Server recommendations?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mikl
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Server recommendations? Reply with quote

Hi there, boys and girls. I'm planning to invest in a server for hosting web-applications for my customers, and so I was thinking about getting one with the new 64-bit Dual-Core Intel Xeon (Woodcrest) processors - preferably a 1U rackserver.

So, which one should I pick - the most compelling I've seen is Apple's new Xserve, but that might only be because of their well-made ads for it. I've also looked at HP's offerings, but I have no real experience here, so I'd like if someone could point me in the right direction ;)

What you you recommend?
ragefan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apple's site doesn't show them shipping until Oct. Also, looking at the specs it does not do hardware RAID without getting the Fiber Channel RAID and Xserve RAID.

At the place I work, we have gone with SuperMicro SuperServers. They come in a bunch of configs. Just drop in the CPUs, amount of RAM, and the HDs you want and go. You can get Zero Channel Raid cards for them allow you to do RAID 5, 10 (do not need card for 0, 1). Plus there, OS-free so you're not paying for a Server OS just to wipe and put Linux on it.
Registered linux user #256555
zeek
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We just got 3 Dell 1950s with these in them and its a real PITA trying to install any linux on them. Linux has poor support for the Megaraid SAS (rebranded as PERC5) and the Broadcom NetExtreme2 NIC.
DNAspark99
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Being used to dells, the past two machines I've setup have been Sun's "SunFire X2100" series machines... running AMD opteron chips.