Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 3]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Nimlot.

How did you copy your kernel to /boot? Did you copy the bzImage file or did you copy other file? Please post the contents of your /boot dir. Do ls -l /boot if you chroot or ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot outside the chroot.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimlot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I copied the bzImage like so:
Code:
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10

ls -l /boot yields:
Code:
total 29
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1 Nov 26 13:52 boot -> .
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 576 Nov 26 20:36 grub
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 27302 Nov 26 19:41 kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you clearly have a problem with your kernel file. No regular 2.6 kernel is only 26Kb!!! As a comparison my hefty 2.6.12 for my AMD64 is 2.5MB+. You should confirm that you hadn't a problem copying the file or that make completed sucessfully the compilation of your kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nimlot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, something must have gone wrong the first time I compiled. Recompiled and works fine now. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nihil39
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 86
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
nihil39,

you can check if everything is ok with your NTFS partition by mounting it under Gentoo. If you can see the contents of your partition, you didn't overwrite it. After booting and logging in as root do the following
Code:
# mkdir /mnt/windows
# mount -t ntfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows
# ls -l /mnt/windows


Thanks. I did and it seems that all the files are in the right place.

What can I do to solve the problem (or at least to find what causes it)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nihil39,
have you tried reinstalling GRUB into the MBR? In your case, you would need to do
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd0,1)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> exit
#

Do you still get the same error when trying to boot Windows?
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nihil39
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 86
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
nihil39,
have you tried reinstalling GRUB into the MBR? In your case, you would need to do
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd0,1)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> exit
#

Do you still get the same error when trying to boot Windows?


I typed the first two lines after opening grub but when I typed "exit" grub says "Error 27: Unrecognized command". I pressed ctrl + c and rebooted but it shows the same error when I try to start winXP.

This problem is driving me mad (and, in addiction, my usb mouse doesn't work :D ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, my misteak! :oops: It's quit, instead of exit.
I still can't imagine what is causing your error. Can you copy & paste your grub.conf file? It seems ok, but just to be sure.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sniggit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 187
Location: n00bcity

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right.

Been looking through this tread and cant seem to find an answer to my troubles.
My HD partition scheme is as follows:

Code:
/dev/sda1 = win
/dev/sda2 = boot
/dev/sda3 = swap
/dev/sda4 = root


Pretty much use the standard Grub config provided by the handbook:

Code:
default 0
timeout 10

title=gentoo
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.14-gentoo-r2 root=/dev/sda4

title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


The windows boot part works fine, but when i boot up gentoo
the last three lines before it shuts down reads:

Code:
powernow-k8: BIOS error - no PSB or ACPS _PSS objects
Root-NFS: no NFS server available, giving up
VFS: Unable to mount root fs via NFS, trying floppy


what O' what could this mean?
Its a pretty specific error message so i hope someone can pick up on my mistake real easy.
If there is some info im not sharing please let me know.
_________________
Let the money shine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nihil39
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 86
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
Sorry, my misteak! :oops: It's quit, instead of exit.
I still can't imagine what is causing your error. Can you copy & paste your grub.conf file? It seems ok, but just to be sure.


I can't copy and paste my grub.conf file here (I don't know how to do. I'm using another PC), but I checked it and it's identical with the one I posted before.

Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage = (hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.14-r2
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.14-r2 root=/dev/hda4 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,1024x768-16@60

title = windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sniggit,

there was a post in the last 48 hours in this forum with the same question. Basically, you've enabled support to boot from NFS and have to disable it. You can check that in http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2913755.html#2913755
I've also seen that you've started a new thread in http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-407557-highlight-nfs+boot.html . Never double-post.
I'm going to ask the moderators to merge the threads.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sniggit
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 187
Location: n00bcity

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks, must have missed that one.

Sry bout the double post.... wont happen again
_________________
Let the money shine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BiPolar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2005
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:36 pm    Post subject: Grub.conf question Reply with quote

SOrry for the noob question, but I'm not sure what HD values to put in the following code.


hda1 is my windows drive (with MBR)
hda6 is my boot
hda7 is swap
hda8 is root

I'm assuming the hd0,0 do not apply to my configuration, but i'm not sure how to do it correctly.

Code:
# Grub boot menu configuration file
#
# Boot automatically after 30 secs.
timeout 30

# By default, boot the second entry.
default 1

# Fallback to the first entry.
fallback 0

# Use default Grub Splash image
# splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
#
# Use custom (downloaded) Gentoo Splash Image
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/gentoo.xpm.gz

# Boot Gentoo Linux (no framebuffer)
title Gentoo-2.6.11-r5
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz ro root=/dev/hda3 video=vesafb:ywrap,pmipal,1024x768-16@85


# For installing GRUB into the hard disk
title Install GRUB into the hard disk
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi BiPolar!

You should use the following ocnfig
Code:
timeout 30
default 1
fallback 0

splashimage=(hd0,5)/grub/gentoo.xpm.gz

# Boot Gentoo Linux (no framebuffer)
title Gentoo-2.6.11-r5
root (hd0,5)
kernel vmlinuz ro root=/dev/hda8 video=vesafb:ywrap,pmipal,1024x768-16@85

By the way, you're missing an initrd if you want to have a splash screen during the boot.
To install GRUB do the following
Code:
# grub
grub> root (hd0,5)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> quit
#

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentleman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 140
Location: Germany, Paderborn

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:57 am    Post subject: e.g. if you installed from knoppix Reply with quote

Quote:

grub > root (hd0, 0)
Error 21: Selected disk does not exist


I installed gentoo from Knoppix and had this problem only in the knoppix-root. So try to chroot to the gentoo-mnt point and retry. After I did so, grub immediately detected the devices correctly. In fact, after I left the gentoo-root I tried it in the knoppix root, too. I don't know why, but after that it worked in knoppix as well as in gentoo though it hadn't before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pavel.stratil
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Oct 2005
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, could someone have a look at http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-408692.html? i started it before i found this topic... the problem is still unsolved
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Molum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Install Gentoo and keep getting GRUB GRUB after reboot Reply with quote

Well I have try to install a lot of times and always failed and give up. This Friday, I said to myself to give it another go. From Friday to yesterday, I have installed and re-installed probably more then 10 times from different errors to network problems. When it did installed, I get the stupid GRUB GRUB GRUB all over the screen after reboot. So I said to myself, probably I did something wrong and re-install it again and same thing happens. Until 2:00am this morning, I start looking for answers. I finally figure it out. Because I had install GRUB previously, and have to remove it first. So I use LILO to wipeout Grub. Load and behold after it reboot and now it displays only LILO all over.... :(
After further investigation, i realize that the BIOS is set to Auto to detech Harddrives which is a no no. After changing it to User Type, everything works. Now I have to install xdm, gnome, kde.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32166
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2005 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Molum,

Reinsalling is a bad habit users aquire from another operating system.
You can use your liveCD to recover a gentoo sstem that won't boot by doing the following.

1. Mount your partitions as per the handbook, including proc and swap (swapon)
Do not use fdisk or mksf because you partitions and filesystems are OK

2. Run chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
and the following two commands from the handbook.

Your system is now back exactly as it was before you rebooted and it didn't work.
You can fix it from here ... and try again.
No reinstall required.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
was auch immer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey guys,
i dont know if this is a problem with grub, but it has to do with it :P
ok first:
i have two hdds:
1) hda, on which linux is installed
2) hdd, on which winxp is installed
well ... after a successful compilation of a new kernel, i copied it into my boot partition and then rebootet. but instead of entering the grub menu i only got an error that i should insert a boot disk ... after a few reboots it still didnt vanish, and i eventually came to realize that both my mbrs were corrupted ... so i put in my winxp cd and easily repaired the mbr of my windows hd. but unfortunately i have no bootable linux medium :O ( and no, there is no chance of burning a bootable linux cd, i tried it like 100 times, but my system never boots a cd i burn ). now im here on my windows box trying to repair my hda's mbr.
first i had a look at my mbr. i used a program ( mbrwiz ) to read the partition table of hda. it seems to be correct. and the last two bytes are h55aa so this is correct too. that means, something has to be wrong with the first 446 bytes of the mbr. following i copied the mbr to a file and i merged it with /boot/grub/stage1 ( i dont know if this can work at all :P ) ( the first 446 bytes taken by stage1 and the table taken by the original mbr ). then i wrote it into the mbr.
now, every time i try to boot with grub i only get "grub grub grub" and so on ... i have already tried the hint with setting user type hdd in bios but it didnt change anything.
so my questions:
1) can this way actually work ?
2) if yes what did i do wrong ?
3) if no: is there another way i can repair my mbr ? do the first 446 bytes always look the same ? if so can someone give me his/her mbr ? XD

well, i dont know if there is anything else to say. as always, english is my third language, if you dont understand me or if you need additional information just ask me again ;)

was auch immer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32166
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

was auch immer,

Grub MBRs vary from user to user. The MBR has the location of stage1.5 hard coded into it at grub install time. There may be other differenceces too. Its unlikely you can patch up your MBR.

Any linux bootCD will do to rescue your install, such as a magazine covermount, even a boot floppy.
You can use a DOS boot floppy with loadlin and a kernel too.

Its unlikely installing a kernel even a broken one, will make a mess of your MBR.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
was auch immer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i maybe should have mentioned that i have no zip drive ... but anyways, there seems to be no other way then getting me a linux cd. well thanks, hopefully i can get a cd.

was auch immer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moddolicous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont know if someone posted this already, but can someone just show the layout of what a finished grub.conf file looks like?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32166
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moddolicous,

Everyones grub.conf is different. There is a sample in yor install at /boot/grub/grub.conf.sample and the one that goes with the install, as per the guide is at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10
Quote:
Code Listing 3: grub.conf for non-genkernel users
or
Quote:
Code Listing 4: grub.conf for genkernel users

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moddolicous
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2005 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks NeddySeagoon. So what should I type to see the grub.conf.sample? Would I just type grub.conf.sample? If it helps I'm not using genkernal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32166
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

moddolicous,

If you are booting from the liveCD, (I assume you are because you need grub working to boot normally)
You must first mount your partitions as you did at the beginning of the install. Thats the
Code:
swapon
mount proc ....
mount /dev/.....  (your root)
mount /dev/.....  (your boot)

Do not use fdisk or make any filesystems.

You can now see the grub.conf.sample by doing
Code:
less /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf.sample

There is no need to do the chroot steps to fix your grub.conf, you can do
Code:
nano -w /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf


The file grub.conf.sample does not exist until you have emerged grub.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 6 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum