Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Howto: qemu + vmplayer = free vmware
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brazzmonkey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 372
Location: between azerty keyboard and chair

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, thanks again for this tip, it works fine. i don't have any sound (but i haven't tried to fix that yet), no mousewheel, and i find it generally slow (i have a celeron 1300 with 896 Mb RAM (256 Mb allocated to vmware). is my system a little weak to handle such emulation or is there a way to speed things up a bit ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for these tips, but I still have a problem.

The VMPlayer is NOT using my memory ;) I could give him ~300 Mb but it seems to only use my hard drive... Which is slow (5400 RPM) because it's 2-years-old notebood ;)

Any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeanfrancis wrote:
Thanks for these tips, but I still have a problem.

The VMPlayer is NOT using my memory ;) I could give him ~300 Mb but it seems to only use my hard drive... Which is slow (5400 RPM) because it's 2-years-old notebood ;)

Any advice?

Try to set MemTrimRate to 0.
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, but I just found out how to fix that (but not understanding why ;))

I installed WinXP Pro yesterday using a CDRom Image because my disk is not working good (was able to do the image but the installation couldn't start).

So, that took all the day of yesterday to install... I don't know why, I thought that was because VMPlayer had to read the img AND write to the disk...

Created a new .vmx today and it's much faster...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just found this, in case anyone's interested:

http://www.brandonhutchinson.com/Installing_VMware_Tools_with_VMware_Player.html

It's a guide that explains how to install VMware Tools on a Windows guest OS with VMware Player. It seems to be legal, as it just involves extracting a file from an official tarball you can download from the VMware web site.

I'm trying it right now; I'll post my results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeanfrancis
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1482
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very interesting :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GetCool wrote:
I just found this, in case anyone's interested:

http://www.brandonhutchinson.com/Installing_VMware_Tools_with_VMware_Player.html

It's a guide that explains how to install VMware Tools on a Windows guest OS with VMware Player. It seems to be legal, as it just involves extracting a file from an official tarball you can download from the VMware web site.

I'm trying it right now; I'll post my results.

Yes, I know you can install windows.iso. I did this on my installation, but I wasn't sure this was 100% legal. That's why I didn't include it in my howto. I will put this in my guide :D Thanks for the link

[EDIT]
Okay, adjusted the guide and provided some extra information.
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brazzmonkey
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 372
Location: between azerty keyboard and chair

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great great great ! i'm eager to be back home to try all these worthy tips !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone gotten sound working on their Windows host? I have the sound device enabled in VMware but Windows doesn't detect any sound hardware...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GetCool wrote:
Has anyone gotten sound working on their Windows host? I have the sound device enabled in VMware but Windows doesn't detect any sound hardware...

I have, but not with alsa support. When I'm playing sound on my Gentoo, the sound doesn't work in Windows.

These are my sound options in my .vmx:
Code:
sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.startConnected = "TRUE"
sound.virtualDev = "es1371"
sound.fileName = "-1"
sound.autodetect = "TRUE"

_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aries-Belgium wrote:
I have, but not with alsa support. When I'm playing sound on my Gentoo, the sound doesn't work in Windows.


You mean it just doesn't work at the same time? All I want to be able to do is play the occasional windows media audio/video file in Windows Media Player, so I won't need to have sound all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GetCool wrote:
Aries-Belgium wrote:
I have, but not with alsa support. When I'm playing sound on my Gentoo, the sound doesn't work in Windows.


You mean it just doesn't work at the same time? All I want to be able to do is play the occasional windows media audio/video file in Windows Media Player, so I won't need to have sound all the time.


Doesn't it work with the sound config I posted in my previous post?
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aries-Belgium wrote:
Doesn't it work with the sound config I posted in my previous post?


Yes it does; sorry, I had responded to your comment before trying it. It's working fine now.

Maybe think about adding that sound config to your guide; at first, when I used EasyVMX to generate the vmx file, I chose the "Sound Blaster 16" option, and that didn't give me any sound (at least in a Windows XP guest). Your config works.

Additionally, I have another tip. I couldn't for the life of me get parallel port support working (because I wanted to be able to print to my parallel port printer from within my Windows guest), so I opted instead to set up samba and share the printer. In my smb.conf file I have the hosts allow option set to only include the IP address of my Windows guest, so it's secure. Plus, it's an easy way to share files between both operating systems.

I can provide further details about my samba config if anyone would like me to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Added sound and usb, serial - and parrallel ports to the guide ...
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
at240
l33t
l33t


Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Posts: 603
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aries-Belgium,

I've just noticed that the vmx-file generator I told you about has moved website---maybe you should update the link in the original post?

As you'll see, it's now at:
http://www.easyvmx.com/

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

at240 wrote:
Aries-Belgium,

I've just noticed that the vmx-file generator I told you about has moved website---maybe you should update the link in the original post?

As you'll see, it's now at:
http://www.easyvmx.com/

:)

Okay, thanks for reporting this
Updated :D
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxinit
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Location: Bumkcuf, Egypt

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why download the latest archived version of the vmware tools? You don't have to register either. Just look at the archived URL, and play with the version number, and voila:
http://download3.vmware.com/software/wkst/VMware-workstation-5.5.1-19175.tar.gz

No registration required. And by the way... You can use the trial version of workstation to create you image/install your os, or whatever as well... When the trial expires just use vmplayer. ;)

You can also get a ton of pre-built images here:
http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/

There are other sites that offer them as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxinit wrote:
Why download the latest archived version of the vmware tools? You don't have to register either. Just look at the archived URL, and play with the version number, and voila:
http://download3.vmware.com/software/wkst/VMware-workstation-5.5.1-19175.tar.gz


I believe this is mentioned in the link I posted above.

