Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Roundup:Kernels with JMicron support (JMB363, 361, 360, 36x)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ChL@Gentoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Heidelberg (Germany)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
could you please have a look at your harddisk-led / light and tell me if it from time to time lights constantly ?

Only one time with the emission sources the hdd led lights constantly from kernel start until I rebooted.

kernelOfTruth wrote:
with certain kernels (e.g. 2.6.19-rc4-mm2 on x86) I get
[error messages]

No I did not get this messages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cloim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Aug 2002
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:

with certain kernels (e.g. 2.6.19-rc4-mm2 on x86) I get

<errors>

(ata3 is my DVD-drive :wink: )

I don't know if this only is limited to mm-branch


I ran into that too. Not sure when it appeared since I've been changing things around so much and not making notes :roll:

Errors change depending on bios settings, kernel, etc.

I just moved to 2.6.19-rc6-git8.

In menuconfig there are two option trees:
Code:

ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support --->
Serial ATA (prod) and Parallel ATA (experimental) drivers --->


Disabling everything under "ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support" has now allowed everything to start working properly except the intel PATA interface. None of the choices under SATA appeared to work for me (Tried both "Intel PATA" options but boot hangs probing the hd I had there -- timeout, retry, repeat...) Trying to configure it under the other section results in boot problems and stability issues.

I never tried that approach with mm-sources, but as someone else said mm-sources 2.6.19-rc5 freezes on boot with the "irqpoll" option. Without that option it has problems detecting PATA drives, though SATA appears to work fine.

This is on an ASUS P5W DH Deluxe. SATA hd on ICH7, 2 DVD's on JMicron. A PATA hd on ICH7 currently disconnected.
Bios: IDE set to "enhanced mode -- sata" and the JMicron set to "basic".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lenk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to I enable the use of the Jmicron "SATA" driver? Can't seem to find it in any of the kernels.
_________________
E6300 Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 2GB Corsair 320GB Seagate 7200.10 XFX 7600GT Gentoo
Dell M1330 T7500 2GB 160GB 13.3" WXGA Gentoo
Sharp Zaurus SL-C760 Cacko ROM 1.21b / pdaXrom 1.10rc5 512MB CF + 512MB SD
Sun Ultra5 Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teapot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Location: Stockholm , Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Jmicron chip only controls PATA.
There is no SATA controller from Jmicron.
SATA is controlled by the Intel ICH8 controller.

In the section:
"Serial ATA and Parallel ATA drivers" under "Device Drivers" the option is
"Intel PIIX/ICH SATA support"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cloim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Aug 2002
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teapot wrote:
The Jmicron chip only controls PATA.
There is no SATA controller from Jmicron.


That's incorrect, depending on motherboard, the JMicron controller can be used for SATA and PATA.

My motherboard has PATA and SATA on both JMicron and Intel ICH7.
I haven't tried JMicron SATA so I don't know about enabling it.
Code:
 # lspci
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller IDE (rev 01)
02:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
02:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChL@Gentoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Heidelberg (Germany)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teapot wrote:
The Jmicron chip only controls PATA.
There is no SATA controller from Jmicron.

That is wrong! The JMicron controller supports PATA (one IDE channel) and an additional SATA port.

Code:
# lspci | grep -i jmicron
03:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMB361 AHCI/IDE (rev 02)
03:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMB361 AHCI/IDE (rev 02)



oops. too late ;) [EDITED]
But I use the JMicron only for my optical drives. (PATA)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teapot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2006
Posts: 85
Location: Stockholm , Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah!

that's right!
I didn't know that. It explains why I hade problems when I moved the SATA cable to another slot on the motherboard :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lenk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 4 SATA port controlled by ICH8 and 2 SATA + 1 IDE port controlled by Jmicron. So which is the driver for SATA Jmicron?
_________________
E6300 Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 2GB Corsair 320GB Seagate 7200.10 XFX 7600GT Gentoo
Dell M1330 T7500 2GB 160GB 13.3" WXGA Gentoo
Sharp Zaurus SL-C760 Cacko ROM 1.21b / pdaXrom 1.10rc5 512MB CF + 512MB SD
Sun Ultra5 Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5737
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you're looking for a liveCD with GUI and JMicron support:

Ixnay has released version 3.2 of Sabayon Linux:

SabayonLinux x86/x86-64 3.2: press release

@lenk:

Serial ATA (prod) and Parallel ATA (experimental) drivers --->
<*> ATA device support
<*> AHCI SATA support (make sure you have this enabled)
<*> JMicron PATA support (I don't know if this takes care of the SATA-part of JMicron)
<*> Generic ATA support (if the above doesn't then this should do)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.3.0-r2
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubbl07
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 236
Location: New York City

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
if you're looking for a liveCD with GUI and JMicron support:

Ixnay has released version 3.2 of Sabayon Linux:

SabayonLinux x86/x86-64 3.2: press release

@lenk:

Serial ATA (prod) and Parallel ATA (experimental) drivers --->
<*> ATA device support
<*> AHCI SATA support (make sure you have this enabled)
<*> JMicron PATA support (I don't know if this takes care of the SATA-part of JMicron)
<*> Generic ATA support (if the above doesn't then this should do)

I was just going to suggest that. I've been using the 3.1 release (with a 2.6.18-gentoo kernel) and it's been working well, although it wasn't consistent (just better all-generic-ide support I guess). This new version looks promising as they specifically added JMicron chipset support. I'll try it out when I get home from work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lenk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I am giving up on this Jmicron driver. All of the kernels I have tested gives me random hard locks even 2.6.19-rc5. I doubt the final 2.6.19 will be any better. I'm gonna go and buy a SATA drive for the moment. Gonna give the livecd a try. Thanks
_________________
E6300 Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 2GB Corsair 320GB Seagate 7200.10 XFX 7600GT Gentoo
Dell M1330 T7500 2GB 160GB 13.3" WXGA Gentoo
Sharp Zaurus SL-C760 Cacko ROM 1.21b / pdaXrom 1.10rc5 512MB CF + 512MB SD
Sun Ultra5 Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5737
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Gonna give the livecd a try.


oops, I must have mixed up things a little

both are liveDVDs, the liveCDs seems to be released later ... :oops:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.3.0-r2
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Gigabyte GG-965P-DQ6 with a JMicron 361 (PATA and SATA) controller, and a HDD on that PATA port.

I think I configured everything ok, except that whenGrub starts I only see the line editing part of it.
With "root (hd" and a tab I can see my drives, and set everything correctly, but after a reboot I am back at that editing line thingy from Grub.

Now, when I do a "kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.19-rc5-mm2 root=/dev/sde1" it loads, and doing a boot command boots the kernel. I think I shouldn't have included nvidia fb driver because it seems to reboot the computer at that point.
I also have the ATA/ATAPI/MFM/etc stuff somewhat enabled, so will disable that and check it later. (past 1am here now, want toget some sleep).

What I do like to know is why Grub won't show me it's splash screen or even the list of OS options.
Have I missed something, or does Grub not safe the settings after a root/setup and reboot?
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5737
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
why Grub won't show me it's splash screen or even the list of OS options.


perhaps that's due to the fact, that grub doesn't find it's splash-file or grub.conf / menu.lst ?

if /dev/sde1 is also where /boot resides in (grub)

change the
Code:
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
part to
Code:
splashimage=(hd4,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz


if that's true, perhaps you forgot the folder boot in the command (happened several times to me) , and it looks like

Code:
splashimage=(hd4,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
for you ?

the kernel bootline should look something like:

Code:
root (hd4,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.17-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/sde1

_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.3.0-r2
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the weird thing, it really is (hd0,), I tried all that manually after I posted my message.

When I get home tonight I will chroot themachine andset up Grub again.

The crappy thing is that in chroot /dev/sde1 is (hd4,0) while in the BIOS (and thus where it boots from) is (hd0,0).
So, under linux the ICHR8 controller is seen first, while in the BIOS it's the JMicron controller that is seen first.
I also see this when I load the boot menu from the BIOS. If I select HDD there, it shows my IDE drive (on which Linux resides) and then my two RAID arrays from the ICHR8.

Linux, always fun the way things are messed around completly....
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I found out my problem regarding the booting.
I must have been very tired last night, as I forgot to safe the grub.conf.example to grub.conf...
That was one, but also contained loads of spelling errors...

Now I have to figure out why the kernel crashes and reboots. It all happens so fast I have no idea where it crashes.
Oh, and it hangs when I pass irqpoll to the kernel line. It justsays it loads andthen boots the kernel, but nothing else.
Need to hard reset the system then.
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Central Coast Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
@rammstein:

yeah, I mean this one (final_small-gentoo_x86.tar.gz)


Yes thats the one i've tried, when booting it can't find my dvdrw drive it only searches SD* it doesnt search for any HD* devices.. i even tried manually loading the ata_piix module... but it doesnt even seem to be included in the kernel on that cd :/

I've tried everything i can.. and still no luck with getting gentoo (or any other linux for that matter) installed onto this pc :(
_________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lite-On 16x DVDRW
Western Digital 120GB IDE
Western Digital 120GB SATA
Western Digital 200GB IDE x 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChL@Gentoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Heidelberg (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If only libata is used then the cd-drives are /dev/sr* (sr0 for example).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Central Coast Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChL@Gentoo wrote:
If only libata is used then the cd-drives are /dev/sr* (sr0 for example).


either way, that live cd DOES NOT load on this pc :(
_________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lite-On 16x DVDRW
Western Digital 120GB IDE
Western Digital 120GB SATA
Western Digital 200GB IDE x 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing I noticed last night after messing around in the kernel, is that I now have hd* etc instead of sd*.
I think it came after I disabled the ATA/etc section of the kernel, and rebooting completly messed up things so I added it back, but I then got hd*.

Does anyone have a idea where this might be?
My root was sde1 and now it's hda1 for some reason.
I thought it was the IDE driver of the JMicron 36x, but disabling that one makes no drives show up at all anymore.
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5737
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@freshy98:

I think this is caused by the
Code:
 <*>     generic/default IDE chipset support (NEW)
thingy
(if it's activated in your kernel, so it's handled via the ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support driver

@rammstein:

have you tried release r4 of my x86 livecd branch?
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.3.0-r2
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Central Coast Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
@rammstein:

have you tried release r4 of my x86 livecd branch?


I just downloaded the "final" that you pasted the url to.. burnt it.. i am currently install gentoo atm.. using links right now :D..

must have been the r5 i have its the one with the 2.6.19-r5 kernel.
_________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lite-On 16x DVDRW
Western Digital 120GB IDE
Western Digital 120GB SATA
Western Digital 200GB IDE x 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="kernelOfTruth"]@freshy98:

I think this is caused by the
Code:
 <*>     generic/default IDE chipset support (NEW)
thingy
(if it's activated in your kernel, so it's handled via the ATA/ATAPI/MFM/RLL support driver

That could be it. Will check it tonight.

When I disabled the Sub-Section (not the individual options below it) and enabled it later again, everything was gone.
Normally the config leaves the options enabled which you had a sub-section disabled.

Oh well, keeps you off the street....
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rammstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Central Coast Australia

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok guys.. how can i use the exact kernel the live cd is using? the live cd is using 2.6.18-rc4-no2 whereas the gentoo-source is using 2.6.18-r3.. wondering if everything is the same?? or not?
_________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4Ghz
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lite-On 16x DVDRW
Western Digital 120GB IDE
Western Digital 120GB SATA
Western Digital 200GB IDE x 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rammstein wrote:
ok guys.. how can i use the exact kernel the live cd is using? the live cd is using 2.6.18-rc4-no2 whereas the gentoo-source is using 2.6.18-r3.. wondering if everything is the same?? or not?


You can get the config from /proc/config.gz.
The kernel you can get from the maintainer of the Conrad livecd if I am not mistaken.
A google searched revealed this.
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum