Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Getting the framebuffer to work with nvidia graphics cards
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 12:32 pm    Post subject: Getting the framebuffer to work with nvidia graphics cards Reply with quote

Ok, I have tried and tried to get the framebuffer working with my gf4 ti, and have finally found the solution:

kernel config:
whether you use the nvagp driver or the kernel agpgart depends on your motherboard chipset, which can be found here: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/nvidia_tsg.html#doc_chap2

disable or enable the agpgart support in the kernel depending on your chipset, enable processor mtrr support, and enable all the usual framebuffer options (listed in the framebuffer howto), DISABLE the rivafb module but ENABLE the vesa module (and no other gfx card modules), and recompile the kernel

in your /boot/grub/menu.lst, add the following to the end of your kernel boot line (with bzImage...):

vga=ask video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr

reboot. A menu should come up with all the strange 640x480 modes listed, but instead enter 0317 at the prompt, to give you a 1024x768x16bit console resolution (even though it isnt in the menu)

hopefully the logo should come up at the top!

if it works, edit menu.lst so this is on the kernel line:

vga=791<change if needed> video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock


Last edited by TheCoop on Sun Jan 19, 2003 9:46 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuxisuau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 213
Location: Catalunya (Europe)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's no need to disable the agpgart and the mttr.

(Here with a 600MHz athlon / Asus K7V motherboard / VIA KX133 chipset / GF4 MX440)
_________________
IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2002 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

some chipsets need the nvagp driver, and the mtrr driver improves performance
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ancipital
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 260
Location: Grnn

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2002 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tuxisuau wrote:
There's no need to disable the agpgart and the mttr.

(Here with a 600MHz athlon / Asus K7V motherboard / VIA KX133 chipset / GF4 MX440)


It is here...
_________________
Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Thu Sep 12, 2002 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nvagp/agpgart depends on your chipset

ive updated the origional post for this
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuxisuau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 213
Location: Catalunya (Europe)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I trust more kernel's agpgart than nvidia's one. In my machine, it's probed to be more stable this way. (with nvidia agpgart I get random hangs)
_________________
IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ancipital
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 260
Location: Grnn

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to get 1152x864 or even 1280x1024 fb resolution? I tried various other modes but they don't work?
_________________
Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kruuse
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 15
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Sep 13, 2002 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you, TheCoop. You just made me very happy. :)

Now I use:
vga=791 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr
(791 = 0x0317)

Cheers,
Jens
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vocis wrote:
Is there any way to get 1152x864 or even 1280x1024 fb resolution? I tried various other modes but they don't work?


I'd love to know that, also. I tried 31B, but that doesn't seem to work. (according to the /usr/src/linux/Documentation/fb/vesafb.txt file, 31B is 1280x1024-16k colors.)

Maybe I'll try 31A, which is 1280x1024-64K colors... (I still have "ask" on right now, so I can experiment)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tuxisuau
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 213
Location: Catalunya (Europe)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem... 31B mode never worked on me. Maybe we should file a kernel bug.
_________________
IM me at tuxisuau@jabber.7a69ezine.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ancipital
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 260
Location: Grnn

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think not -- I'm using the nvidia-driver not the xfree driver anyway.
_________________
Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vocis wrote:
I think not -- I'm using the nvidia-driver not the xfree driver anyway.


Huh? You've lost me...
You never really use the nvidia driver at all until your in xfree. Everything is taken care of by the vesafb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ancipital
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 260
Location: Grnn

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2002 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm... ok I thought it was one and the same module but I guess I'm mistaking there.. never mind :)

Mark
_________________
Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ghost_o
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jul 2002
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2002 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vocis wrote:
hmm... ok I thought it was one and the same module but I guess I'm mistaking there.. never mind :)

Mark


Right, the video=vesa has to be video=riva to use the rivafb ( fb driver for riva and geforce cards) -- also, vga=372 (whatever you use) will not work, you have to pass the kernel: example: video=riva:1024x768-16@60

RivaFB support must be compiled intot he kernel for this to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitro322
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 551
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the nvidia README:
Quote:
Using both rivafb and the NVdriver kernel module at the same time is currently broken. In general, using two independent software drivers to drive the same piece of hardware is a bad idea.

So, if we can't use rivafb, and the nvidia driver isn't used until loading X, how exactly do we get the accelerated framebuffer? I have fb working on my computer using plain VESA, but obviously it's not accelerated. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can't. you have to use the vesafb module to get a framebuffer at all
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These are things we need to think about with the coming of xdirectfb to Gentoo. I would love to get my console running at 1280x1024 before that :) (I've used the masked version, but I can't get a console bigger than 1024x768.. that and Quake3 won't start because it can't find some extensions)

But a framebuffer larger than 1024x768 would rock for xdirectfb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2002 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try adding '"Load" "extmod" to your x86config file in the modules section (this first one)
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitro322
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jul 2002
Posts: 551
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheCoop wrote:
you can't. you have to use the vesafb module to get a framebuffer at all

Oh. Hmm... I thought this thread was about getting it to work specifically for the nVidia hardware (as in accelerated), not just generic VESA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is. you cant use the rivafb module and the NVdriver module at the same time, you, have to use the vesafb for the console and the NVdriver for X. That is how you get nvidia cards working
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioxmat
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 709
Location: /home/mat

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw. the rivafb module is hardware accelarated I believe, and the vesa one is not. so dont plan to use things like mplayer :)

(however Id be curious to know if anyone ever tried xdirectfb with a nvidia card with the vesa or rivafb module...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dioxmat wrote:
btw. the rivafb module is hardware accelarated I believe, and the vesa one is not. so dont plan to use things like mplayer :)

(however Id be curious to know if anyone ever tried xdirectfb with a nvidia card with the vesa or rivafb module...)


I've used xdirectfb with my nvidia card using the vesa.. I can't remember if I've tried using rivafb, I probably have. It works, but Quake3 dies out on me, complaining about not having the proper extensions. (go figure, it's not an accelerated x server) Other than that, it starts up sweet, has a very snappy feeling to it, and gives you an all around "apple" style feel. (with the responsiveness) I do believe it's the way of the future, honestly. Either that, or some other derivative.

I just want something larger than 1024x768 LOL!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheCoop wrote:
it is. you cant use the rivafb module and the NVdriver module at the same time, you, have to use the vesafb for the console and the NVdriver for X. That is how you get nvidia cards working


I was going ot leave this go, but I just can't.. it needs correcting.

the framebuffer stuff (rivafb, and vesafb) are purely console and are mutually exclusive from the NVdriver module. They don't need each other, and as a matter of fact they don't even know about each other. You can use the rivafb module together with the NVdriver module, because they are in different modes. The only downfall to it is the artifact left on the cursor when you drop out of X. (XServer is not cleaning up after itself properly, according to the docs on framebuffer) But, thats not a problem with incompatibility, it's a problem with the xserver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheCoop
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 1814
Location: Where you least expect it

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2002 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i stand corrected
_________________
95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)

"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler

Change the world - move a rock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kode54
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2002 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't tried mplayer with framebuffer, but I have no problem using its vesa driver, even with high resolution videos. (-vo vesa)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum