Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
strangest /boot mount prob
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 7:35 pm    Post subject: strangest /boot mount prob Reply with quote

this is what happns if I mount my boot partition:
Code:
MagicPlace src # mount /dev/hda1 /boot
MagicPlace src # cd /boot
MagicPlace boot # ls
?.???         ?.???         oo-r7 (r.oot  ?t?????.???   ??p??.0??
?t?????.???   ?r???.???     s to acc.ess  ???? ??..???  ?7
????????.???  ?t?? ??$.t??  u???.u??      ????????.?s?  ?.hdrs??
???.????..?&   error:.a20   ua????3?.u??  ?e?(????.x??  ??wrong.loa
???r f=p.ams  &? ???        ??            ??????.???    ?d??.?fq
?d?&?.?       1???????.???  ??.1??        ?????         ???.%?
?..           @??= ?t9.???  ???.<?u       ?             ????p?.?.>??
???+?8?v.???  f??????f.1??  ?????x.d?7    ?f1?????. f?  ?1??? ?;.???

This happens in X as well as only console, the strangest thing is that if I mount it using the fstab (removing the noauto and reboot) it's fine. what gives?
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished


Last edited by TheWizard on Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:13 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's your fstab? How is it formatted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1      /boot      ext2      noauto,noatime      1 2
/dev/hda3      /      ext3      noatime         0 1
/dev/hda2      none      swap      sw         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom1   /mnt/cdrom1   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
proc         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0


edit: p.s. thanks for the help.
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it actually an ext2 partition? (Silly question, but you never know. :))
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sure it is (well unless I'm a complete fool that is... :roll: )

again, what I fail to understand is how (on gentoo's green earth) does it work when rebooting without the noauto in the fstab.
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works with noauto because GRUB uses the partition directly... hmm. That's really weird :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mmmm.... I do have grub...mmm in that case R u saying that it's working when 'noauto' because of grup??? (i.e. not the fstab that does the mounting?).

say can it be in any way linked to nls? (I fail to see the connection, more over the default is eng anyway..).
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:11 pm    Post subject: Re: strangest /boot mount prob (really! - strange as hell..) Reply with quote

Code:

MagicPlace boot # ls
?.???         ?.???         oo-r7 (r.oot  ?t?????.???   ??p??.0??
?t?????.???   ?r???.???     s to acc.ess  ???? ??..???  ?7
????????.???  ?t?? ??$.t??  u???.u??      ????????.?s?  ?.hdrs??
???.????..?&   error:.a20   ua????3?.u??  ?e?(????.x??  ??wrong.loa
???r f=p.ams  &? ???        ??            ??????.???    ?d??.?fq
?d?&?.?       1???????.???  ??.1??        ?????         ???.%?
?..           @??= ?t9.???  ???.<?u       ?             ????p?.?.>??
???+?8?v.???  f??????f.1??  ?????x.d?7    ?f1?????. f?  ?1??? ?;.???


oo-r7 -- gentoo-r7? the readable text seems to indicate that your partition is screwed up, or not mounting properly, or being silly in some other fashion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16106
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might check fdisk or cfdisk just to double check what fs it is.

Also, is your signature supposed to be using the word dead or deed?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, I too didn't think so, so why is that?

and stranger still is how come it's fine when mounted with fstab...
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Also, is your signature supposed to be using the word dead or deed?

let me just do a quick ispell install and I'll reply /me :lol: on /me :oops:

p.s. I'm sure the partition's fine, after all it does boot (the kernel is there), the grub list works (the menu.lst's there) and I can see it fine when rebooting with the 'noauto' removed from the fstab...

edit: quick OT p.s. (don't reply if it's terrble OTed - and it is..) which is better: ispell or aspell (or maybe other) - again a terrible OT, so don't reply... (I'm ashamed of myself for mentioning it at all...)
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished


Last edited by TheWizard on Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheWizard wrote:
I'm sure the partition's fine, after all it does boot (the kernel is there), the grub list works (the menu.lst's there) abd I can see it fine when rebooting with the 'noauto' removed from the fstab...


Right, it's just freaking WEIRD! What kernel are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16106
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this would matter, but what happens if /boot is not mounted, but you do an 'ls /boot'?
Is there any chance data in /boot (the mountpoint) could cause a problem when mounting a partition/fs to it?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo R7, come to think about it it did work OK on another comp I've installed with the R4 (quite (probbly didn't spell it right) some time ago).

btw I am dissgraphic and I have spelling mistakes in my native tang as well, even more amazing then this phenomina (this post's prob) is that I have less spelling mistakes in eng then in heb.
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kanuslupus wrote:
Not sure if this would matter, but what happens if /boot is not mounted, but you do an 'ls /boot'?
Is there any chance data in /boot (the mountpoint) could cause a problem when mounting a partition/fs to it?


nope, already tried that, it's got nothing in it, as it's supposed to.
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beavis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Dirty Jersey

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did you try mounting with the type option set to ext2?

e.g. mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beavis wrote:
did you try mounting with the type option set to ext2?

e.g. mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1


yeah! that seemed to do the trick - so simple yet I'm so stupid...

thanks alot (had thought about it and.. come to think about it my old "gen' box" had an ext3's /boot) but WHY can't it mouint it correctly (doesn't the data in fstab tell it it's ext2???).

thanks, I'm a happy gentoo again :D - will be more once this stupid sound issue is resolved, and just to keep this clean I'll post another thread - that is if I woun't figure it out for myself :roll: (maybe I will, maybe I will!).

well anyway - how can I make it "auto" when doing mount /dev/hda1 to ext2?
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1012
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the partition with tune2fs -l /dev/hd? check if journal is on (filesystem features) or something, somehow, the mount option detects a different filesystem. Mount it, well the way you get your faulty directory listing and just check /etc/mtab or do mount and check the filesystem.

Just make a copy (cp -a) of the partition ('m get it mounted correctly) unmount, and just remake the filesystem, mke2fs . btw. normally you can still mount a ext3 partition with ext2, without getting errors, so something is definitly screwd.

Cya lX.
_________________
"Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lx wrote:
Check the partition with tune2fs -l /dev/hd? check if journal is on (filesystem features) or something, somehow, the mount option detects a different filesystem. Mount it, well the way you get your faulty directory listing and just check /etc/mtab or do mount and check the filesystem.

Just make a copy (cp -a) of the partition ('m get it mounted correctly) unmount, and just remake the filesystem, mke2fs . btw. normally you can still mount a ext3 partition with ext2, without getting errors, so something is definitly screwd.

Cya lX.


sorry, didn't get most of it... well almost all of it...

the 'tune2fs -l /dev/hda1' output seems OK (or not, details in the next post).
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished


Last edited by TheWizard on Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noticed another thing, could be relevant:
Code:
MagicPlace / # mount /dev/hda1 /boot
MagicPlace / # tune2fs -l /dev/hda1
tune2fs 1.27 (8-Mar-2002)
Filesystem volume name:   <none>
Last mounted on:          <not available>
Filesystem UUID:          869f9bfd-beb4-4398-bf04-2aaba1cd2719
Filesystem magic number:  0xEF53
Filesystem revision #:    1 (dynamic)
Filesystem features:      filetype sparse_super
Filesystem state:         clean
Errors behavior:          Continue
Filesystem OS type:       Linux
Inode count:              34136
Block count:              136521
Reserved block count:     6826
Free blocks:              130027
Free inodes:              34109
First block:              1
Block size:               1024
Fragment size:            1024
Blocks per group:         8192
Fragments per group:      8192
Inodes per group:         2008
Inode blocks per group:   251
Last mount time:          Sun Jun  9 23:56:02 2002
Last write time:          Mon Jun 10 00:31:07 2002
Mount count:              3
Maximum mount count:      28
Last checked:             Fri Jun  7 17:20:16 2002
Check interval:           15552000 (6 months)
Next check after:         Wed Dec  4 17:20:16 2002
Reserved blocks uid:      0 (user root)
Reserved blocks gid:      0 (group root)
First inode:              11
Inode size:               128
MagicPlace / # ls /boot
?.???         ?.???         oo-r7 (r.oot  ?t?????.???   ??p??.0??
?t?????.???   ?r???.???     s to acc.ess  ???? ??..???  ?7
????????.???  ?t?? ??$.t??  u???.u??      ????????.?s?  ?.hdrs??
???.????..?&   error:.a20   ua????3?.u??  ?e?(????.x??  ??wrong.loa
???r f=p.ams  &? ???        ??            ??????.???    ?d??.?fq
?d?&?.?       1???????.???  ??.1??        ?????         ???.%?
?..           @??= ?t9.???  ???.<?u       ?             ????p?.?.>??
???+?8?v.???  f??????f.1??  ?????x.d?7    ?f1?????. f?  ?1??? ?;.???
MagicPlace / # umount /boot
MagicPlace / # mount -t ext2 /dev/hda1 /boot
MagicPlace / # tune2fs -l /dev/hda1
tune2fs 1.27 (8-Mar-2002)
Filesystem volume name:   <none>
Last mounted on:          <not available>
Filesystem UUID:          869f9bfd-beb4-4398-bf04-2aaba1cd2719
Filesystem magic number:  0xEF53
Filesystem revision #:    1 (dynamic)
Filesystem features:      filetype sparse_super
Filesystem state:         not clean
Errors behavior:          Continue
Filesystem OS type:       Linux
Inode count:              34136
Block count:              136521
Reserved block count:     6826
Free blocks:              130027
Free inodes:              34109
First block:              1
Block size:               1024
Fragment size:            1024
Blocks per group:         8192
Fragments per group:      8192
Inodes per group:         2008
Inode blocks per group:   251
Last mount time:          Mon Jun 10 00:39:19 2002
Last write time:          Mon Jun 10 00:39:19 2002
Mount count:              4
Maximum mount count:      28
Last checked:             Fri Jun  7 17:20:16 2002
Check interval:           15552000 (6 months)
Next check after:         Wed Dec  4 17:20:16 2002
Reserved blocks uid:      0 (user root)
Reserved blocks gid:      0 (group root)
First inode:              11
Inode size:               128
MagicPlace / #


notice the "clean" when it's (apperantly) mounted as ext3 (and I see rubbish) and the "not clean" when it's mounted correctly as ext2 (and I can see it).
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1012
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheWizard wrote:
notice the "clean" when it's (apperantly) mounted as ext3 (and I see rubbish) and the "not clean" when it's mounted correctly as ext2 (and I can see it).


How do you know its mounted as ext3?, journal option ain't turned on so it shouldn't mount it as ext3. If it does, then it's obvious you get rubbish cause the "journal" file doesn't exist and its probably using a part of the partition (which qua journal contains garbage).

About the previous post, I just said. backup the files on the partition using cp -a, and umount that partition, remake the filesystem, mke2fs /dev/hd? and copy the files back, this probably fixes the mix up.

Well cya, lX.
_________________
"Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lx wrote:
How do you know its mounted as ext3?........

you're right, it doesn't.

It's actually vfat (!!) according to mtab:
Code:
dev/hda1 /boot vfat rw 0 0


I know I've enabled it in the kernel (for CD and various supports) but what gave it the idea it's default????!!? :?:


edit: p.s. (almost forgot) - did your suggestion, didn't do squad (same vfat unless '-t ext2'ed).

thanks for everything so far.

can someone please tell me if there's a way I can make 'mount' mount my /boot as ext2 by default???
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1012
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2002 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try
Code:
dd if=/dev/hda1 count=1 ibs=512
Mine is vfat and it states FAT32 in the first line (before all the garbage).

Maybe you need to clean it first before remaking the filesystem, but well this is a very very dangerous command, think it is dd if=/dev/null of=/dev/hda1, or just write a few sectors using the count and ibs=512 options, after this you make the filesystem and maybe you also need to rerun grub.

Well I'm tired. Cya lX.
_________________
"Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over.", Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2002
Posts: 35
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lx wrote:
Well I'm tired. Cya lX.


good night and happy dreams.

I'll get to your sugestion later as I'm now deeply engaged in an all-out Alsa war! (and it's past 4 am here, but damn me if I'm givving up).
_________________
No good deed ever goes unpunished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if you can get access to your /boot partition and want to start over, copy off everything you want (bzImage, grub/menu.lst) and re-create it.

Code:

# umount /boot

# dd if=/dev/null of=/dev/hda1           <-- zeroes whole partition

# mke2fs -j /dev/hda1                    <-- reformat

# nano -w /etc/fstab                     <-- make sure you're set to ext3!

# grub
grub> setup (hd0,0)
grub> root (hd0)
grub> quit

# mount /boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum