Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Hang on "Running dhcpcd..."
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
winterheart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Hang on "Running dhcpcd..." Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm quite new to gentoo and have a problem:
My box hangs after "Running dhcpcd..." when booting.
I have a Realtek 8139 ethernet card which is directly connected to my ADSL-modem. There is no router etc. in between and I have a 2.6.17-r4 kernel.
When I boot it in VMWare, it works because it uses NAT in this case.
I really don't know what to do now and therefor ask you for help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the outout of
Code:
emerge baselayout dhcpcd -pv


If you don't have dhcpcd installed, you need to emerge a dhcp client. (like dhcpcd)
Since the DHCP init.d script isn't backgrounded, I guessing that you might have an older baselayout installed also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
winterheart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
emerge baselayout dhcpcd -pv
gives me
Code:
[ebuild     U ] app-shells/bash-3.1_p16 [3.0-r12] -afs -bashlogger -build +nls 2,514 kB
[ebuild     U ] sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.4-r2 [1.11.14-r3] -bootstrap -build -static -unicode 211 kB
[ebuild     U ] net-misc/dhcpcd-2.0.5 [2.0.0] -build -debug -static 121 kB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this a fresh/new install or you haven't updated in a while?

I would think of updating your system to start. (If you don't want to update, try adding coldplug to the boot runlevel:
Code:
rc-update add coldplug boot

Could be the kernel module for your network card isn't loaded yet. If you update your system first, this should be fixed.
You could also add the network card kernel module name to /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6
(r8139 I think is the name of yours)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
winterheart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updating several packages and adding 8139too and 8139cp to autoload has worked.
I did a etc-update as suggested by emerge but now I get several errors while booting (although it boots) and I can't shutdown propperly
How can I fix that? Seems like it has overwritten quite a few config files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't really say without seeing he specific errors.
Do you remember what /etc/ files where changed by etc-update?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6352
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try dhcpcd-2.0.8-r3 as that has arp flood fix which sounds like your problem.

You may also need this option

dhcpcd_eth0="-a"
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pluvius
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 167
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All,

I'm having the same problems after the update of baselayout to 1.12.4-r2. This is an existing installation. It's been up and running for a number of years. eth1 is the correct network interface card to use (on-board RealTek 8139) for network interface, but start-up will only look at eth0. And, of course, it fails DCHP by timing out looking for a DCHP server. What is going wrong?

I tried to follow some of the other threads here, but it still won't work. I even tried to add the udev rules stated in another thread. It still will not bring up my internet network connection. Can somebody point me in the right direction? How do I get Gentoo to use eth1 for network connection?

Regards,

Pluvius
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phw1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got this error when booting, too
I installed dhcpcd 2.0.8-r3 and baselayout 1.12.1, kernel 2.6.17 with the modules for my network card compiled in it.
Uberlord, can you please explain where i got to insert
Quote:
dhcpcd_eth0="-a"
what might solve that problem?
thanks, phw1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headrush
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Nov 2003
Posts: 5597
Location: Bizarro World

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phw1 wrote:
I got this error when booting, too
I installed dhcpcd 2.0.8-r3 and baselayout 1.12.1, kernel 2.6.17 with the modules for my network card compiled in it.
Uberlord, can you please explain where i got to insert
Quote:
dhcpcd_eth0="-a"
what might solve that problem?
thanks, phw1

I'm not Uberlord, but it goes in /etc/conf.d/net. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phw1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Aug 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, Headrush
I inserted dhcpcd_eth1="-a" into /etc/conf.d/net
but eth1 still doesn't get an IP... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pluvius
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2002
Posts: 167
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All,

I solved my problem by switching the ethernet cable from eth1 to eth0, so I now have network/internet capability. However, I would like to understand what happened during the latest baselayout update that caused these network problems. I did run etc-update after the upgrade. The only file I merged interactively was the /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6. It was trying to remove some of my modules, but I accepted any additins to the file.

It appears that on start-up, the system ignores any network card other than eth0. Both my eth0 and eth1 cards are identified and drivers loaded, but the system only activates eth0. Even when the start-up shows that there is no connection on eth0 and there is a connection on eth1, the system activates only eth0. Why is that? It's beginning to sound like a bug.

Pluvius
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum