Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 6]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arminhama
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:03 am    Post subject: What am I doing wrong? Reply with quote

Okay people, I followed the x86 handbook to install on my dell inspiron e1405. I complied my own kernel (gentoo-sources) and I finished installing grub. I restart my computer and I get this message from grub:

Booting 'Gentoo Linux 2.6.16-r12

root (hd0,3)

Filesystem type is ext2fs partition type 0x83

kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r12

Error 15: File not found


This laptop has the dell media direct sofware on the very first partition, and I didn't want to delete it. So, I arranged my partition table like this:

Device Boot____Boot__Start____End____Blocks_______Id__System

/dev/sda1___________1_______6_______48163+_____de__Dell Utility
/dev/sda2_______*___7_______39______265072+____83__Linux
/dev/sda3___________40______552_____4120672+___82__Linux swap/Solaris
/dev/sda4___________553_____7113____52701232+__83__Linux





Here is my /etc/fstab

<fs>___________________<mountpoint>_____<type>___<opts>_________<dump/pass>

/dev/sda2_______________ /boot___________ext2_____defaults,noatime____1 2
/dev/sda4_______________ /______________ext3_____noatime___________0 1
/dev/sda3_______________none___________swap_____sw_______________0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0______/mnt/cdrom______auto______noauto,ro,user_____0 0





And lastly, my grub.conf


#Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 1
#How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 15
#Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
splashimage=(hd0,1)

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.16-r12
#Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,3)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r12 root=dev/sda4



Please help if you can.
_________________
Yeah, I'm a newbie...But ya gotta start somewhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdmiralNemo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2004
Posts: 247
Location: Overland Park, KS

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure your grub.conf points to the real name of the kernel on /boot. You may need to reboot on the live cd and find out just what it is called. You could also cd into /usr/src/linux and run make install. Make sure /boot is mounted, and you will have a kernel in /boot called vmlinuz which you can point "kernel" to in grub.conf
_________________
Help the Unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shickapooka800
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 304
Location: no

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

look at your fstab:

/boot is a seperate partition, so grub should be:
Code:

root (hd0,1)     ## /dev/sda2
title -- or something
kernel /kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r12 root=/dev/sda4


note the kernel line and the root line.

in grubs config "root" means where the partition containing the kernel is, so the kernel line is relative to where the kernel is in what you put as "root" at the begining of grubs config. so since /dev/sda2 IS /boot, it has the kernel right in the bottom of its directories.

the root line after the kernel line is only for the kernel, not for grub, and it says root, as in /, is at /dev/sda4


Last edited by shickapooka800 on Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need
Code:
root (hd0,1)
 kernel /kernel-2.6.16-gentoo-r12 root=dev/sda4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arminhama
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nemo, how do I point "kernel" to grub.conf?
_________________
Yeah, I'm a newbie...But ya gotta start somewhere
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[mod] Merged above five posts here. [/mod]

Arminhama,
you need to make sure the name of the kernel in grub.conf is identical to the name of the kernel in /boot. You can boot with the live-cd or you can use GRUB's shell and its autocomplete feature to determine the kernel's name.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32320
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arminhama,

Your grub line
Code:
splashimage=(hd0,1)
is incomplete, hofully its just a typo in your post.
Code:
splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
would be better.

Your
Code:
root (hd0,3)
is also incorrect. That entry points to grubs root (where its files are) not the kernels root filesystem which is root=dev/sda4 for you. This error makes grub look on the wrong partition for your kernel file, hence Error 15 - File not Found
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 305
Location: Canada, Barrie, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the following error message after a while:

Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sdb2" or unknown-block (0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root FS on unknown-block (0,0)


I checked and /dev/sdb2 is in fact my root partitions and I did double check to make sure I have all the right things compiled in the kernel.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi bdm.

No, you don't have everything compiled in the kernel. The following message tells you that the kernel doesn't have a driver for your storage controller - notice the (0,0)
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sdb2" or unknown-block (0,0)

You need to boot with the live-cd and look at the output of lspci and lsmod. To recompile your kernel you need to mount the partitions and chroot. When you select your drivers make sure that you compile them in the kernel <*> and not as modules <M>. Don't forget to copy your kernel to /boot and update your boot loader.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4079
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Split thread due to its length: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-478930.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimwa2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:28 pm    Post subject: Error 15 Reply with quote

well I just did the reboot and im getting this

http://img160.imageshack.us/img160/8753/error153zz.jpg

I have no idea what is wrong or what i have done wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArsDangor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub doesn't find your kernel at the location you told it.

I don't remember if genkernel installs the kernel in /boot. If it does, check out any spelling errors on your grub.conf. You can get a console to edit boot lines pressing 'e' when you get Grub menu. And, if you press tab key it will complete file names, as bash does.
_________________
Cómo usar Portage correctamente
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimwa2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how do i get back to my grub.conf I just throw in the LiveCD again? and what do i have to mount etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArsDangor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get to grub.conf you can either use the live CD, and then chroot or boot using the grub console. If you do the latter you don't need to mount anything. Just check the "root" line is correct and select a working kernel.
_________________
Cómo usar Portage correctamente
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimwa2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the handbook my (hd0,0) is /boot and /root is on sda3 so i have to set it to (hd0,3)???
when i press 'e' to edit how do i save it? it does back to (hd0,0) when i press ESC. When i mount the LiveCD it won't boot it up.. :?

http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/3147/grub7yk.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArsDangor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nimwa2 wrote:
According to the handbook my (hd0,0) is /boot and /root is on sda3 so i have to set it to (hd0,3)???
No. The root command specifies where your kernel is located. If it is on /boot the kernel image is on /dev/sda1, which is also (hd0,0). So you must have the following line:
Code:
root (hd0,0)

Quote:
when i press 'e' to edit how do i save it?
Pressing enter. Then, when you have booted, you still have to edit your grub.conf.
_________________
Cómo usar Portage correctamente
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimwa2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm well i have set it to

Code:
root (hd0,0)


I have followed the handbook very closely, really have no idea what's wrong here, dont know if you can spot it tho?

http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/452/grub37um.jpg
http://img129.imageshack.us/img129/6783/grub26jf.jpg
http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/9955/grub13gk.jpg

when i press 'enter' it saves the edited line. But when i press ESC to get to the main menu where you choose OS in Grub it drops the settings..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArsDangor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Press 'b' to boot the settings you have edited. Don't press ESC!
_________________
Cómo usar Portage correctamente
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimwa2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i messed about with it and still can't see whats wrong.. i get the same error when i try to boot

heres the first half of my kernal line forgot it
http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/2638/die8tf.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArsDangor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using tab key to autocomplete file names? I mean, is it possible that you did by accident something like
Code:
$ rm /boot/*
?

Try to boot from a live-CD and check your boot partition's contents, and your grub.conf.
_________________
Cómo usar Portage correctamente
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smiffy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 259
Location: SA.AU.AP.EARTH

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:55 am    Post subject: Grub trouble with md Reply with quote

Seems that the grub problems thread is locked so I'll have to start a new one...

My installation:

* 2 x SATA drives in RAID 1, with a Silicon Image controller. Set up as per the WIKI howto, with the exception that I am not using LVM.
* Partitions formatted ext3
* Using most recent gentoo-sources and Stage 3 tarball

I get the familiar:
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "md3" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kerel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mound root fs on unknown-block(0,0)


Reading through the Very Long Thread, I tried a few things:
* Under SCSI, Low level drivers (SATA is now part of the SCSI system), I have selected both of the Silicon Image SATA options, build into kernel.
* RAID -> RAID1 build into kernel.
* EXT2, EXT3 build into kernel (I'm using ext3)
* Tried dropping the md3 and going direct to sda3 (one of its components) - same problem.

Every time, I have re-booted from the 2006.0 ISO, have re-created RAID (half an hour per shot), and I seem to have got no further.

Hardware is known good as this was running SuSE 9.1 up to this morning - this is the last of my machines to be converted to Gentoo. (The others are all parallel ATA, no RAID, and using lilo as I have had problems every time I have ever tried to use grub.)

Er, help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beyama
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem with gentoo hardened and reiserfs on /dev/md3.
I think is has nothing to do with grub...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These links might help you.
[SOLVED] VFS: cannot open root device (SATA RAID)
[SOLVED] Kernel Panic - Unable to mount root fs (again...)
[Solved] Kernel panic on boot: VFS: Unable to mount root fs

Hope these help out

Code:
unknown block(0,0)
This means that grub doesnt know where the device root resides on it does look like a grub configuration or missing kernel compilation error to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimwa2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 45
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm doesn't seem like it.. I mounted again according to the handbook

# mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
# mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot

and chrooted just like the handbook

# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


Now is my boot directory
http://img56.imageshack.us/img56/1691/bootdir3zc.jpg

And my grub.conf
http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/8518/grubconf5ua.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
To get to grub.conf you can either use the live CD, and then chroot or boot using the grub console. If you do the latter you don't need to mount anything. Just check the "root" line is correct and select a working kernel.


To view your /boot you really dont have to chroot. If you need to rebuild your kernel i would but if your just gonna edit a text file then just simply mount your partitions and then do
Code:
nano -w /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf


When you chroot your just entering the /mnt/gentoo folder. Just attach it to you first command and then use your bash history(up arrow on the arrow keys) and modify your command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 1 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum