[Solved] Installing without LiveCD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
________
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: [Solved] Installing without LiveCD Reply with quote

This is my first attempted Gentoo Installation. It is the Gentoo 2006.1 Minimal CD/Install CD. My predicament is thus: I cannot find any guides that involve installing Gentoo without either internet connection OR LiveCD. Could anyone please point me to one?

Last edited by ________ on Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:05 am; edited 1 time in total
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There aren't any. You use an install cd to install. Other installation methods are possible, but not supported.

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2006 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installing Gentoo without a Gentoo CD is fairly easy, almost any other LiveCD (like Knoppix or Ubuntu) will do the job.

Installing Gentoo without an internet connection is much more difficult, not to mention that once you have it installed, updates and installing additional software will be a real pain.
________
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not without a CD. Without a LiveCD.
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean ?
Is the CD you are trying to use dead ?
________
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote