Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
'Could not create needed directory' at boot [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4688
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:49 pm    Post subject: 'Could not create needed directory' at boot [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi.

I now get many error messages about directories that cannot be created and other stuff while my laptop boots. I have run emerge sync and upgraded a few packages and now I get these messages although I didn't before. Here are some of them:
Code:
* Activating possible swap
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/init.d'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/softscripts'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/snapshot'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/options'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/daemons'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/started'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/starting'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/inactive'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/stopping'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/failed'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/exclusive'!
* Couldn't create needed directory '/var/lib/exitcodes'!
...
/bin/mktemp: cannot create temp file /var/lib/init.d/depcache.Xm1a8s9 : No such file or directory
...
gawk: /lib/rcscripts/awk/gendepends.awk:507 fatal expression for >> redirection has null string value
...
* Failed to cache service dependencies
...
stat: cannot stat '/lib/splash/cache/deptree': No such file or directory

I'm using LVM2 for /var, /opt/ tmp/ and /home and I have dm_mod built-in not as a module. So it should detect my volume group and so on at boot, shouldn't it? I also have baselayout-1.12.0_pre13-r1.

I though these messages were due to Gentoo Sources 2.6.15-r7 but I also get them with my previous kernel, 2.6.15-gentoo-r5. Can anyone help?
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”


Last edited by VinzC on Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
treat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get something similar with 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 and baselayout-1.11.14-r3, where do i find the log?

edit: just updated to baselayout-1.11.14-r6 now i don't get any errors :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4688
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

treat wrote:
I get something similar with 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 and baselayout-1.11.14-r3, where do i find the log?

I don't know. I think they do not exist yet at that point as it happens before syslog et al are active.

treat wrote:
edit: just updated to baselayout-1.11.14-r6 now i don't get any errors

... which is strange as that package didn't change on my system :roll: ... I'll try anyway and see if it also gets rid of these errors.

EDIT: "solved" too. However my wireless LAN (eth1) script doesn't start automatically anymore :? . I feel pre 1.12 versions imply many more changes like with bash as the latest baselayout also depends on an upgrade of bash.

So I've added net.eth1 to the default runlevel. We'll see how it goes with the new baselayout when it comes stable.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NightDragon
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 1144
Location: Vienna (Austria)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys!

Same here... *g*
All i had to do was to upgrade the baselayout ;)

Strange...
_________________
You are the problem too all my solutions ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VinzC
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 4688
Location: Theux (Belgium)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NightDragon wrote:
Hi guys!

Same here... *g*
All i had to do was to upgrade the baselayout ;)

Strange...

*Up*grade? which version did you have and which version do you have now? Did you have to upgrade bash too? The latest version I saw of baselayout (1.12.0_pre16-r3) required bash 3.1_pre_something, which is currently masked.
_________________
Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
GNU/Linux user #369763
“Wow! I feel root”
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum