Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 3]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Metroidfan_Prime
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Grub loading, please wait...
Error 2

That's what I got when I tried to boot my new Gentoo machine.
I was getting an error while installing, but Grub reported no install errors. :?
Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazystick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having a problem displaying the grub splash screen. All I get is a bunch of coloured blocks all over the place. I checked the image and its there. I can open it with an image viewer, and grub loads fine with the text meny if I comment out the splashimage line.

I'm on the latest grub:

* sys-boot/grub
Latest version available: 0.97
Latest version installed: 0.97
Size of downloaded files: 1,027 kB
Homepage: http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/
Description: GNU GRUB boot loader
License: GPL-2

Any suggetions? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Altura
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:31 pm    Post subject: Cant boot into anything Reply with quote

Ok, I am having a bit of trouble booting into both gentoo and windows. grub seems to be installed fine though. when booting into gentoo, gentoo will start loading but will hang up with this error:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda4" or unknown block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernal panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block(0,0)

And WindowsXP just returns a "cannot find ntldr" error.

I am using a PATA harddrive as hda with a Fat32 partition on partition 1, and windows on partition 2. Then, I have a SATA hdd as sda with a ntfs partition on partition 1, "/boot" on partition 2, "swap" on partition 3, and "/" on partition 4.

my fstab:
Code:

/dev/sda2       /boot        ext2        defaults,noatime     1  2
/dev/sda4       /              ext3         noatime                0  1
/dev/sda3       none        swap        sw                         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom     auto       noauto    0  0
none             /proc           proc       defaults         0  0
none           /dev/shm         tmpfs    nodev,nosuid,noexec   0  0


my grub.conf
Code:

default 0
timeout 15
splashimage=(hd1,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd1,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda4 vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap

title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1


any help is appreciated :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazystick wrote:
I'm having a problem displaying the grub splash screen. All I get is a bunch of coloured blocks all over the place. I checked the image and its there. I can open it with an image viewer, and grub loads fine with the text meny if I comment out the splashimage line.

I'm on the latest grub:
...
Any suggetions? Thanks.


Hi.

Have you tried reinstalling GRUB to your MBR or boot partition? Have you tried using another splash image?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Metroidfan_Prime wrote:
Code:
Grub loading, please wait...
Error 2

That's what I got when I tried to boot my new Gentoo machine.
I was getting an error while installing, but Grub reported no install errors. :?
Any suggestions?


Hi.

How did you install GRUB into the MBR? Please post the contents of grub.conf.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Cant boot into anything Reply with quote

Altura wrote:
Ok, I am having a bit of trouble booting into both gentoo and windows. grub seems to be installed fine though. when booting into gentoo, gentoo will start loading but will hang up with this error:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda4" or unknown block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernal panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block(0,0)

And WindowsXP just returns a "cannot find ntldr" error.

I am using a PATA harddrive as hda with a Fat32 partition on partition 1, and windows on partition 2. Then, I have a SATA hdd as sda with a ntfs partition on partition 1, "/boot" on partition 2, "swap" on partition 3, and "/" on partition 4.

my fstab:
Code:

/dev/sda2       /boot        ext2        defaults,noatime     1  2
/dev/sda4       /              ext3         noatime                0  1
/dev/sda3       none        swap        sw                         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom     auto       noauto    0  0
none             /proc           proc       defaults         0  0
none           /dev/shm         tmpfs    nodev,nosuid,noexec   0  0


my grub.conf
Code:

default 0
timeout 15
splashimage=(hd1,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd1,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda4 vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap

title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1


any help is appreciated :D


Hi.

The following message leads me to believe that you forgot to compile in the kernel <*> and not as a module <M> the driver for your SATA controller.
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda4" or unknown block(0,0)

From your Gentoo entry in grub.conf, I believe that your Windows entry should look like this
Code:
title=Windows XP
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazystick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
crazystick wrote:
I'm having a problem displaying the grub splash screen. All I get is a bunch of coloured blocks all over the place. I checked the image and its there. I can open it with an image viewer, and grub loads fine with the text meny if I comment out the splashimage line.

I'm on the latest grub:
...
Any suggetions? Thanks.


Hi.

Have you tried reinstalling GRUB to your MBR or boot partition? Have you tried using another splash image?


Yes I have tried both other images, and reinstalling GRUB. Here's the details to make sure I'm doing nothing wrong.

grub.conf:
# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30

# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0

# Fallback to the second entry.
fallback 1

splashimage hd(0,0)/grub/gentleblue.xpm.gz

# Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r6 + realtime
title Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r6 realtime
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6.1 root=/dev/sda3 #video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85

# For booting GNU/Linux
title Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r6
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda3 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap
#initrd /initrd.img


grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit

where (hd0,0) is /dev/sda mounted eventually at /boot

paul@blackbox / $ ls /boot/grub
default fat_stage1_5 grub.conf jfs_stage1_5 reiserfs_stage1_5 stage2 ufs2_stage1_5
device.map ffs_stage1_5 grub.conf.sample menu.lst splash.xpm.gz stage2.old vstafs_stage1_5
e2fs_stage1_5 gentleblue.xpm.gz iso9660_stage1_5 minix_stage1_5 stage1 stage2_eltorito xfs_stage1_5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crazystick wrote:
jmbsvicetto wrote:
crazystick wrote:
I'm having a problem displaying the grub splash screen. All I get is a bunch of coloured blocks all over the place. I checked the image and its there. I can open it with an image viewer, and grub loads fine with the text meny if I comment out the splashimage line.

I'm on the latest grub:
...
Any suggetions? Thanks.


Hi.

Have you tried reinstalling GRUB to your MBR or boot partition? Have you tried using another splash image?


Yes I have tried both other images, and reinstalling GRUB. Here's the details to make sure I'm doing nothing wrong.

Code:
grub.conf:
timeout 30
default 0
fallback 1

splashimage hd(0,0)/grub/gentleblue.xpm.gz   <<<<<<<------------------------

# Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r6 + realtime
title  Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r6 realtime
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6.1 root=/dev/sda3 #video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85

...


Hi.

This one took some time to catch, but have you tried replacing
Quote:
splashimage hd(0,0)/grub/gentleblue.xpm.gz

with the following?
Quote:
splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/gentleblue.xpm.gz

By the way, your comment in the following line isn't a typo, right? If that is a typo, you're not passing the kernel the values for the framebuffer.
Code:
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6.1 root=/dev/sda3 #video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Altura
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Hi.

The following message leads me to believe that you forgot to compile in the kernel <*> and not as a module <M> the driver for your SATA controller.
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda4" or unknown block(0,0)

From your Gentoo entry in grub.conf, I believe that your Windows entry should look like this
Code:
title=Windows XP
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1


well, i have sata support in the kernel now but i still get the same error ... :cry:
and windows doesnt give me an error now but just stays on the grub booting screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Altura wrote:
Quote:

Hi.

The following message leads me to believe that you forgot to compile in the kernel <*> and not as a module <M> the driver for your SATA controller.
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "sda4" or unknown block(0,0)

From your Gentoo entry in grub.conf, I believe that your Windows entry should look like this
Code:
title=Windows XP
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
makeactive
chainloader +1


well, i have sata support in the kernel now but i still get the same error ... :cry:
and windows doesnt give me an error now but just stays on the grub booting screen


Please post the contents of /boot/grub/device.map and the output of fdisk -l.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrAwesomePhD
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Oct 2005
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, when i boot linux, i want the server to boot right into the OS.. instead, everytime i boot, it makes me type "kernel /boot/kernel-gen(then i press tab to auto-fill)" then press enter, then type boot and press enter.. its really troublesome beacuse i want to SSH in and dont want to have a keyboard/monitor hooked up to this computer at all.... is there anywayt o change this so it automatically just starts the OS and knows where the kernel is and automatically boots? (sorry if its a REALLY noob question >.< my first time using linux >.<)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DrAwesomePhD wrote:
Well, when i boot linux, i want the server to boot right into the OS.. instead, everytime i boot, it makes me type "kernel /boot/kernel-gen(then i press tab to auto-fill)" then press enter, then type boot and press enter.. its really troublesome beacuse i want to SSH in and dont want to have a keyboard/monitor hooked up to this computer at all.... is there anywayt o change this so it automatically just starts the OS and knows where the kernel is and automatically boots? (sorry if its a REALLY noob question >.< my first time using linux >.<)


Hi.

Make sure that your /boot/grub/grub.conf file is correct. Also make sure that you have a symlink from /boot/grub/menu.lst to /boot/grub/grub.conf.
Code:
atl64 atlantis # ls -l /boot/grub/menu.lst
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 9 2005-04-24 23:14 /boot/grub/menu.lst -> grub.conf
atl64 atlantis # 

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crazystick
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Oct 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

This one took some time to catch, but have you tried replacing
Quote:
splashimage hd(0,0)/grub/gentleblue.xpm.gz

with the following?
Quote:
splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/gentleblue.xpm.gz

By the way, your comment in the following line isn't a typo, right? If that is a typo, you're not passing the kernel the values for the framebuffer.
Code:
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6.1 root=/dev/sda3 #video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85


That's the one! Thanks very much. Can't say I really understand GRUB's theory on bracket placement! Cheers. (and no, the comment is deliberate).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aaronamd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:23 pm    Post subject: grub problems... Reply with quote

well I know for a fact that I have my sata drivers in the kernel and that my fstab is correct, so what could be causing this error?


Code:

VFS: Cannot open root device "sda3" or unknown-block(8,3)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,3)


whats going on here?

EDIT: got it lol dang scsi cards were having conflicts...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
random guy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i am a noob, just wanted to get that out there first.

alright so i have a dual boot box of windows and gentoo (fresh install after deleteing my mandriva installation).

now i partitioned my drives with norton patition magic because fdisk was annoying me a lot, so i got this for my partitions:

first dell utility (my computer is a dell) aka hda1 aka (hd0,0)
then c: drive (with windows xp) aka hda2 aka (hd0,1)
then and extended partition, aka hda4 aka (hd0,3)
-with a logical partition inside it with gentoo linux installed aka hda5 aka (hd0,4)

i dont think there is a forth partition aka hda3. but i am starting to get confused because it is after midnight and i have been working on gentoo for like 4.5 hours today.

now when i load my computer grub tells me that it cant find the partition for gentoo but it can find the one for windows. so i end up falling back to windows...

in the config file should it be (hd0,3) for the extended partition or (hd0,4) for the logical one that the root partition is located in?

what is wrong? any suggestions? should i use lilo instead?

by the way i am not able to get into my gentoo installation because i cant use the bootloader. also i dont know hwo to get back into my system from the live cd without reinstalling everything. how do i do that?

k now i am going to sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fredu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2003
Posts: 62
Location: Turku, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 9:24 am    Post subject: GRUB with Software RAID 1 problems Reply with quote

I'm getting the error
Code:
  Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
 Checking if "/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists... yes
 Running "embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0)"...  16 sectors are embedded.
succeeded
 Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+16 p (hd0,0)/boot/grub/stage2
/boot/grub/menu.lst"... failed

Error 31: File is not sector aligned

when trying to get my software RAID harddisks to work as mentioned in the gentoo wiki http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Gentoo_Install_on_Software_RAID

My partitions are as follows:
Code:
hdb1 = boot (ext2fs)
hdb2 = swap (swap)
hdb3 = root (reiserfs)
hde1= boot (ext2fs)
hde2 = swap (swap)
hde3 = root (reiserfs)
md0 = hdb1 & hde1 raid1
md2 = hdb3 & hde3 raid1
the swap partitions are not raided

The first step:
Code:

grub>device (hd0) /dev/hdb
grub>root (hd0,0)       
grub>setup (hd0)

went successfully, but when I did the second step:
Code:

grub>device (hd0) /dev/hde
grub>root (hd0,0)       
grub>setup (hd0)
I got the error message above.

Any help or pointers in the right direction are warmly welcomed!
_________________
I saw this tag first!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Machtnix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 11:34 am    Post subject: Gentoo 64-Bit: Unable to boot system on /dev/hda16 with grub Reply with quote

Hello,

I successfully installed gentoo 64-bit on partition /dev/hda16.

Then I emerged grub and installed grub into the MBR.

My grub.conf / menu.lst looks like (sorry, I am just sitting on another PC):
----------------------
default 0
timeout 5
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo 64
root (hd0,15)
kernel /kernel-<my_64-bit_kernel> root=/dev/hda16 ro vga=794
-------------------------------

Then I tried to boot, but grub hangs after displaying "root (hd0,15)". No error message, no boot.

It seems that the 64-bit-grub cannot boot /dev/hda15 or above as I encounter the same problem trying to boot another distro from /dev/hda15. Booting /dev/hda14 works.

Is there a limitation for partition numbers for the 64-bit-grub? If yes, is there a chance to boot my freshly installed gentoo from /dev/hda16 - or what else can I do except moving the installed system to another partition?

Thanks for assistance,
Dieter
_________________
Wissen ist Macht. Ich weiß nix. Macht nix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 4:56 am    Post subject: Re: GRUB with Software RAID 1 problems Reply with quote

fredu wrote:
...
The first step:
Code:

grub>device (hd0) /dev/hdb
grub>root (hd0,0)       
grub>setup (hd0)

went successfully, but when I did the second step:
Code:

grub>device (hd0) /dev/hde
grub>root (hd0,0)       
grub>setup (hd0)
I got the error message above.

Any help or pointers in the right direction are warmly welcomed!


Hi.

Have you tried installing GRUB with the following?
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> exit
#

Did you bind /dev to your new system before chrooting?
Code:
# mount --bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
# chroot ...

What does GRUB call /dev/hde?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ukasz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I want to boot gentoo I get:
Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "hda1" or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel Panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)


my grub.conf file is:
Code:
default 0
timeout 5

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda1

title=Arch Linux
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda7

and yes, Arch boots normally.

fdisk -l returns:
Code:
Disk /dev/hda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1         852     6843658+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2             853       14593   110374582+   5  Extended
/dev/hda5             853         937      682731   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda6             938       13824   103514796   83  Linux
/dev/hda7           13825       14593     6176961   83  Linux


I have installed grub using:
Code:

grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)

there were no errors

Could anyone please help me with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thechris
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Oct 2003
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub error 17. does not get to the menu.

just switched motherboards and hda is now hdc. fixed this in grub.conf and reinstalled grub on the MBR.

what gives? also, when will there be a "boot of THIS drive option?"
_________________
HW problems. It's a VIA thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikeyd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:24 am    Post subject: Error 16 : Inconsistent filesystem structure Reply with quote

After much tearing-hair-out I discovered that this error (Error 16 : Inconsistent filesystem structure) was caused by trying to load an initrd that didn't fit below the memory hole; disabling memory hole in the bios got everything working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donvella
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 1:57 pm    Post subject: Wits End Reply with quote

I cant figure this out ive read through all the grub problems, can i please have a helping hand.

Code:
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1        1275    10241406    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2            1276        9728    67898722+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5            1276        7757    52066633+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda6            7758        7770      104391   83  Linux
/dev/hda7            7771        7835      522081   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda8            7836        8879     8385898+  83  Linux
/dev/hda9            8880        9728     6819561   83  Linux


Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 10
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you dont have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd0,7)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-rc6
root (hd0,7)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-rc6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda6 udev
initrd /initrd-2.6.12-gentoo-rc6


Hda6 - /boot
Hda8 - /
Hda9 - /home

I get no screen for grub until i arrow down and select gentoo and press enter, then it comes up with a very fuzzy screen with errors, either 17 or 22 depending on which (hd0,7) i choose, i have tried 6,7,8,9,10 and they didnt work. for my splash screen i have tried video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-32@85, i have tried vga=0x318 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap, im running out of ideas. I can boot into windows by pressenting enter when the blank screen appears, but i cannot get into gentoo. Can someone please help.

Cheers
_________________
-= the world is a reflection of yourself =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Wits End Reply with quote

donvella wrote:
I cant figure this out ive read through all the grub problems, can i please have a helping hand.

Code:
   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
...
/dev/hda6            7758        7770      104391   83  Linux
/dev/hda7            7771        7835      522081   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda8            7836        8879     8385898+  83  Linux
/dev/hda9            8880        9728     6819561   83  Linux


Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
splashimage=(hd0,7)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-rc6
root (hd0,7)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-rc6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda6 udev
initrd /initrd-2.6.12-gentoo-rc6


Hda6 - /boot
Hda8 - /
Hda9 - /home


Hi.

You're confusing / with /boot. Your grub.conf file should look like this:
Code:
splashimage=(hd0,5)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-rc6
root (hd0,5)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-rc6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda8 udev
initrd /initrd-2.6.12-gentoo-rc6

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donvella
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your quick reply, my bootscreen appears now although i have my major problem of entering gentoo still.
I get error 15, i followed the directions listed but i receive this error:

Code:
mount /dev/hda6 /boot
cd /boot
ls cd /usr/src/linux
ls: cd: no such file or directory

_________________
-= the world is a reflection of yourself =-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

donvella wrote:

ls cd /usr/src/linux
ls: cd: no such file or directory


I don't know what you're trying to do, but you either want
Code:
# cd /usr/src/linux

or
Code:
# ls /usr/src/linux

I wasn't able to understand what error you got when trying to boot.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 4 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum