Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 5]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear Requisition

I believe I gave you clear directions in my previous post. With Gentoo you really need to know what you are doing. Following someone elses directions blindly will end up in frustration sooner or later with this OS. Frankly, installation is the easiest part of maintaining Gentoo.

You may benefit from visiting this: http://www.zegeniestudios.net/ldc/index.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did try your intructions, but as I said in the pervious post it couldn't find the harddrive(/dev/hda1 /mnt) in /etc/fstab or /ect/mtab when I tried to mount it the boot partition. Was the "mount /dev/hdax /mnt" command not what you meant by mounting the partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad I could help.

Don't forget to edit the subject line of your original post to include SOLVED.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mirojira wrote:
Sorry. The first command should be mount no chroot. And last one probably chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash.
But I am not absolutelly sure. I have not used it quite a long time. But you can follow Gentoo Handbook, man pages or
Howtoo's on gentoo-wiki.org. And do not forget to use right name of your hard partitions (sdaX, hdaX...)


UPDATE: I can do mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo and mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo(my boot and root). I can also do chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash. Now when I get there how to I get to my grub.conf file? I've already tried nano -w /mnt/grub/grub.conf and nano -w /mnt/boot/grub/grub.conf, neither came up with anything.

Also, when I mount my root like this, /dev/hda3 /mnt, it says their is no such command as nano.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh, man.
grub.conf is a file in your HDD, right? In order to access it you need to mount the filesystem where it's located in. This is how it works in Linux, Windows, in every damn OS out there. No need to do any fancy chroot stuff. As I wrote before you need to know what you do. Since you have separate boot partition just mount it somewhere, /mnt is good and edit your grub.conf with nano - which happens to be a file editor. Use vi instead if you do not like nano. If you do not know how a particular command works raed relevant manual page, man mount will tell you how to use it. Etc.


Last edited by Jaglover on Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirojira
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 685

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK. When you'll do mount /dev/hda3/ mnt/gentoo and chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
try nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Uh, man.
grub.conf is a file in your HDD, right? In order to access it you need to mount the filesystem where it's located in. This is how it works in Linux, Windows, in every damn OS out there. No need to do any fancy chroot stuff. As I wrote before you need to know what you do. Since you have separate boot partition just mount it somewhere, /mnt is good and edit your grub.conf with nano - which happens to be a file editor. Use vi instead if you do not like nano. If you do not know how a particular command works raed relevant manual page, man mount will tell you how to use it. Etc.


My grub.conf isn't there though.(unless it's suppose to be blank, but I put the information into it before during the install)

mirojira wrote:
OK. When you'll do mount /dev/hda3/ mnt/gentoo and chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
try nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf


Grub.conf isn't there. I can create one if I need to, but when I try to open it with nano it's just blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your grub.conf is there. And it contains an error, maybe several. If you cannot find it then the correct partition is not mounted or you are looking into wrong places. Use ls command to view directories contents.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Your grub.conf is there. And it contains an error, maybe several. If you cannot find it then the correct partition is not mounted or you are looking into wrong places. Use ls command to view directories contents.


Alright, I will start hunting around for it. Would it say the same thing that it did when I first made it or will it be full or error messages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Requisition wrote:
My grub.conf isn't there though ...

If you only mounted /dev/hda3 and your grub.conf is located on /dev/hda1 ...
That explains why you can't find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
Requisition wrote:
My grub.conf isn't there though ...

If you only mounted /dev/hda3 and your grub.conf is located on /dev/hda1 ...
That explains why you can't find it.


I'll check. Where should my grub.conf be? Does it matter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirojira
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 685

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Requisition wrote:

I'll check. Where should my grub.conf be? Does it matter?


Yes. It does.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The example in the Gentoo Handbook has you setup /boot as a separate partition. This means that all paths that start with /boot (such as /boot/grub/grub.conf) will be located on that separate partition (/dev/hda1) instead of the main one (/dev/hda3).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, your right about it no being on hda3, my root. I also have been following the guide book to the letter so it should be in /boot. /boot has nothing in it and /mnt only leads to /cdrom and /floppy. Unfourtunatly, when I mount hda1 it won't let me get to it through chrooting or any other means. It gives me an error about their being no command as bin/bash or bin/sh.

It also gives me this "error" when I mount it:

EXT2-fs Warning: Mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended.

Though it still mounts. Any ideas?


Last edited by Requisition on Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Since you have separate boot partition just mount it somewhere, /mnt is good and edit your grub.conf with nano ...

If you do this from the LiveCD, then it will clobber other important stuff that is in /mnt (like /mnt/cdrom :oops: )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you still want to do things in a hard way? Why you want to chroot?
I cannot stand this academic debate any more :evil: , retiring from this thread now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
Jaglover wrote:
Since you have separate boot partition just mount it somewhere, /mnt is good and edit your grub.conf with nano ...

If you do this from the LiveCD, then it will clobber other important stuff that is in /mnt (like /mnt/cdrom :oops: )

Are you saying there is something mounted under /mnt when booting up with LiveCD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
So you still want to do things in a hard way? Why you want to chroot?
I cannot stand this academic debate any more :evil: , retiring from this thread now.


If you have an better way for my to get into my hda1 after mounting it then I'm all hears.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mirojira
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 685

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

EXT2-fs Warning: Mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended.

Please send your /etc/fstab and ls /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mirojira wrote:
Quote:

EXT2-fs Warning: Mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended.

Please send your /etc/fstab and ls /


How would I do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Are you saying there is something mounted under /mnt when booting up with LiveCD?

I had to check, because I don't normally use the Gentoo CDs, but it looks like this :
Code:
# mount

tmpfs on / type tmpfs (rw)
/dev/hdc on /mnt/cdrom type iso9660 (ro)
/dev/loop/0 on /mnt/livecd type squashfs (ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,nodiratime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
cachedir on /mnt/livecd/lib/splash/cache type tmpfs (rw)
tmpfs on /mnt/livecd/lib/firmware type tmpfs (rw)
tmpfs on /mnt/livecd/usr/portage type tmpfs (rw)
tmpfs on /mnt/livecd/var/lib/xkb type tmpfs (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw,devmode=0664,devgid=85)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4610
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, didn't know that. I knew it's gonna globber the other stuff, just wanted to keep the path short for Requisition. ... still won't hurt much if booted with gentoo nox ... whatever, trying to unsubscribe once more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So do you guys have any idea how I can get into my hda1 once it's mounted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7301
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, don't mount it at /mnt because this kills the LiveCD environment. Use /mnt/gentoo instead.
Code:
# mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo
# nano -w /mnt/gentoo/grub/grub.conf
# umount /mnt/gentoo
# reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Requisition
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cyrillic wrote:
First of all, don't mount it at /mnt because this kills the LiveCD environment. Use /mnt/gentoo instead.
Code:
# mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo
# nano -w /mnt/gentoo/grub/grub.conf
# umount /mnt/gentoo
# reboot


Thanks cyrillic! That worked! I am now able to finally present my grub.conf file.

Quote:
default 0
timeout 20
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

Title = Gentto Linux 2.6.16-r3
root (hd0,0)

Kernal /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.16-gentoo-r3 root=/devram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 rea
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.16-gentoo-3


Note that the bolded misspellings were present in the .conf file and have been changed. I hope this shows whats wrong.
20 = 30
Gentto = Gentoo
Kernal = Kernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 3 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum