Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
could someone explain why my boot process does this..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
xjlittle
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:23 pm    Post subject: could someone explain why my boot process does this.. Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've been using Linux for several years always on SysV systems. This is my first time trying to use Gentoo. I really believe this is what I want because of the way the portage system works and keeping me out of dependency &(*). However I am having a hard time getting my brain wrapped around what is going on with the boot/init process.

In a nutshell I installed 2006.0 and upgraded to 2006.1 per the manual. When I installed I used an nVidia video card. I had a new Matrox card that I wanted to try out so I compiled a new kernel using genkernel with Matrox support and left the old kernel intact. I removed xdm from the default runlevel using rc-update del xdm default so that I could boot to a terminal. This is where the fun begins..lol.

The new kernel boots ok but it will not let me login with my user account or with root. I have read the articles about the conflicts between pam and shadow. Shadow is not installed but pam is. I'm not sure what to do with that. Any ideas?

So I'm thinking ok since I removed xdm I can boot to the terminal using the originally compiled kernel. When I do that it tries to start X which it can't do since the nvidia card is not present. Why is it not booting to the terminal and instead trying to start X?

Thanks for any help!
John
wynn
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
i have read the articles about the conflicts between pam and shadow. Shadow is not installed but pam is.