Quote:
And by the way... You can use the trial version of workstation to create you image/install your os, or whatever as well... When the trial expires just use vmplayer. ;)


Why do that when you can just create the vmdk file easily with qemu? It's easier than bothering with multiple versions of VMware (especially since vmware-workstation blocks vmware-player in portage, and vice versa).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GetCool wrote:
linuxinit wrote:
Why download the latest archived version of the vmware tools? You don't have to register either. Just look at the archived URL, and play with the version number, and voila:
http://download3.vmware.com/software/wkst/VMware-workstation-5.5.1-19175.tar.gz


I believe this is mentioned in the link I posted above.

There are more ways to get the vmware workstation package. Nobody said you HAVE to register.
GetCool wrote:

Quote:
And by the way... You can use the trial version of workstation to create you image/install your os, or whatever as well... When the trial expires just use vmplayer. ;)


Why do that when you can just create the vmdk file easily with qemu? It's easier than bothering with multiple versions of VMware (especially since vmware-workstation blocks vmware-player in portage, and vice versa).

Yes, I have the same opinion as GetCool. And also qemu is max 2mb in download, vmware-workstation is a 98mb download. :roll:
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxinit
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Location: Bumkcuf, Egypt

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GetCool wrote:
linuxinit wrote:
Why download the latest archived version of the vmware tools? You don't have to register either. Just look at the archived URL, and play with the version number, and voila:
http://download3.vmware.com/software/wkst/VMware-workstation-5.5.1-19175.tar.gz


I believe this is mentioned in the link I posted above.


It mentions to get the archive... Not the current version. You can download the archive version without registering. You supposedly have to register to get the current version. Just play with the filename and version and you don't have to register. That's not anywhere in the link you posted. Chill.

Quote:
1. Download the latest "Archived Version" of VMware Workstation in ".tar.gz" format at http://www.vmware.com/download/ws/. You do not need to be registered nor have a VMware Workstation license key to download this version.


I already have vmware installed on another box. So its easiest to just vnc over and make a virtual machine and then copy it over. Or you can use one of 100s of premade ones. :)

Qemu has limitations as well... But if that's all you have, or don't need any other features... That's fine.

And BTW I have sound working with Windows 2000 Pro in vmplayer:
Code:
sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.virtualDev = "es1371"
sound.fileName = "-1"
sound.autodetect = "TRUE"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aries-Belgium
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2005
Posts: 730
Location: Willebroek, Belgium

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxinit wrote:

Qemu has limitations as well... But if that's all you have, or don't need any other features... That's fine.

The only thing you need to do with qemu (qemu-img to be exact) is creating an image. Otherwise it is useless indeed.
I know you can create images with vmware-workstation, but why should you use vmplayer if you have vmware-workstation. This whole howto was to offer a free and easy alternative to vmware-workstation. Of course what you do on your computer is your own choose! :D
linuxinit wrote:

And BTW I have sound working with Windows 2000 Pro in vmplayer:
Code:
sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.virtualDev = "es1371"
sound.fileName = "-1"
sound.autodetect = "TRUE"

Yes, sound works, but also simultaneous? Like you can play music on your host and have sound in win2k?
_________________
Ep2.nl | Developers Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyb0rg51
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 9:00 pm    Post subject: Vmware Network is screwed up Reply with quote

First off I want to thank you for the tutorial.. I used it and installed a copy of windows xp pro..
Everything seems to be working except one thing.. Windows can't detect my network drivers.

I installed vmware-tools on the guest OS but still my network can't find the right drivers..
This is driving me crazy. The vmware-tools find a lot of hardware for windows xp but not my network drivers..

I have network enabled bridged off my eth0, all the services running.. However the vmware windows detects that there is a network device but can't find any drivers to install it with. So for now I am without a network connection

just wondering if anyone knows how to fix this?!?!

thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linuxinit wrote:
GetCool wrote:
I believe this is mentioned in the link I posted above.


It mentions to get the archive... Not the current version. You can download the archive version without registering. You supposedly have to register to get the current version. Just play with the filename and version and you don't have to register. That's not anywhere in the link you posted. Chill.


I apologize for so harshly attacking you :roll:

In any case, the whole point of downloading any version of VMware Workstation is to extract the VMware Tools ISO file, which is almost certainly the same between build 18463 and build 19175 (since the only documented change between builds is a security fix in NAT networking).

Before you go thinking I am posting this just to attack you, let me say that I am merely trying to show that people need not worry about which version they obtain (for the purposes of this guide). If they want to actually use VMware Workstation, then yes, the security fix warrants obtaining the latest version.

On another note, those pre-made images you posted a link to are indeed useful (there's a ton of good stuff on there), but unfortunately, anyone who wants to install a Windows guest OS is obviously out of luck.


Last edited by GetCool on Wed May 24, 2006 11:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GetCool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 324
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 11:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Vmware Network is screwed up Reply with quote

cyb0rg51 wrote:
Windows can't detect my network drivers.


Well, Windows XP really should detect the network adapter even before you install VMware Tools.

Can you post your VMX file? Maybe your problem lies in there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxinit
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Location: Bumkcuf, Egypt

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:) No hard feelings. Everyone has their days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum