Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 3]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dragonzkiller
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
dragonzkiller,

Code:
emerge gentoo-sources

After you are back inside the chroot - do you know how to do that ?


Yes i do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DieselPower
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 216
Location: TN

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HELP!
I recently rebooted my computer (actually it froze on shutdown so I uhm, yeah. You know what I did!) and on restart, grub said "GRUB Hard Disk Error" with a blinking curser. I booted the live cd and reformated my boot partition, reinstalled grub, and copied my kernels and menu.1st back and I still have the same problem. What is going on? I should have known that my boot partition was not the problem, it is always unmounted after boot. If I backup of my whole hard drive and format and restore it fix the problem, or is there an easier way? I am using reiserfs on my root and boot partition. Both can be mounted, read and written to just fine. Someone please help! I'm going nuts about my poor computer!

Lawrence
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

You should start by posting the exact error message. You should also post your grub.conf and the output of fdisk -l.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dustbinned some spam
_________________
KDE 4.14 - Get It While It's Hot!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32439
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DieselPower,

That message
Code:
Hard Disk Error
     The stage2 or stage1.5 is being read from a hard disk, and the
     attempt to determine the size and geometry of the hard disk failed.

Grub shouldn't be doing that anyway.

Go into your BIOS and ensure that your HDD setting is not set to auto detect.
You probably have a user setting that does a detect once and store the settings.
Also ensure that LBA mode is selected.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32439
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DieselPower,

That message
Code:
Hard Disk Error
     The stage2 or stage1.5 is being read from a hard disk, and the
     attempt to determine the size and geometry of the hard disk failed.

Grub shouldn't be doing that anyway.

Go into your BIOS and ensure that your HDD setting is not set to auto detect.
You probably have a user setting that does a detect once and store the settings.
Also ensure that LBA mode is selected.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
romalong
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 488
Location: Kiev

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
romalong,

Thats true. If you don't have an initrd, you need to stop trying to use it on the kernel line.
I posted the changes you need to your kernel line (It must be all one line - my post wrapped).

The
Code:
initdr /...
line loads your initrd file and attaches it to /dev/ram0.
The kernel command
Code:
root=/dev/ram0
askes the kernel to mount your initrd as its root filesystem


ok...
i'll make changes and see what happen then. thanx!
if i do not have initrd, does it mean that my config file hasn't any relation to genkernel setup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

romalong,

to be more exact, if you are using genkernel then you need to have an initrd file. You need to have the initrd file as genkernel will compile many drivers as modules.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
romalong
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 488
Location: Kiev

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
romalong,

to be more exact, if you are using genkernel then you need to have an initrd file. You need to have the initrd file as genkernel will compile many drivers as modules.


i've booted up with new kernel w/o initrd!
as for genkernel - i might used it before and don't know if it has to be reflected on my config...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
romalong
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 488
Location: Kiev

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
romalong,

Thats true. If you don't have an initrd, you need to stop trying to use it on the kernel line.
I posted the changes you need to your kernel line (It must be all one line - my post wrapped).

The
Code:
initdr /...
line loads your initrd file and attaches it to /dev/ram0.
The kernel command
Code:
root=/dev/ram0
askes the kernel to mount your initrd as its root filesystem


thanx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DieselPower
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 216
Location: TN

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
DieselPower,

That message
Code:
Hard Disk Error
     The stage2 or stage1.5 is being read from a hard disk, and the
     attempt to determine the size and geometry of the hard disk failed.

Grub shouldn't be doing that anyway.

Go into your BIOS and ensure that your HDD setting is not set to auto detect.
You probably have a user setting that does a detect once and store the settings.
Also ensure that LBA mode is selected.


It is set to:
( It's a Maxtor 6YL120 drive, TS-AKT4/A mobo)

Manual
gb 122
cyl 14946
head 255
precomp 0
landing zone 58851
sector 63

All settings were autodetected. This computer has booted this same disk for years, I was trying to get direct rendering working with my NVidia card and only did a reboot. so I know I did not change the bios or the boot partition. Really strange, I think the mobo might be having problems, so I gave up and ordered a Mach Speed Viper K8M8MS mobo and a AMD Sempron 2600 proc and a 1 gig stick-o-ram!!!! Now well see how many problems I can have!

Thanks for all your help!

Lawrence

(me feels happy tonight!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32439
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DieselPower,

Quote:
I was trying to get direct rendering working with my NVidia card ...

Don't do that. The nVidia driver has its own version of direct rendering. If you use the nvidia binary driver, you have the nvidia equivelent of direct rendering.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeoQ2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:56 pm    Post subject: >>Determining root device Reply with quote

Hi all

I seem to have found a problem not described in this grub problem section 8O. So here goes nothing.

I get the grub menu, I can chose and start by pressing enter or waiting 30 sec. Gentoo apparantly goes thru the right motions, but then halts and displays the folloving.

>> Determining root device...
The root block device is unspecified or not detected
Please specify a device or "shell" for a shell


I have followed the install instructions to the letter, I think, and used genkernel all. I asume that I have made a simple error, but I haven't a clu to what that error is. I will uppdate this post with the grub.conf info and fdisk info, I have to fire up my livecd first.

Regards to all who help us who don't know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to the forums.

You need to post your grub.conf file so that we can check it. From your description, I'm assuming that you forgot to include the root or real_root directive to the kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fated.Design
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

now after i went through the whole guide, i got all the way to the end of it before i had a problem. I get that the kernel wasnt found.

this is what the error states:

Code:
Booting "Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6"

root (hd0,0)
 Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hbd3 udev

Error 15: File not found

Press any key to continue...


Any Suggestions?

mod edit: Moved this and the next post from Get help on partitioning here [Part 2] --Earthwings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XenoTerraCide
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 1418
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you mean hdb3 not hbd3? if that's what you have then my guess is that's your prob.
_________________
I don't hang out here anymore, try asking on http://unix.stackexchange.com/ if you want my help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pv
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 103
Location: Russia, Yaroslavl

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all!

I have a problem installing WinXP to an EXTENDED partition (for example /dev/hda10). WinXP don't want to be installed there itself.

GRUB seems to be able to help it to. Can somebody (for example, Anon5710 who has XP installed on /dev/hda6) help me, please?

I was going to chainload to CD in a way like
Code:
rootnoverify (cd)
chainload +1

but this doesn't work.

Please, help me!

P.S. I have grub-0.96-r2.
_________________
Nothing but perfection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:59 pm    Post subject: Boot hangs at GRUB after installing SATA-disk [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi.

I'm trying to add a SATA-disk to my system but I haven't had much success. I feel like I've tried everything, so I'm coming here for help.

The SATA-disk is connected to a PCI-controller (sil3112) and the IDE-disk uses the on-board controller.

Everything works fine when the SATA-disk is not connected, but when I connect the SATA-disk, the system hangs at "GRUB". No error code or prompt or anything. Just GRUB. I can however boot using the LiveCD, even if the new disk is connected. The disk even shows up on fdisk -l.

I have tried installing GRUB from both the system without the disk, and chrooted from the LiveCD. This happens with grub-install as well as grub.

My hd-setup is from the guide:
Code:
/dev/hda1   /boot
/dev/hda2   swap
/dev/hda3   /


grub.conf:
Code:
default 0
timeout 15

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-gentoo-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel /linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3


device.map
Code:
(hd0)   /dev/hda
(hd1)   /dev/sda


Output from fdisk -l (this is from the LiveCD, so the SATA-disk is also there):
Code:
Disk /dev/hda: 10.2 GB, 10242892800 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19846 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1          63       31720+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2              64        1056      500472   83  Linux
/dev/hda3            1057       19846     9470160   83  Linux

Disk /dev/sda: 300.0 GB, 300069052416 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 36481 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1       36481   293033601   8e  Linux LVM


All suggestions are welcome. Please let me know if I can provide more information.

Thanks.

---

The SATA-disk was part of an LVM-setup. When I connected the other disks of the LVM, everything worked. It seems that GRUB doesn't like seeing only a part of an LVM.


Last edited by dhk on Mon Jan 16, 2006 5:22 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yeboy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub works, but it takes an EXTREMELY long time to load. A good 60 second or more till the "GRUB Loading stage1.5." and another "GRUB loading, please wait..." Once it finally does load, it works fine. Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be? Having to wait so long to even START booting gets old real fast. :0/

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeoQ2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: Re: >>Determining root device Reply with quote

LeoQ2 wrote:
Hi all

I seem to have found a problem not described in this grub problem section 8O. So here goes nothing.

I get the grub menu, I can chose and start by pressing enter or waiting 30 sec. Gentoo apparantly goes thru the right motions, but then halts and displays the folloving.

>> Determining root device...
The root block device is unspecified or not detected
Please specify a device or "shell" for a shell


I have followed the install instructions to the letter, I think, and used genkernel all. I asume that I have made a simple error, but I haven't a clu to what that error is. I will uppdate this post with the grub.conf info and fdisk info, I have to fire up my livecd first.

Regards to all who help us who don't know.


Thank you...

Here's my grub.conf
default 0
timeout 30
#splashimage=(hd0,0) /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r10
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192
initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10

Hope it helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32439
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LeoQ2,

This line
Code:
kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192
is missing the real_root=/dev/<your_root_device> entry.
It must be on one very long line.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is my grub.conf file:
Code:
default 0
timeout 10

splashimage=(hd0,4)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo
root (hd0,4)
kernel /kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda7

title=Win
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


hda1 - win
hda5 - boot partition
hda6 - swap
hda7 - root

When I try to boot gentoo Error 13 appears "Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executable format." I tried everything I could think, but with no result. If you have any ideas I'll be glad to hear them :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32439
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syth,

Your file /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 is probably not a kerenl
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syth
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
syth,

Your file /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5 is probably not a kerenl

If it is not a kernel what it is? And how can I fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32439
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syth,

I don't know what it is. Post the output of
Code:
ls -l /boot
and I'll guess.

Mount your filesystems and copy the file again. No need to chroot.
Code:
cp /mnt/gentoo/usr/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /mnt/gentoo/boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r5

Change the i386 to x86_64 if you have a 64 bit install.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 9 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum