Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kdeenv blocks kdelibs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tonglebeak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:03 am    Post subject: kdeenv blocks kdelibs Reply with quote

Calculating world dependencies |
!!! Ebuilds for the following packages are either all
!!! masked or don't exist:
media-video/cinelerra-svn

... done!
[blocks B ] kde-base/kde-env (is blocking kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.4-r2)
[ebuild U ] app-admin/eselect-1.0.5 [1.0.2] USE="-bash-completion -doc" 146 kB
[ebuild U ] app-admin/eselect-opengl-1.0.4 [1.0.3] 41 kB
[ebuild U ] kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.4-r2 [3.5.4-r1] USE="alsa cups kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility spell ssl tiff xinerama -acl -arts -debug -doc -fam -jpeg2k -kerberos -legacyssl -noutempter -openexr -zeroconf" 35 kB

What's going on here, do I need to say goodbye to kde-env (as in it's being removed from portage)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mebrelith
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2005
Posts: 102
Location: Torreon, Coahuila, Mexico

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea.... well it looks like kde-env is no longer needed.
Unmerge kde-env and then proceed with the updates.
_________________
Mebrelith Lord of Thingamajigs, Linux zealot, Gentoo advocate, KDE promoter. Linux user #373009
Omnia mutantur, nihil interit - Everything changes, nothing is truly lost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ringworm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And remember to run revdep-rebuild afterwards to see if anything is broken.
I had to re-emerge amarok, but everything else seems to be working ok.
_________________
So here I am once more in the playground of the broken hearts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DocReedSolomon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kde-env is now included in kdelibs.
Code:

18 Sep 2006; Carsten Lohrke <carlo@gentoo.org> kdelibs-3.5.2-r6.ebuild,
  kdelibs-3.5.3-r4.ebuild, kdelibs-3.5.4-r1.ebuild:
  Move kde-base/kde-env dependency here.

emerge -C kde-env
emerge kdelibs

maybe backup /etc/env.d/99kde-env if you did manual changes there (like prelink or noipv6).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DocReedSolomon wrote:
emerge kdelibs

emerge -1 kdelibs, if you already have it installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DocReedSolomon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UncleOwen wrote:
DocReedSolomon wrote:
emerge kdelibs

emerge -1 kdelibs, if you already have it installed.

well, i do an uDv world anyway, but - just curious, whats the -1 for 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -1 kdelibs doesn't record kdelibs in the world file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaworu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2005
Posts: 450
Location: Geneva

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

man emerge:

NAME
       emerge - Command-line interface to the Portage system

SYNOPSIS
       emerge [options] [action] [ebuild | tbz2file | set | dependency] ...

       emerge --sync | --info | --version

       emerge --search somestring

       emerge --help [system | config | sync
[...]
OPTIONS
[...]
       --oneshot (-1)
              Emerge as normal, but do not add the packages to the world profile for later updating.

;)
_________________
Macbook
Core2Duo @ 2.0GHz - 1Go RAM - HD 80Go - Intel GMA 945

Gentoo GNU/Linux
~amd64 - 2.6.24-gentoo-r2 - Fluxbox || (KDE && Compiz-Fusion)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lo-jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Posts: 837
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i really do not get it - did unmerge kde-env - but i can still not update my system

Code:
# emerge -av --update --deep world

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating world dependencies /
!!! Ebuilds for the following packages are either all
!!! masked or don't exist:
app-i18n/fcitx media-sound/alsaplayer media-libs/mlt media-gfx/xzgv

... done!
[blocks B     ] >=kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.4-r2 (is blocking kde-base/kde-env-3-r4)
[ebuild  NS   ] sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.18  USE="symlink -build (-ultra1)" 41,028 kB
[ebuild     U ] app-arch/zip-2.31-r1 [2.31] USE="crypt" 0 kB
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/qt-3.3.6-r2 [3.3.6-r1] USE="cups gif ipv6 opengl xinerama -debug -doc -examples (-firebird) -immqt -immqt-bc -mysql -nas -nis -odbc -postgres -sqlite" 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kde-env-3-r4  0 kB
[ebuild     UD] kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.2-r6 [3.5.4-r2] USE="alsa cups spell ssl tiff xinerama -acl -arts -debug -doc -jpeg2k -kdeenablefinal -kdehiddenvisibility -kerberos -legacyssl -openexr -zeroconf (-fam%) (-lua%) (-noutempter%)" 0 kB
[ebuild     UD] kde-base/libkdegames-3.5.1 [3.5.4] USE="xinerama -arts -debug -kdeenablefinal -kdehiddenvisibility" 0 kB
[ebuild     UD] app-office/koffice-data-1.5.2 [1.6_beta1] USE="xinerama -arts -debug" 0 kB
[ebuild     UD] app-office/koffice-libs-1.5.2 [1.6_beta1] USE="xinerama -arts -debug -doc" 0 kB

Total size of downloads: 41,028 kB

!!! Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be installed
!!!        at the same time on the same system.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked



do not want - do not need that kde-env - how can i get rid off it?

thanks a lot!

Code:
# emerge --info
Portage 2.1.2_pre1 (default-linux/amd64/2006.0, gcc-4.1.1, glibc-2.4-r3, 2.6.17-gentoo-r4 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.17-gentoo-r4 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4800+
Gentoo Base System version 1.12.5
Last Sync: Wed, 20 Sep 2006 20:00:07 +0000
ccache version 2.4 [enabled]
app-admin/eselect-compiler: [Not Present]
dev-java/java-config: [Not Present]
dev-lang/python:     2.4.3-r1
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r6
dev-util/confcache:  [Not Present]
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.17
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.59-r7
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2
sys-devel/binutils:  2.16.1-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.3.13-r3
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.22
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.11-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -pipe -O2"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.4/env /usr/kde/3.4/share/config /usr/kde/3.4/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/gconf /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -pipe -O2"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig ccache distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LANG="en_US"
LINGUAS="en de zh_CN"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude='/distfiles' --exclude='/local' --exclude='/packages'"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="amd64 X aac acpi alsa avi berkdb bitmap-fonts cdr cjk cli crypt cups divx4linux dlloader dri dvd eds elibc_glibc emboss encode foomaticcdb foomaticdb fortran gif gimpprint gnome gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 imlib immpt-bc input_devices_keyboard input_devices_mouse ipv6 isdnlog jpeg kde kernel_linux linguas_de linguas_en linguas_zh_CN lzw lzw-tiff mad mikmod mp3 mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly ntlp opengl pam pcre pdflib perl png ppds pppd python qt3 qt4 quicktime readline reflection sdl session spell spl ssl symlink tcpd tiff truetype-fonts type1-fonts unicode usb userland_GNU video_cards_nv video_cards_nvidia xinerama xmms xorg xpm xv xvi zlib"
Unset:  CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


_________________
lo-jay

The mechanic "One of 'em Dodge Chargers - let him go by."
The driver "Not today!"

taken from "Two Lane Blacktop"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Autie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Ledegem - Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems for you, some packages depend on kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.2-r6, wich need kde-env.
so, try to find out wich package that is
_________________
The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The willingness to learn is a choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidgurvich
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Posts: 1063

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you are mixing arch and ~arch packages. One of the arch packages is drawing in kdelibs-3.5.2 and trying to downgrade your installed kdelibs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lo-jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Posts: 837
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

equery give me this:
Code:

tux1 jan # equery depgraph kde-base/kde-env
[ Searching for packages matching kde-base/kde-env... ]
* dependency graph for kde-base/kde-env-3-r4
`-- kde-base/kde-env-3-r4
[ kde-base/kde-env-3-r4 stats: packages (1), max depth (0) ]

while equery depgraph kde-base/kde-libs gives some 271(!) files

confused :?

cheers!
_________________
lo-jay

The mechanic "One of 'em Dodge Chargers - let him go by."
The driver "Not today!"

taken from "Two Lane Blacktop"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lo-jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Posts: 837
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

o.k. unmerged ALL my kde apps, ecleaned and depcleaned.
but i does not look to me that kde-env is totally obsolent. since when i try to install
k3b i get again:
Code:
# emerge -av k3b

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[blocks B     ] >=kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.4-r2 (is blocking kde-base/kde-env-3-r4)
[ebuild  N    ] media-libs/taglib-1.4  USE="-debug" 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kde-env-3-r4  0 kB
[ebuild     UD] kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.2-r6 [3.5.4-r2] USE="alsa cups spell ssl tiff xinerama -acl -arts -debug -doc -jpeg2k -kdeenablefinal -kdehiddenvisibility -kerberos -legacyssl -openexr -zeroconf (-fam%) (-lua%) (-noutempter%)" 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] kde-base/kdesu-3.5.0  USE="xinerama -arts -debug -kdeenablefinal -kdehiddenvisibility (-kdexdeltas)" 0 kB
[ebuild  N    ] app-cdr/k3b-1.0_pre2  USE="alsa encode kde mp3 xinerama -arts -css -debug -dvdr -dvdread -ffmpeg -flac -hal -musepack -musicbrainz -sndfile -vcd -vorbis" 3,705 kB

Total size of downloads: 3,705 kB

!!! Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be installed
!!!        at the same time on the same system.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked



what to do?

cheers!
_________________
lo-jay

The mechanic "One of 'em Dodge Chargers - let him go by."
The driver "Not today!"

taken from "Two Lane Blacktop"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidgurvich wrote:
Looks like you are mixing arch and ~arch packages. One of the arch packages is drawing in kdelibs-3.5.2 and trying to downgrade your installed kdelibs.


Quoted for emphasis. The old kdelibs needs kde-env, the new doesn't. As you canNOT install kdelibs-3.5.2 and kdelibs-3.5.4 in parallel, fix you package.keywords so that you only install either stable or unstable kde packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DocReedSolomon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 419

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UncleOwen wrote:
emerge -1 kdelibs doesn't record kdelibs in the world file.

why wouldnt you want to add it to the worldfile? 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UncleOwen
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Feb 2003
Posts: 1493
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you? It's a library! The world file should only contain the apps that you need (that is, that you installed explicitly), not the dependencies thereof.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't understand. If it wont get into world file, it won't get updated by emerge -uDN world when there will be newer version available (e.g with security fix or additional features) and you will be stuck with this version till next explicit emerge of this package. Who's gonna remember which package was "oneshotted" with hundreds of packages in our systems? Am I missing something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nunogt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 134
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

boniek wrote:
I don't understand. If it wont get into world file, it won't get updated by emerge -uDN world when there will be newer version available (e.g with security fix or additional features) and you will be stuck with this version till next explicit emerge of this package. Who's gonna remember which package was "oneshotted" with hundreds of packages in our systems? Am I missing something?

That commandline will update everything, including "oneshotted" packages and other dependencies. The 'D' switch forces emerge to consider the entire dependency tree of packages, instead of checking only the immediate dependencies of the packages. As an example, this catches updates in libraries that are not directly listed in the dependencies of a package.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boniek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for clarification.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lo-jay
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Feb 2005
Posts: 837
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

o.k. for ignorants like me: how would i tell portage to install ony ~arch kde packages?



thanks again!
_________________
lo-jay

The mechanic "One of 'em Dodge Chargers - let him go by."
The driver "Not today!"

taken from "Two Lane Blacktop"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Autie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Ledegem - Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

telling it in make.conf
add a line like this:
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"

and change it for your arch
_________________
The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The willingness to learn is a choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bobnoxous
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You edit /etc/portage/package.keywords, and you add each package you want to use unstable. In my case, I added:
>=kdebase/kdexxx-3.5.4 ~x86

where xxx is the kde package I was installing. I don't think you can use wildcards in package.keywords, so you need to specify each KDE package (use metapackages).

Also, make sure you don't miss one, and have something like kdenetwork using a 3.5.2 version, while the rest is 3.5.4. This was giving me the kde-env dependency problem.

I use >=, so that as the revisions increase, eventually my system will be using the stable packages, instead of always upgrading to the latest and greatest. Otherwise, unstable packages will require other unstable packages, and after a couple years your system is full of them, and all the inherent problems. You just can't get back to the stable branch very easily.
_________________
"The problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so sure of themselves while wiser people are so full of doubt."
- Bertrand Russell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bobnoxous
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 240

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"


This would make every package you install the unstable branch, not just KDE.
_________________
"The problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so sure of themselves while wiser people are so full of doubt."
- Bertrand Russell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Autie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Ledegem - Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, yes.
didn't read well.
sorry, forget what i said :)
_________________
The capacity to learn is a gift; The ability to learn is a skill; The willingness to learn is a choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllenJB
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 1283
Location: Ashford, Kent

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You ask nicely and get a package list off someone like me - there's a fairly complete one at http://allenjb.me.uk/files/kde - add that to /etc/portage/package.keywords. Note that that file is design to be used on systems where you're using the -meta packages. It doesn't contain the monolithic KDE packages.

Tip of the day: Did you know that /etc/portage/package.* can now be directories containing multiple files. In this case you might want to do the following:
Code:
# cd /etc/portage
# mv package.keywords package.keywords.backup
# mkdir package.keywords
# mv package.keywords.backup package.keywords/other
# cd package.keywords
# wget http://allenjb.me.uk/files/kde


Allen
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com :: http://lug.org.uk :: http://www.linux.org/groups/ :: User Blogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum