Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Portato - A Portage GUI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18, 19, 20  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vegan wrote:
Thanks :)
Can you explain me this "etcproposals" "noroot" USE flags ?


etcproposals: Installs the etc-proposals plugin. (Etc-Proposals is a graphical replacement for etc-update - see http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-543876.html). This plugin will run etcproposals after each emerge process.
noroot: Some users have built their system in a way, that it does not need root to run emerge. For these users this plugin can be used, so Portato will not complain about it. (This plugin is just a workaround and untested ;))
syntax: Enables syntax-highlighting for the ebuild window for the Gtk frontend. (Qt has syntax highlighting by default).

Hope, I could help you ;)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1276
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw etc-proposals 1.2 is out.
ebuild is here: http://prdownload.berlios.de/etc-proposals/etcproposals-1.2.ebuild
if you want to add it to your overlay.

1.2 also includes the qt4 frontend written by Jeremy_Z.
_________________
etc-proposals, your friendly config file updater!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New Release: 0.7.3

Changes from version 0.7.0:
- Added systray and desktop entries
- Added confirmation dialogs for quitting while the emerge queue is not empty
- Ability to show packages by installation status
- Moved the gtk-syntax-highlight plugin to another package
- Improved QtTerminal a bit

Known Issues:
The QtTerminal is not the best one. Especially while emerging large packages, where a lot of information has to be written in a short time, Qt tends to freeze. Solutions are welcome ;)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guru369
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great Utility!!

Feature suggestion:
add the currently action title (Emerging/Unmerging/Syncing) with the package name to the App title bar. (Like when you emerge in a terminal)

Useful when minimized or when its running and you can see what is currently merging/unmerging in the console.

So far I had not problems with it.

Edit: When an emerge/unmerge/sync action is over, Return to the package Tab or Something instead of staying in the terminal.
Also auto refresh the Package tree after the action is finish to reflect changes.

Keep up the good work!

Dekel
_________________
Gentoo Rulz!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guru369 wrote:
Feature suggestion:
add the currently action title (Emerging/Unmerging/Syncing) with the package name to the App title bar. (Like when you emerge in a terminal)

Ok - won't be much of a problem ;) ... *add to TODO*
Quote:
Edit: When an emerge/unmerge/sync action is over, Return to the package Tab or Something instead of staying in the terminal.

*add to TODO* :)
Quote:
Also auto refresh the Package tree after the action is finish to reflect changes.

It is updated - but not refreshed. Just click once again on the category and you will notice the changes.
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vegan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I' using
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--ask --verbose --changelog" in my "/etc/make.conf"
Portato give's me this message when I try to install something through it.-
Quote:
!!! "--ask" should only be used in a terminal. Exiting.

Can You do something about it , enabling --ask option in portato or omitting it by default ?
_________________
Go Vegan! For The Sake of Animals
//Gentoo 2007.0/desktop, portage- 2.1.3_rc8, kernel @ 2.6.22-kamikaze1 (CFSv19) i686, "/" REISER4, ~x86, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.5-r3
//P4 2.4Ghz, 768 RAM , ATI Radeon X1600pro AGP, P4P800, SB Live ! 5.1, WDC 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vegan wrote:
I' using
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--ask --verbose --changelog" in my "/etc/make.conf"
Portato give's me this message when I try to install something through it.-
Quote:
!!! "--ask" should only be used in a terminal. Exiting.

Can You do something about it , enabling --ask option in portato or omitting it by default ?

*Add to TODO: filter "--ask"* :) ... Are you using the Qt or the Gtk-Part?
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vegan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GTK
_________________
Go Vegan! For The Sake of Animals
//Gentoo 2007.0/desktop, portage- 2.1.3_rc8, kernel @ 2.6.22-kamikaze1 (CFSv19) i686, "/" REISER4, ~x86, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.5-r3
//P4 2.4Ghz, 768 RAM , ATI Radeon X1600pro AGP, P4P800, SB Live ! 5.1, WDC 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Important: For some reasons the Qt-Frontend does not work with PyQt4-4.2 and sip-4.6.
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:
Important: For some reasons the Qt-Frontend does not work with PyQt4-4.2 and sip-4.6.


and I was trying to figure out why the search didn't work anymore...
I'll downgrade for a bit then. :-)

Some more things I'd like to see (I only use the Qt4 interface):
- Kuroo can show the reason why a package is masked, along with the changelog. How hard would that be to implement ?
- The Qt frontend resizes when you show a package with a long description. There's a bug, when the description is is that long that it makes Portato larger than the size of my screen. I think it's best if Portato just keeps it's size, and a little widget appears when you hover the description, when it doesn't fit on the screen?
- Portato doesn't seem to remember how I resize the interface...
- Changelog for the packages itself, that seems a tad harder though, not sure if it's worth your effort.

That's all I can think of now :P
thank you :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ingmarv wrote:
- Kuroo can show the reason why a package is masked, along with the changelog. How hard would that be to implement ?
If I remember correctly, there is a portage function doing exactly this ... - so no problem. But I have to think about, where to put this information

Quote:
- The Qt frontend resizes when you show a package with a long description. There's a bug, when the description is is that long that it makes Portato larger than the size of my screen. I think it's best if Portato just keeps it's size, and a little widget appears when you hover the description, when it doesn't fit on the screen?
I just enabled word-wrapping, so Qt should wrap the label, if it gets too long :) Could you give me an example package where this occurs, so I can check?

Quote:
- Portato doesn't seem to remember how I resize the interface...
Correct. I have to see how to implement this ...

Quote:
- Changelog for the packages itself, that seems a tad harder though, not sure if it's worth your effort.
We'll see ;)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more thing, the un-emerge queue doesn't always get cleared. At least, it's behaviour isn't consistent with the behaviour of the (re)emerge queue. If you need more info, I'll unemerge a few things to try ...

Necoro wrote:
Ingmarv wrote:

- The Qt frontend resizes when you show a package with a long description. There's a bug, when the description is is that long that it makes Portato larger than the size of my screen. I think it's best if Portato just keeps it's size, and a little widget appears when you hover the description, when it doesn't fit on the screen?
I just enabled word-wrapping, so Qt should wrap the label, if it gets too long :) Could you give me an example package where this occurs, so I can check?


app-vim/gentoo-syntax

The description is longer than the default size of the interface, and I can't resize it to anything smaller than shorter than the description.

8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ingmarv wrote:
One more thing, the un-emerge queue doesn't always get cleared. At least, it's behaviour isn't consistent with the behaviour of the (re)emerge queue. If you need more info, I'll unemerge a few things to try ...

Uuh - that is supposed to be a bug. More info would be nice :) (and perhaps have a look at the debug output in the console).
Quote:
app-vim/gentoo-syntax

The description is longer than the default size of the interface, and I can't resize it to anything smaller than shorter than the description.
Note: You have a much smaller resolution, than I have (1400x1050) ... Trying to make Qt a little smarter tomorrow :)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I applied for getting Portato into the sunrise overlay. Therefore some changes had to be done for the ebuilds:

- portatosourceview moved from "app-portage" to "dev-util"
- noroot has been renamed to userpriv

To have the version numbers in sync between the two overlays, I have not incremented the revision. I would ask you to update your ebuilds via
Code:
layman -s portato
to avoid later conflicts. :)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay - portato is now in the sunrise overlay. If you are using it already, you can now deinstall the portato-overlay unless you want to use the 9999 (svn) version.
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the other forum we are getting reports of

gnome wolfden # portato
'gtk' should be installed, but cannot be imported. This is definitly a bug. (/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gobject/_gobject.so: undefined symbol: PyGILState_Ensure)


:?:

revdep-rebuild been done on all the people that had this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would say: rebuild pygobject and pygtk ...
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmichaelsen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 1276
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, dont build python without USE=threads, that breaks lots and lots of python stuff.
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=177866
Jakub Moc wrote:
On that note, please stick something like "DON'T USE THIS UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT
YOU'RE DOING" to the flag description (shameless copy from nocxx). People
should really not be given a false impression that python w/ nothreads will be
supported by anyone.

_________________
etc-proposals, your friendly config file updater!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bmichaelsen wrote:
No, dont build python without USE=threads, that breaks lots and lots of python stuff.
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=177866
Jakub Moc wrote:
On that note, please stick something like "DON'T USE THIS UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT
YOU'RE DOING" to the flag description (shameless copy from nocxx). People
should really not be given a false impression that python w/ nothreads will be
supported by anyone.

That's why they renamed the flag to "nothreads" :) ... ==> just upgrade to python-2.4.4-r4 and the issue is done
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

updating python helped but now get

Code:
gnome wolfden # portato
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/portato", line 57, in ?
    main()
  File "/usr/bin/portato", line 54, in main
    run()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/gtk/__init__.py", line 17, in run
    m.main()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/gtk/windows.py", line 1194, in main
    gobject.threads_init()
RuntimeError: pygtk threading disabled at compile time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What useflags did you take for python? You have disabled threads (at least it seems like that) ... and w/o threads no GUI will work ;) (edit:/ remerge pygobject and pygtk after you enabled threads - just to be sure)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
dev-lang/python-2.4.4-r4  USE="berkdb gdbm ipv6 ncurses readline ssl -bootstrap -build -doc -examples -nocxx -nothreads* -tk -ucs2" 0 kB


so I do USE="nothreads" emerge python
than
emerge pygobject pygtk

and back to

Quote:
gnome wolfden # portato
'gtk' should be installed, but cannot be imported. This is definitly a bug. (/usr/lib/python2.4/site-packages/gtk-2.0/gobject/_gobject.so: undefined symbol: PyGILState_Ensure)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vegan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, no, NO.
You SHOULDN'T use nothreads flag !
recompile without it .
_________________
Go Vegan! For The Sake of Animals
//Gentoo 2007.0/desktop, portage- 2.1.3_rc8, kernel @ 2.6.22-kamikaze1 (CFSv19) i686, "/" REISER4, ~x86, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.5-r3
//P4 2.4Ghz, 768 RAM , ATI Radeon X1600pro AGP, P4P800, SB Live ! 5.1, WDC 80GB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wolfden wrote:
so I do USE="nothreads" emerge python
than
emerge pygobject pygtk
Ehm - I think we missed each other ^^ ... do not set "nothreads" for any reason :). - I meant, that you should enable support for Threads (either by enabling "threads" in <python-2.4.4-r4 or by disabling "nothreads" in >=python-2.4.4-r4)

--------------------------------------
I did the following things in the svn-version:

Ingmarv wrote:
Kuroo can show the reason why a package is masked, along with the changelog. How hard would that be to implement ?
Portato now shows the masking reason as a tooltip of the "Masked" checkbox.

Vegan wrote:
Can You do something about it , enabling --ask option in portato or omitting it by default ?
- "--ask", "-a", "--pretend", "-p" are now stripped from EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS.

Additionally (as I am currently using portato on my desktop which currently only supports 1024x768), I saw, that I have to redesign the frontend a little ... with Qt I cannot even see the complete Preferences-Dialog... 8O
And: As there are requests for more informations in the package view, I have to redesign it in some way too ... currently I added a label showing the path to the overlay this package is - and want to show the link to package-homepage too. - And the Changelog ... and and and ...

/edit: And the qt-frontend does not want to work on my newly installed desktop box ... strange ... for the moment I blame PyQt4 and sip
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfden
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2004
Posts: 102
Location: Midwest

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Guys
emerge python pygobject pygtk


Got it working again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 4 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum