geforce3, DVI, & X
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
longtallugly
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 11:26 pm    Post subject: geforce3, DVI, & X Reply with quote

quick: geforce3 switches from dvi to rgb when i run X

long:
alrighty, well... up 'til now i've been using gentoo for about 5 months on a cheap athlon 750 system, and decided it was time to put gentoo on my "better" (relatively speaking) computer. so far I have been able to solve problems with either by searching the forums etc. but this one has me stumped, and I don't see any other posts quite the same, if you know of a thread to point me to, please do.........

I've got a PNY geforce3 64MB DDR vidcard, and a 15" gateway flatpanel. the vidcard has 3 outputs: RGB, DVI, and S-video, while my screen only has DVI. it obviously works, because i can boot to the login, but when i try to start X, it switches to the RGB, even if there is nothing attatched to the RGB plug... then when i ctrl+alt+del it switches back to DVI. i know my XF86Config is at least mostly correct, since i plugged a moniter into the 15-pin rgb and XFree86 started X on the other screen. the one thing i found that might(?) be it is the BusID line (set to "PCI:1:0:0") but XFree86 -scanpci doesn't return anything to the console. Also tried setting
Code:
Option   "FlatPanel"  "True"
but that didn't do any good either. anyhow, if you want to see my XF86Config files or logs, let me know, i didn't see anything interesting there, but i'm still fairly wet behind the ears as far as linux is concerned... used RedHat for a year or two, started learning linux when i started with gentoo! love it so far, and would like to see it workin' on a faster box :D

thanks in advance,
jay
longtallugly
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper