Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
xfce4 settings manager problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 2:15 pm    Post subject: xfce4 settings manager problem Reply with quote

Code:
luca@optipc ~ $ xfce-setting-show

(xfce-mcs-manager:7528): libxfce4mcs-CRITICAL **: mcs_manager_add_channel_from_file: assertion `filename != NULL && strlen (filename) > 0' failed


Any ideas?? :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try to reemerge xfce-mcs-manager?

What version are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

loki99 wrote:
Did you try to reemerge xfce-mcs-manager?


Yes, changing the CFLAGS to "-O2 -march=k8 -pipe", but no success...

I'm using xfce4-4.2.3.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Anyone?
:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki99
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 10 Oct 2003
Posts: 2056
Location: Vienna, €urope

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 4:14 pm    Post subject: No solution to your prob, but what the heck! Reply with quote

You could try to update to the new 4.4 beta (aka version-4.3.90.1).

I'm using it for weeks now and haven't had much of a problem. But I had no troubles with 4.2 either, though. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lots of stuff to unmask... I'll wait for it to come into the testing branch :D
Guess I'll use KDE in the meantime

Thanks for your reply

Luca

PS: How long shall we have to wait for KDE 4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b4rtus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Wroclaw/Poland

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 8:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try to change in xorg.conf
Code:

HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 48.0 - 170.0


and if You use vesa driver change DefaultColorDepth for 16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

optiluca wrote:
PS: How long shall we have to wait for KDE 4?

http://developer.kde.org/development-versions/kde-4.0-release-plan.html
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

b4rtus wrote:
try to change in xorg.conf
Code:

HorizSync 30.0 - 96.0
VertRefresh 48.0 - 170.0


No success... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
troymc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try rebuilding libxfce4mcs.

If that doesn't work, you might try an empty-tree rebuild of xfce-mcs-manager.

Code:

# emerge -e xfce-mcs-manager


But, I'd start that right before bed time. It will rebuild most of your system.


troymc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

troymc wrote:
Try rebuilding libxfce4mcs


Didn't work....

Quote:
If that doesn't work, you might try an empty-tree rebuild of xfce-mcs-manager.

Code:

# emerge -e xfce-mcs-manager



A bit too drastic.... Reckon I'll wait for the next xfce update and see what happens first

Thanks for your help

Luca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem with xfce-setting-show.

I was using qt theme for gtk apps. On fresh user account everything worked well under xfce4.
But swithing gtk theme to qt crashed all applications.

Switching to another gtk theme on my original account with
Code:
switch2

fixed the problem.

I hope it helps :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
luca@optipc ~ $ switch2
bash: switch2: command not found

:(

But that definetly sounds my case :D

How do I disable the qt/gtk engine when I use xfce?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

switch2 belongs to gtk-theme-switch package, so
Code:
emerge gtk-theme-switch

and run
Code:
switch2


My xfce4 was so damaged that I couldn't run this command from xfce4 and had to switch to KDE for a second.

If it does not fix the problem try removing all configuration files for xfce4.
Code:
mkdir ~/tmp
mv ~/.config ~/.cache ~/.gtk* ~/tmp

I did both and I'm not sure which one fixed the problem. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Switched theme, and while the error still shows, the settings manager appears correctly

Just 1 last question. How do I get KDE/xfce to automatically use the qt/xfce theme at startup?

Thanks for your help

Luca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if I understand the question.

All theme settings (qt under KDE/gtk under KDE/gtk under xfce4) should be preserved between sessions.
But the gtk theme (at least on my system) has separate settings for KDE and xfce4.
It can be switched under KDE with switch2 and under xfce4 with xfce-setting-show and these settings don't affect each other in any visible form. Only when I set the gtk theme to qt under KDE (which works quite well) all xfce4 apps crash.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid that isn't my case :(
I set the theme to what I wanted under KDE with switch2, but Xfce won't start at all....
So I set the GTK theme under KDE to xfce (this is getting confusing :) ) and it (xfce) worked fine. But I now have the xfce theme with GTK apps running under KDE, which I don't want!!!!!

Help? :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

switch2 writes its configuration to ~/.gtkrc-2.0 file.
If you are using startx to start your X session you could write a script that would depending on your choice link proper configuration file to .gtkrc-2.0, create ~/.xinitrc with starkde or startxfce4 command and run startx.

But I don't know how it should be done if you are using some login manager like kdm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Temris wrote:
But I don't know how it should be done if you are using some login manager like kdm.


Which is precisely what I'm using now...

Guess I'll stick with the xfce theme in KDE too... Doesn't look too much out of place...

Thanks for your help and super-fast answers

Luca
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

optiluca, possibly x11-themes/gtk-engines-qt can help you. It works fine for my Gnome apps.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
optiluca
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 531
Location: Rivergaro, Italy

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what I'm using now...
It makes gtk apps look like kde ones in xfce too...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbesiee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 14
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to thank you for the post about using switch2, as it solve my problem.
All the themes in xfce looked like clearlooks ...

Problem solved, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luc484
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 1035
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the same solution but running switch2 I get:

Code:
Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:


Any idea?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Temris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure you have DISPLAY variable pointing to your current X display. In most cases it should have value ":0.0".

Can you run any other X application from the same place where switch2 failed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luc484
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Mar 2005
Posts: 1035
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Temris wrote:
Make sure you have DISPLAY variable pointing to your current X display. In most cases it should have value ":0.0".

Can you run any other X application from the same place where switch2 failed?


I just solved my problem. It was maybe due to gtk-qt-engine. I just removed ~/..gtkrc-2.0. Everything went fine. It seems this file contains some informations about gtk apps and it is modified by gtk-qt-engine.
Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum