Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Battery status icon doesn't work properly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Roxxor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 225
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:08 am    Post subject: Battery status icon doesn't work properly Reply with quote

I am using Gnome Desktop on my Laptop. I want to have the battery status icon at the top on the menu. When I add it I get the message
Code:

Can"t access ACPI events in /var/run/acpid.socket! Make sure the ACPI subsystem is working and the acpid daemon is running.


But it works fine if I log in with the root account.

How to solve this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_irl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 403
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm not sure what's happening there (i don't use gnome) but i'd check the services you have running when you're logged in as root against what you have running when you're a user: it sounds like there might be some kind of gnome acpi service running for root that you need to activate for the other login.

since it works for root, if it's not something different in the gnome setup, then i suppose it could be a permissions problem...although i can't think why the permissions would be wrong on your system. still, on my system, /var/run/acpid.socket has rw permissions for everyone (not just root). does yours? if not maybe changing it (chmod 666 /var/run/acpid.socket) will help. if that's not the problem, maybe take a look at what's going on with the acpi stuff in /proc. on my laptop i can view the battery info directly under /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1...again the relevant files (info and state) ought to be world-readable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxxor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 225
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I simply solved it by downloading acpid.
Code:

emerge acpid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simon_irl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 403
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool. i wonder how it worked for root if the necessary software wasn't installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxxor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 225
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

simon_irl wrote:
cool. i wonder how it worked for root if the necessary software wasn't installed?



That is a damn good question. :!:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbart
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 137
Location: Baden // Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

acpid is not responsible for anything battery-related. it just catches acpi events you can then use to trigger functions (shutdown, suspend, whatever)...

guess this has to be considered a bug, because it may need acpid for making buttons be able to do the described things, but battery status must work anyway.

(i have no acpid and it works.. with kde or xfce.. you can read your battery status in /proc/acpi/battery/*/, no need for a userspace deamon for this)
_________________
Microsoft is not the answer.
Microsoft is the question, and the answer is no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum