Bootloaders
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
StumpD
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:07 pm    Post subject: Bootloaders Reply with quote

Hi,

Forgive me if this is a stupid question but I am very new to LINUX having been a dire-hard Windows user for many years (sorry!).

I have GENTOO installed on my system now and it is running hunky dory so I have no real issues but one thing which is bugging me cuz I just don't undertsand it is Bootloaders (and this isn't just with GENTOO).

I undertand if I want to dual boot between Windows and LINUX (or even different flavours of LINUX say Mandrake and SUSE etc..) I need to install GRUB or LILO but if I have a single OS on my machine won't the standard Windows MBR work?

I have no problem with GRUB or LILO etc on the machine I am just trying to understand why I need it? I did once (as a test) install Xandros and once everything was up and running booted from a Windows 98 CD and did FDISK /MBR (to put the old loader back on) and rebooted to a dead machine (I did recover but only by putting a bootloader back on).

I am learning to love LINUX more and more but this particualr area is an itch I can't seem to scratch and would appreciate some advice regarding it. Is it a case that the Windows Bootloader perhaps does not know how to load LINUX code or should it work and I am just being unlucky?

Regards,
Dave.
sternklang
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, and welcome to Gentoo!