Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Portato - A Portage GUI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 18, 19, 20  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drizzt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 337

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thnx, for the quick reply
I really like your program.
Would it be possible fore you to post a complete install guide to portato (importing overlays, etc) as soon as renaming is finished.

Thx in advance
_________________
People don't have to earn my respect. I offer my respect to them, but be careful to lose my respect...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

at the moment, the installation how it is described in the first post is completely working (or at least: should be)...

but I'll do it as soon as they are getting things working @sf.net
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drizzt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 337

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh ok.
Complete remove und reimport into layman fixed the problem. Works like a charm.

Keep up with the good work.
_________________
People don't have to earn my respect. I offer my respect to them, but be careful to lose my respect...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drizzt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 337

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

too early...
it doesn't work.
here is the console output on attempt to emerge a package:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/gtk/windows.py", line 492, in cb_package_emerge_clicked
    self._update_keywords(True)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/gtk/windows.py", line 400, in _update_keywords
    self.queue.append(self.actual_package().get_cpv(), unmerge = False, update = update)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/portato/gui/gui_helper.py", line 389, in append
    deps = pkg.get_dep_packages()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.4/site-packages/portato/backend/package.py", line 265, in get_dep_packages
    deps = portage.dep_check (self.get_env_var("RDEPEND")+" "+self.get_env_var("DEPEND")+" "+self.get_env_var("PDEPEND"), vartree.dbapi, self._settings, myuse = actual)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 3790, in dep_check
    use_binaries=use_binaries, myroot=myroot, trees=trees)
  File "/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage.py", line 3507, in _expand_new_virtuals
    portdb = trees[myroot]["porttree"].dbapi
TypeError: unsubscriptable object


portage version: sys-apps/portage-2.1.2_rc2-r1
_________________
People don't have to earn my respect. I offer my respect to them, but be careful to lose my respect...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2006 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems to be a problem with portage ... but I can't locate or even fix it atm, because I do not have a gentoo-system until Monday :(
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drizzt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 337

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't be too worried about it. I just wanna report the problem, so you can take care of it as you have time to do so.
Still it's a great app.
_________________
People don't have to earn my respect. I offer my respect to them, but be careful to lose my respect...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok ... sf.net made it: it is now completly moved to "sf.net/projects/portato" ... please update your layman.cfg (from "geneticone.sf.net..." to "portato.sf.net...")

/edit: the thing with portage-2.1.2 is more complicated than I thought ... there are some changes that I'll have to implement
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
synss
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 280
Location: Dijon (F) > Berlin > Tokyo > Nürnberg (D)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:23 am    Post subject: Re: Yet another Portage GUI Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:
The following things do not work at the moment, but will likely be implemented in the next several centuries ;) :

  • elog parser


As you may know, I have written one, which is released under the GPLv2, so that you can take it and include it into your soft as long as you respect the GPLv2, and you probably do. I used pyGTK as well so that it may even not be very difficult. And there is a pykde port.
_________________
Compress portage tree
Elog viewer
Autodetect swap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@synss: I know your elogviewer. It gave me the idea of writing an elog-viewer. I don't want to take yours, because its look and feel is somewhat different to what I am expecting :)

@drizzt: portato-9999 should work with portage-2.1.2 now ... i built in a workaround - not a clear fix ... but i'll have to get rid of gentoolkit, so when doing this, I'll also fix it correctly.
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
YourDoom123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

haven't had a chance to try this yet, but out of curiosity, let me propose a hypothetical situation:
the user wants to install package X, which is masked. Naturally, he proceeds to unmask it (which i believe you said could be done from within your gui?)
Problem is, that didn't do the trick, because X depends on Y which is also masked. If this pattern continues, it can be a real pain in the ass. Does portato do anything about this?
_________________
Acer Aspire 5672
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YourDoom123 wrote:
haven't had a chance to try this yet, but out of curiosity, let me propose a hypothetical situation:
the user wants to install package X, which is masked. Naturally, he proceeds to unmask it (which i believe you said could be done from within your gui?)
Problem is, that didn't do the trick, because X depends on Y which is also masked. If this pattern continues, it can be a real pain in the ass. Does portato do anything about this?


Of course :) - if you want to install a package, it offers you the option to unmask all dependencies

(sry for the late answer - but during christmas there happened to be more important things ;P)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:09 am    Post subject: New Release - 0.5.2 Reply with quote

I am happy to anounce a new release: 0.5.2

Changes
- removed gentoolkit-dependency
- added support for portage-2.1.2
- added console-status
- working slots (for update_world)
- enhanced "--newuse"
- added some menu-images
- added ability to kill the running emerge process

IMPORTANT: This release does only work with portage-2.1.2
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefsha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem I have found with that overlay and portato itself,
that it doesn't look at variables in make.conf

For example I have no such path
Code:
/usr/portage/

at all. And I have no wish to keep it. Cause I think it's misconception.
And portage has nothing to do in /usr directory.


Unfortunately every overlay decides itself where it would store its data...
And that is totally wrong.

App seems to be nice, but mainly useless, cause of leak DB like functionality.
One has to check config. files anyway.

Such a GUI has to provide full functionality to aboid using command line at all.
Otherwise it would be kind of mixture.

P.S. A tip. It would be nice to see different colour of installed packages instead of asterisk...
Let say - green one. And masked packages in red.
_________________
Lefsha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lefsha wrote:
The problem I have found with that overlay and portato itself,
that it doesn't look at variables in make.conf

No - for what? Portage has to do this

Quote:
For example I have no such path
Code:
/usr/portage/

at all. And I have no wish to keep it. Cause I think it's misconception.
And portage has nothing to do in /usr directory.

It is your choice... portato takes the pathes it gets from portage - there are no pathes hardcoded

Quote:
Unfortunately every overlay decides itself where it would store its data...
And that is totally wrong.

I do not understand 8O - the overlay stores its data there, where you want (it is a simple svn-co in the end)

Quote:
App seems to be nice, but mainly useless, cause of leak DB like functionality.
One has to check config. files anyway.

Such a GUI has to provide full functionality to aboid using command line at all.
Otherwise it would be kind of mixture.

I dont have the only-GUI-user in mind, when designing the program. Most of the gentoo-users _WILL_ use their commandline from time to time - and then they should find files, which are not screwed up

Quote:
P.S. A tip. It would be nice to see different colour of installed packages instead of asterisk...
Let say - green one. And masked packages in red.

Yeah ^^ ... the asterisk is from the very beginning days - I want to change it in the nearer future ;) ...

In the meantime, I decided, that designing Use-Tips or showing ebuilds with syntax highlighting are more important ;) (the latter is one is not hard to code - the problem has been to get the appropriate Widget (GtkSourceView) w/o having to install half of GNOME :twisted: )
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2557
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In porthole we've been using a gtk.Textview and pango for different color text in the terminal and other views. We have kept to only requiring gtk and not gnome. When you get the syntax highlighting done, I hopefully can use it for porthole's ebuild display. I wanted to do that for a long time, but have not had the time. I looked at seeing if I could use some of pythonheads code from abeni, but it didn't look easy to extract what I needed. The wxwidgets code is way different than pygtk's.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefsha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:
I dont have the only-GUI-user in mind, when designing the program. Most of the gentoo-users _WILL_ use their commandline from time to time - and then they should find files, which are not screwed up


I disagree. Commandline has nothing to do with files. It could work with DB as well.
File-tree is misconception of portage!

Some points:

1. Mostly every package have more then one parent area. Example KDE game - same time game and KDE related package. So it's just not possible to put it in only one folder.
DB can solve this problem easily.
2. Managing of mask packages and USE flags for certain packages is a mess now.
3. No possibility to store many profiles on one comp to provide NETWORK compability.
4. As well no possibility to tune CFLAGS for every single package without headache.
5. Performance. By using DB it's possible drastically improve the performance of portage system w/o any problem.
6. Overlays. They could be natural integrated into DB as any other package with some label.
7. Portage as number of utilities will be much more simple.
8. There is a lot of possibilities to gather any statistics.
9. User get get update of safe CFLAGS for certain application.
10. It's possible to separate portage from the rest of system. And move it out to dedicated server in intranet.

And as I told you, thinking that file system is better for that is just wrong.
There is NO advantages of that.
_________________
Lefsha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lefsha wrote:
Some points:

1. Mostly every package have more then one parent area. Example KDE game - same time game and KDE related package. So it's just not possible to put it in only one folder.
DB can solve this problem easily.
2. Managing of mask packages and USE flags for certain packages is a mess now.
lots of other points
10. It's possible to separate portage from the rest of system. And move it out to dedicated server in intranet.

And as I told you, thinking that file system is better for that is just wrong.
There is NO advantages of that.


I completely agree ... but nevertheless - it is a portage thing - and not a portato one ... I have to take what I get served ;)

@dol-sen: I got it working ;) (I wouldn't announce anything which is not working :twisted: )
What you need:
- the pygtksourceview-ebuild (can be found in my overlay) ... (this extracts the pygtksourceview out of gnome-python-desktop)
- the gtksourceview_gentoo-ebuild (also in my overlay)... (this is the gentoo.lang for the gtksourceview-widget - atm it is not included in the gtksourceview-ebuild, but it may be in the future -> http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=155350)
- have a look at the portato/gui/gtk/windows.py - class EbuildWindow :)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lefsha
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 1012
Location: Sankt-Petersburg, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Necoro wrote:

I completely agree ... but nevertheless - it is a portage thing - and not a portato one ... I have to take what I get served ;)


In these circumstances console version is enough. If I can't switch to your tool
completely it has no reason for me to use it.

Nothing against you!!!!
_________________
Lefsha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lefsha wrote:
Necoro wrote:

I completely agree ... but nevertheless - it is a portage thing - and not a portato one ... I have to take what I get served ;)


In these circumstances console version is enough. If I can't switch to your tool
completely it has no reason for me to use it.

Nothing against you!!!!

I think you got the whole stuff wrong ;) I am just writing a Portage-User-Interface (similar (but better of course :P ) to porthole, kuroo, etc). I dont do anything special with portage. This is not a portage replacement (if you want one: take paludis :))

btw: I plan to support paludis too (in some time) (after I (or somebody else) found time to write python-bindings for it^^)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirko_3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Birreria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a segmentation fault when running portato using sudo...
_________________
Non fa male! Non fa male!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least for me it is not possible to run any graphical program with sudo :)

So - I should catch the specific error and do not ignore it - as it is done now resulting in segfault. But in general: Do not use sudo when you want to access the X-Server.
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirko_3
l33t
l33t


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Birreria

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, didn't know that... Was about to ask how to run it then, but I found gksu and gnomesu...
Thanks, this point and click is nice once in a while...
_________________
Non fa male! Non fa male!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Butts McCokey
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 3327

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you post some screenshots on here? I would be interested in looking at it
_________________
Since the bible and the church are obviously mistaken about where we came from, how can we trust them with where we're going?

"An eye for an eye will make us all blind" - Gandhi

Cold is gods way to tell us to burn more Catholics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok:

The MainWindow having Portato selected
This is a usetip for python
The console (with an eix-sync currently running)
The preferences
The ebuild window (here: an older version of portato-9999.ebuild :))
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Necoro
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Dec 2005
Posts: 1912
Location: München (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lefsha wrote:
P.S. A tip. It would be nice to see different colour of installed packages instead of asterisk...


Done now :) ... MainWindow screenshot has been updated ;)
_________________
Inter Deum Et Diabolum Semper Musica Est.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Page 2 of 20

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum