure out that ImageMagick is necessary for gimp-print, not the GIMP itself. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
quietScot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Newcastle, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:26 pm    Post subject: Same problem - found a unstatisfactory workaround Reply with quote

Hi,

I've been having the same problem when emerging 'gnome-light' with imagemagick failing.

The only way I could find of fixing it is (being a relative newbie and trying to interpret other posts/internet) was to add a '-perl' flag to package.use for imagemagick . Looking at imagemagick.org there's some threads suggesting the perl element of the implementation might be a bit flaky currently.

Doing this and then emerging, imagemagick complied, but the compiler complained about not being able to find various Xorg libraries during the compile - so I don't think this is an ideal solution.

Any pointers would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buckyball
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Oct 2002
Posts: 14
Location: Fremont, CA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's what I get:

-SNIP-
i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -L../magick/.libs -lMagick -shared -L/usr/local/lib Magick.o -o blib/arch/auto/Image/Magick/Magick.so \
-L/usr/lib -lfreetype -lz -L/usr/lib -ltiff -lfreetype -ljpeg -lfreetype -lz -lfontconfig -lexpat -lXext -lSM -lICE -lX11 -lXt -lbz2 -lz -lpthread -lm -lpthread \

chmod 755 blib/arch/auto/Image/Magick/Magick.so
Manifying blib/man3/Image::Magick.3pm
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/imagemagick-6.3.0.5/work/ImageMagick-6.3.0/PerlMagick'

!!! ERROR: media-gfx/imagemagick-6.3.0.5 failed.
Call stack:
ebuild.sh, line 1546: Called dyn_compile
ebuild.sh, line 937: Called src_compile
imagemagick-6.3.0.5.ebuild, line 86: Called die

!!! compile problem
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
_________________
Buckyball
If it doesn't fit, force it --
if it breaks, it needed fixing anyway!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firre
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:39 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem - found a unstatisfactory workaround Reply with quote

quietScot wrote:
Hi,

I've been having the same problem when emerging 'gnome-light' with imagemagick failing.


I just installed gentoo and was having the same problem with imagemagick when merging gnome-light.
To solve this problem I first merged imagemagick-6.2.9.5 and then imagemagick-6.3.0.5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blixem
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 3:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem - found a unstatisfactory workaround Reply with quote

firre wrote:
quietScot wrote:
Hi,

I've been having the same problem when emerging 'gnome-light' with imagemagick failing.


I just installed gentoo and was having the same problem with imagemagick when merging gnome-light.
To solve this problem I first merged imagemagick-6.2.9.5 and then imagemagick-6.3.0.5.


Same problem, same fix. I just emerged 6.2.9.5 first and 6.3.0.5 emerged with zero errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guyr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem, same fix. Installing x86 from scratch into a virtual machine. Looking back on the original error, why is the build for ImageMagick trying to include the Magick library? That recursive dependency doesn't seem right.
_________________
Guy Rouillier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
togan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 200
Location: Germany NRW

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Same problem - found a unstatisfactory workaround Reply with quote

firre wrote:
quietScot wrote:
Hi,

I've been having the same problem when emerging 'gnome-light' with imagemagick failing.


I just installed gentoo and was having the same problem with imagemagick when merging gnome-light.
To solve this problem I first merged imagemagick-6.2.9.5 and then imagemagick-6.3.0.5.


Same problem and fix,

Code:
echo ">=media-gfx/imagemagick-6.3.0.5" >> /etc/portage/package.mask
env-update
emerge imagemagick


thanks.
_________________
Gentoo 2006.1 stage1 MSI nforce 4 Athlon64 Nvidia PCI Express
Raptor74 GB + 200 GB X 2 SATA


Last edited by togan on Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
palsyboy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 262
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That fix worked for me, too. Thanks. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SvenFischer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 05 Feb 2003
Posts: 1033
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my brand new install:

Code:
MAKEOPTS="-j1" emerge imagemagick


did the trick!
_________________
Core2Duo, 4GB RAM, AMD/ATI 4850 and nice person in front!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
misterjack
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1485
Location: Germany -> Saxony -> Leipzig

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SvenFischer wrote:
On my brand new install:

Code:
MAKEOPTS="-j1" emerge imagemagick


did the trick!


works fine here too ;)
_________________
„Meine Meinung steht fest! Bitte verwirren Sie mich nicht mit Tatsachen.“
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
millerl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 51
Location: Coeur d'Alene

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked for me too. Thanks!

I was having the same problem!! ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cable_guy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Smithers, BC

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem. -j1 worked awesome here too.
_________________
What, Windows isn't 64bit yet? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rsborn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 105
Location: Webster, NY

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 11:46 pm    Post subject: Fixed mine too Reply with quote

This is a brand new install under vmware (not that it matters) and the j1 seemed to take care of it for me as well

thanks,
Rick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 May 2005
Posts: 7
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SvenFischer wrote:
On my brand new install:

Code:
MAKEOPTS="-j1" emerge imagemagick


did the trick!


This worked for me too, many thanks!

Out of curiousity, why does it work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cable_guy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Smithers, BC

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not positive but I have an idea. I believe that makeopts is supposed to control the number of parallel processes to use during the build. I think that one of the processes is trying to build code that is dependant on code that has yet to finish in the other process. I admit it's a bit of a guess but it makes a bit of sense to me.
_________________
What, Windows isn't 64bit yet? :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lukmih
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just had this same problem and had to use the:
Code:
 MAKEOPTS="-j1" emerge imagemagick

The make(1) man page states the argument to -j is the number of simultaneous jobs to run. I don't like old software dependencies so I'm going to stick with the -j1 and avoid the old stuff.

Looks like several already posted the bug as 155804

I suppose its possible to see this work fine on faster computers opposed to slower single processors with no ht because of how much better running multiple threads works when there are more processors...but I could be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
metatinara
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

misterjack wrote:
SvenFischer wrote:
On my brand new install:

Code:
MAKEOPTS="-j1" emerge imagemagick


did the trick!


works fine here too ;)

I this fix worked for me too -- thank you very much! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Padwarmo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote=cable_guy]I'm not positive but I have an idea. I believe that makeopts is supposed to control the number of parallel processes to use during the build. I think that one of the processes is trying to build code that is dependant on code that has yet to finish in the other process. I admit it's a bit of a guess but it makes a bit of sense to me.[/quote]

Turns out to be just that. Seems like make "forgets" to wait for a dependent compilation and moves on to the next step right away. Usually when my non-emerge builds fail with "-j2" I just run make with no -j option set to overcome that error. After that I could go on with -j2.

If you wanna make sure something compiles over night you should remove the "-j2" option in your make.conf - even though it will take longer at least it will finish :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theron NightStar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Leave it to the ever-so-excellent Gentoo Forums to have a solution to a problem waiting here for me! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kg4ysy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 183
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The -j1 worked for me as well. Thanks for help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rsa4046
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 640
Location: The Big H, a bit SSW

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

++ !
_________________
I love gentoo, but I am certainly no guru, despite what it says above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum