Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 4]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentoo Bob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 129
Location: Sitting behind a PC in Indiana

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:48 pm    Post subject: I solved your problem Reply with quote

Dude, stay with grub its such a great bootloader. Your issue is this....

change this line: kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3

to this line: kernel /boot/linux-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3

that is why you are not booting to your kernel. your kernel name is linux-2.6.15-gentoo-r5

not kernel-2.6. blah blah. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swooshOnLn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 741
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentoo Bob, "ls /boot"

Code:

swooshonln@tux /boot $ ls
boot                                          kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1
fbsplash-emergence-1280x1024      kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1.old
fbsplash-gentoo-1280x1024           lost+found
fbsplash-livecd-1280x1024             memtest86plus
grub


my bzImage is named "kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1", and I believe thats what teh installation guide reccomends you use. As I said, Daveman, could you plesase post the return of "ls /boot"
_________________
"WARNING: you may LOL"

This is my font size, color, and signature. It will change to whatever I pick. How cool is that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daveman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did use grub-install, and this is is exactly what my grub.conf contains below(note: I did not use genkernel)



default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3


And you also said that you wanted to see the return of ls /boot
it returned :
boot

And I thank everone so far for all their help, I was planning checking back on the forums tommorrow cuz I thought that that was probably the time someone had replied to my post. But I guess not. The support here is great!

P.S: The live cd won't let me chroot back on again
_________________
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

daveman wrote:
And you also said that you wanted to see the return of ls /boot
it returned :
boot

I think swooshOnLn really wanted to see "ls /mnt/gentoo/boot". You will need to mount your Gentoo partition(s) first for this to work.

daveman wrote:
P.S: The live cd won't let me chroot back on again

Mounting your partitions should fix that too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shockertwin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think what we are tryign to get at here is when you copied over your bzImage to /boot, you probably named it differantly than what you are pointing at in your grub conf.

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3


The bold portin of above MUST have the same name as that image you copied over. I believe in the guide it sais to do a

cp bzImage /boot/2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Also, make sure that if you are using the newest gentoo-sources that you name it respectfully. (i believe the newest is 2.6.15-gentoo-r7). you can tell your source by doing a

ls -l /usr/src/linux

also, i fyou want back into your boot partition, jsut remount them in the livecd

mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot

then post up your ls /mnt/gentoo/boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neysx
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Posts: 795

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a much simpler way. Boot and when grub displays its menu, hit c to switch to command-line mode.
Use the TAB key anywhere to see available options if in doubt.
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> kernel /boot/TAB

grub will display the list of files and your kernel image should be there. Complete the line as in the following example:
grub> kernel /boot/kernel file name root=/dev/hda3
grub> boot

Once booted, mount /boot and make sure your grub config matches the kernel image file name.

If by any chance (or lack thereof), there is no kernel, it means you did not copy it, or did not notice it failed for whatever reason.

If you did compile a kernel, you should still have an image under /usr/src/linux/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage which you can use for booting:
grub> root (hd0,2)
grub> kernel /usr/src/linux/arch/x86_64/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3
grub> boot

Assuming you followed the /boot swap / partitioning plan from the handbook.

If you did not compile any kernel, boot the CD again, mount /dev/hda3 on /mnt/gentoo and /dev/hda1 on /mnt/gentoo/boot, chroot again, compile the kernel, copy the image... Please the amd64 handbook for the details

If you're on SATA, replace all occurrences of hda with sda

Hth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyeL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 82
Location: Missouri

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm. could it be because his kernel is named kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1 and he's using boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5?

ls /boot shows kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1 but the error says it can't find kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5, so try changing that to r1.
_________________
[theNPA - down for updates] | [Adopt an unanswered post]
gentoo 2005.1 [lazy] - gcc 4.1.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sirdilznik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2005
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder why Gentoo has people set up the kernel image naming scheme like it does by default. I've always named my kernel image 'vmlinuz'. This way when I recompile my kernel all I have to do is run
Code:
make install

Then the kernel image, config, and System.map are all copied over and symlinked automatically for me. I find this to be much simpler than copying bzImage to /boot then renaming it and so on... :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MacBouba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I think by the release of your kernel you must have installed the "vanilla" one because the 2.6.15-r5 does not exist(anymore?) for gentoo-sources.
If that's not the case, maybe you have typed a wrong name.

Quote:

kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3

I think that you should remove "/boot" and write: kernel /kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shockertwin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Dec 2005
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

umm excuse me??? I installed from gentoo sources from the universal live cd for 2006.0 and the source it came with was gentoo-2.6.15-r5. I think this is the cd that i downloaded less than a week ago. So i am guessing that (depending on the server), gentoo-2.6.15-r5 is the sources currently found on the livecd....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentoo Bob
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 129
Location: Sitting behind a PC in Indiana

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swooshOnLn wrote:
Gentoo Bob, "ls /boot"

Code:

swooshonln@tux /boot $ ls
boot                                          kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1
fbsplash-emergence-1280x1024      kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1.old
fbsplash-gentoo-1280x1024           lost+found
fbsplash-livecd-1280x1024             memtest86plus
grub


my bzImage is named "kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1", and I believe thats what teh installation guide reccomends you use. As I said, Daveman, could you plesase post the return of "ls /boot"



I cant show you my /boot but my bzImage starts with linux-..... it always has for me. who knows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daveman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I've made some progress. But now there is a new problem :(
I did as most of you have said: reboot the live cd chroot back in and cp over the bzImage. It worked too. But now I have another prob; When I load up grub it and enter gentoo it boots up, while printing a whole bunch of stuff onto the screen that was goin to fast for me to read, like it is supposed to do(I think). Then it stops and comes up w/the following error:

Filesystem couldn't be fixed :(
Give root password for maintenance
(or type Control-D to continue) :


If I type in my root password it says:
(none) ~#

If I type ctrl-d it says:
* unmounting filesystems
* rebooting


Then it just reboots and I do the same thing all over again. It would be greatly appreciated if someone could diagnose this problem. Thanx-Dave
_________________
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave.

Boot the live-cd, mount your partitions under /mnt/gentoo and take a look at /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab. Are you sure you replaced the /dev/ROOT, /dev/BOOT and /dev/SWAP entries with your actual partitions?
If you don't remember how you partitioned your disk(s) anymore, look at the output of fdisk -l.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sirdilznik wrote:
I wonder why Gentoo has people set up the kernel image naming scheme like it does by default. I've always named my kernel image 'vmlinuz'. This way when I recompile my kernel all I have to do is run
Code:
make install


Well, you know that Gentoo advocates "knowledge", don't you? :wink: Although the vmlinuz and make install methods are simpler, they lack the flexibility the, so-called, Gentoo scheme provides.
Besides, how hard is it to create a new entry or edit an existing entry in grub.conf? :roll:
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genkigentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: XP on partition 9 of same drive Reply with quote

I installed gentoo on this machine long ago and kept about 25GB free for a Windows partition that I never used until last night. I installed XP on /dev/hda9 knowing it would want to overwrite my MBR and after the XP files were copied to the drive, I noticed it wouldn't boot after the restart. I modified an XP boot floppy with the following boot.ini and was able to boot (changed the partition to 8):

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(8)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(8)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /noexecute=alwaysoff

XP installed fine afterwards. After this, I booted with the gentoo LiveCD and chrooted to my drive and used grub-install /dev/hda to install grub back into the MBR with the following grub.conf:

default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.15-gentoo-r1-acpi-unichrome
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1-acpi-unichrome root=/dev/hde3

title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,8)
makeactive
chainloader +1

My drive looks like this:

/dev/hda1 /boot
/dev/hda2 swap
/dev/hda3 /
/dev/hda5 /opt
/dev/hda6 /var
/dev/hda7 /usr
/dev/hda8 /home
/dev/hda9 /mnt/winnt

I can boot in to XP with the bootdisk. I can boot into Gentoo from grub. But I can't boot into XP from grub. I am getting "Error 12: Invalid device requested." Now I've skimmed this thread and noticed all the windows partitions were in the first partition. Is this my problem? I don't really mind booting XP from a floppy that much since I don't think I'll be booting to it that much. But it'd be kind of cool to get it to boot from grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4734
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I might be wrong, but I seem to recall that Windows doesn't know how to boot from a logical partition. If I recall correctly, you either have to move your partitions around or keep using the XP boot disk.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uerebion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 3:24 am    Post subject: question with Grub Reply with quote

I used the graphical installer for Gentoo, which installed Grub in MBR, I wiped that and re-installed windows boot record. Than I went to the boot partition I had made for gentoo and installed grub there. I can get that grub to regonize my fedora partition, but I keep getting error 15 for my gentoo.

I followed these steps installing grub:
1) boot with a live-CD (for example Knoppix or the Gentoo install CD)
2) mount your root ("/") directory to /mnt/someplace
3) mount your boot ("/boot") to /mnt/someplace/boot
3) chroot /mnt/someplace /bin/bash
4) reinstall your kernel ("cd /usr/src/linux && make install") to your boot partition
5) reinstall grub ("grub")
6) configure your /mnt/someplace/boot/grub/menu.lst or grub.conf

This is my Grub.conf
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda6
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.15-gentoo-r1

title Fedora Core (2.6.15-1.2054_FC5)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.15-1.2054_FC5.img


something is missing, but I have not been able to find it yet, any help would be appreciate
thanks
Uerebion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brievolz84
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2006
Posts: 30
Location: Hburg, Va

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 5:35 am    Post subject: Having problems with grub Reply with quote

I'm having problems with Grub. I used the coding in the handbook as a place to start. But everytime I try to boot up gentoo I get an error in the kernal part of the grub.conf that I wrote. do I need to use brub install? and how to you find out what kernel version I compiled?
_________________
Master Jedi
MSI K8N Neo Platinum
AMD Athlon 64
1.2 GB of ddr ram
GeForce 6800GT
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (value)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just for future reference, grub questions go here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-122656.html

Follow the instructions in the installation manual for mounting your partitions and chrooting. Then look in /boot to see which kernel is there and what it is called. Use that name when configuring your /boot/grub/grub.conf file. Follow the instructions in the manual for running grub-install. Follow the instructions in the manual for exiting the chroot and unmounting your partitions. Reboot. If you still get grub errors, please post them in the thread I linked to above.

Hope this helps.
_________________
Bones McCracker wrote:
On the other hand, regex is popular with the ladies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged above two posts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need to get back into my Grub nano file after I rebooted my system and located an error. How do I do this to correct the error?
_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rakeyry wrote:
I need to get back into my Grub nano file after I rebooted my system and located an error. How do I do this to correct the error?


If the system didn't boot, you will need to boot with the live cd again. Then mount your boot partition and edit the grub.conf file. There isn't any need to chroot if you just need to edit the file. Also, you can just mount the partition on /mnt/gentoo. The name of the mount point doesn't matter in this instance.

Example: assuming that boot partition is /dev/hda1 then
Code:
boot cd
mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo
cd /mnt/gentoo/grub
nano -w grub.conf           (make your changes)
cd
umount /mnt/gentoo
reboot

Remove the cd so that you boot into your installed system.
Repeat these steps if you find that you have another error you need to correct.
_________________
Bones McCracker wrote:
On the other hand, regex is popular with the ladies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a billion
_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rakeyry
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Ont. Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I get this

I'm done configuring the installation, I reboot as instructed and get this message.


Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc

Error 15: File not found


The page is actually blank at first, I hit enter and this comes up along with something that sais "Press any key to continue" In which case it takes me to a screen showing the version of linux or the kernel I installed. Not to mention the picture is distorted in pixally so I can hardly read it.
_________________
The box said Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boot the live cd and follow the instructions I posted before for mouting your boot partition.

Then post here, the contents of your grub.conf file. Also post the output of 'ls -l /mnt/gentoo'. Further, post details of how you partitioned your drive. (tell us which is boot, swap, root, ...)
_________________
Bones McCracker wrote:
On the other hand, regex is popular with the ladies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 14 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum