Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 4]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:10 pm    Post subject: Followed Handbook, get to Grub, no boot. Reply with quote

I've just attempted my first Gentoo install.

All was going alright, and I was ready to reboot into the installed OS and finish up.

Rebooted, removed CD and waited. Grub came up, I hit enter and it flashed a CLI then went back to the grub screen.
If I go into command line in grub and enter "Boot (Hd0,0)" It gives the error "Error 8: Kernal must be loaded before system can boot"

I manually compiled the kernal based on the options in the Handbook. Its in /boot (I called it kernal-2.6)

My Fstab looks just like the example:
Code:
/dev/hda1   /boot     ext2    defaults,noatime     1 2
/dev/hda2   none      swap    sw                   0 0
/dev/hda3   /         ext3    noatime              0 1

none        /proc     proc    defaults             0 0
none        /dev/shm  tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,noexec  0 0

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0    /mnt/cdrom    auto      noauto,user    0 0


My grub.conf looks like
Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6 root=/dev/hda3


The Linux HDD is the only one in the system. I partitioned it based on the standard in the guide, so (hd0,0) should be right.
I don't get the splash screen specified, if that means anything?

Currently trying a recompile using Genkernall, but it seems to be not doing much (at the stage of "Compiling 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 bzImage")

Any help greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markkuk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Nov 2002
Posts: 446

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because you have a separate /boot partition, you must specify the file names relative to the partition, i.e. strip the /boot from the beginning:
Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6 root=/dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried that, no luck :(

Exact same problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4808
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, make sure there are no typos. As I see in your initial post kernel, kernal, and kernall are used ;)
Second, make sure your kernel actually is in /boot. Some folks forget to mount the boot partition before copying kernel there and end up with kernel image in root partition's /boot directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aim nano
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Location: Jackson, MS

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the exact same problem except I have scsi HD. The only difference in mine is root=/dev/sda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

markkuk wrote:
Because you have a separate /boot partition, you must specify the file names relative to the partition, i.e. strip the /boot from the beginning:
Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6 root=/dev/hda3

This is a serious and recurrent misconception that many people have. If you look closely at your /boot dir, you'll see that you're supposed to have a boot symlink that points to itself. Therefore, there's no need to strip the /boot path from the filenames.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:18 pm    Post subject: Re: Followed Handbook, get to Grub, no boot. Reply with quote

pippin88 wrote:

My grub.conf looks like
Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6 root=/dev/hda3


Hi.

From your grub.conf file, I suspect that you don't have a kernel named kernel-2.6 in your /boot partition.
Look at the output of ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot from your live-cd after mounting your partitions.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, there was no kernel-2.6, instead I had kernal-2.6. Don't I feel like a prat.
That will teach me to install linux late at night when I'm tired.


Renamed it to kernel-2.6 (using mv), however, I still get the same problem.

The kernel is definately in my /boot partition (hda1). To check, I mounted /root drive to /mnt/gentoo and looked in /boot. Nothing there. I then mounted the /boot partition to /mnt/gentoo/boot and it was there.


The CLI that flashes up just says "root (hd0,0)"

Any further ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the output of ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Jan 20 20:48 boot -> .
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 1024 Jan 20 22:57 grub
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1964884 Jan 20 22:24 kernel-2.6
drwx------ 2 root root 12288 Jan 20 20:11 lost+found


Something more sinister may be going on with this install.
I've had a few times where booting from the CD failed (froze), and just now it wouldn't boot from the Gentoo discs at all. Always boots the XP install first try. So there may be some underlying hardware problem I suppose. Reburnt the minimal iso and finalised the disc, and it's worked fine this time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4808
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And where is your System.map ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What commands did you use to install GRUB into the MBR? What command did you use to copy your kernel to /boot?
If you don't mind trying to use the GRUB cli again, you should start by writing root (hd0,0), instead of boot (hd0,0). Then you should write your kernel line taking advantage of the auto-complete feature by using TAB and in the last line you should write boot.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub
Code:
# emerge grub
# nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf
# grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
# grub-install /dev/hda


Kernel
Code:
# cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/<kernel-version>


As per handbook.

Will try the Grub CLI.

Jaglover: Not sure what a system.map is.


Doing root (hd0,0), then kernel, then boot got me some hard drive thrashing, but that then ceased and the screen remains at grub CLI (frozen).


Could this be as a result of an incorrect filesystem choice in fstab? I think /BOOT is ext2 and /ROOT is ext3 but not 100% sure. How would I check?

make.conf looks like:
Code:
CFLAGS="-0s -march=pentium3 -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}:
GENTOO_MIRRIORS="blah blah blah"



Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo
does show me as having a P3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks to help from jmbsvicetto, I recompiled with different options and can boot via grub CLI.

However, now the network doesn't work.

In Boot it goes something like
Code:
Starting eth0
bringing up eth0
Config not set for eth0 - assuming dhcp
dhcp
eth0 does not exist
problem starting needed services
netmount not loaded

That's from memory.

Also, for some reason, Grub still won't boot the OS normally, but at least it works through grub CLI

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recompiled with driver support for my Realtek NICs.
Now hangs on boot of the new kernel at Running dhcpcd :(

Actually, I can Ctrl-C to exit dhcpcd.
Ifconfig -a shows eth0 and eth1 but they don't have IPs (only eth0 is connected to a cable).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pippin88, I'm glad that you were able to boot with a new kernel.
Your problem with GRUB, might mean you're lacking the symlink from /boot/grub/menu.lst to grub.conf.
Code:
atl64 linux # ls -l /boot/grub/menu.lst
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 9 2005-04-24 23:14 /boot/grub/menu.lst -> grub.conf
atl64 linux # 

If that's the case, you just need to do
Code:
# ln -s grub.conf /boot/grub/menu.lst

Your problem with the network may be related to an incorrect network driver. Please look at the output of lspci, lsmod and dmesg. If you have a realtek 8139, you should try both the 8139cp and 8139too modules. After you load them and restart the interface, look at the output of ifconfig -a. If all the counters are at 0, then the driver doesn't work with your card.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I got the net working. Now have Realtek driver support built into the kernel.

Hadn't done the # rc-update add net.eth0 default

So it works now.

But I do get this error:
net.eth0: cannot start until the runlevel boot has completed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Argh, got a "Kernel panic" after getting to emerge 12 of 55 when Emerging XFCE4.

Exact Error:
Code:

CPU 0: Machine Check Exception: 00~004
Bank 4: b200~0040151
Kernel Panic - not syncing: CPU content corrupt.

Where ~ = lots of 0's

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you checked the memory with memtest?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 4808
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Errors like this one are caused by:
Overclocked or bad hardware,
Insufficent cooling (improperly seated heat sink, too many cables on the airflow way, too high overall temperature in case, etc).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pippin88
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2006 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Memory seems alright, (Memtested for a while) and CPU heatsink is not clogged etc. Will do more extensive testing later.

I think it may well be the motherboard. From memory, one of the ram slots is fried, so that may not be the only problem.

To top it all off, my other box here wouldn't boot this morning. Turns out one of its sticks of ram is now dead. The box had been slightly flaky a while ago, but I thought that was a dying hard drive (replaced), but may well have been this ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4079
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged "Followed Handbook, get to Grub, no boot." to "Grub Error Collection [Part 4] [POST GRUB QUESTIONS HERE!]"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shafer5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:58 am    Post subject: Error 15 after installation- won't boot Reply with quote

ok after 8 1/2 hours of working on installing gentoo the damn thing won't boot. it says error 15 when i select gentoo anyone know what that is? please help me out

thanks

i followed the handboot on installation exactly


Last edited by shafer5 on Mon Jan 23, 2006 1:29 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shafer5
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone....i need help quickly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRAt
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 1580
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you are dealing with a grub error.
you might like to take a look at Gentoo Grub Error Collection
there is an entry there for Error 15 and how best to solve it.
_________________
All reality is the construct of the observer.

Get Firefox and rediscover the web!

BOFH Excuse #295:
The Token fell out of the ring. Call us when you find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 1 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum