Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to modify runscript?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rasat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 56
Location: -Kenya -Mauritius -Singapore

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 5:25 am    Post subject: How to modify runscript? Reply with quote

Hi,

To get automatically some applications to run when booting, I learned how to add the command line in to etc/conf.d/local.start. But if you do a mistake, it seems it's not enough only to remove the line from local.start. When booting the /sbin/runcript.sh is still looking for the command.

Example, I did a mistake by adding the command kdm into local.start (I already got the answer from this forum how to do it) but when booting I get the following error:

/sbin/runscript.sh: kdm: command not found

How to remove the kdm command from runscript?

Markku
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1012
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the /etc/init.d/local script just uses local.start and local.stop files to start and stop files. If you remove it from both scripts it will not be started. Just tested it, so I think the error lies somewhere else. You can test it yourself by using /etc/init.d/local start or stop, if this generates the error than your looking in the right place.

Btw. What are the lines surrounding the error? so we can see the location / deduce what script is causing it.

Btw. Just to make sure, does kdm work? You want to start kdm, and it states it can't find kdm, do you kdm installed? Well gdm (which I use is in /usr/bin/gdm) please do 'which kdm', to check if its installed.

cya lX.
_________________
"Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rasat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 56
Location: -Kenya -Mauritius -Singapore

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.

I found the problem. It was caused by myself by adding the line kdm in /etc/runlevels/default/local in my earlier effort to get kdm to work.

Markku
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
james
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 56
Location: Middle Smithfield, PA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hummmm.
_________________
17 Opps It's 19 now ;-) Gentoo's and counting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mksoft
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 844

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rasat wrote:
Thanks for the reply.

I found the problem. It was caused by myself by adding the line kdm in /etc/runlevels/default/local in my earlier effort to get kdm to work.

Markku


Why not use xdm script to start kdm ? in /etc/rc.conf set:
Code:
DISPLAYMANAGER=kdm


and run:
Code:
rc-update add xdm default

_________________
There's someone in my head but it's not me - Pink Floyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum