Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Native Airport Extreme Drivers
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm.. rebuild with JoseJX' softmac repo, but when I type
Code:
# iwconfig eth2 channel 11

a running iwevent still gives me:
Code:
# iwevent
Waiting for Wireless Events from interfaces...
12:46:14.934564   eth2     Set Channel=0

and shouldn't iwconfig show the channel?
Code:
 # iwconfig eth2
eth2      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
          Mode:Monitor  Frequency=2.432 GHz  Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=2346 dBm   
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off


maybe it has something to do with the FIXME line in my dmesg:
Code:

 $ dmesg | tail
fill_kobj_path: path = '/devices/pci0001:10/0001:10:12.0'
kobject_hotplug: /sbin/udevsend firmware seq=974 HOME=/ PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin ACTION=remove DEVPATH=/class/firmware/0001:10:12.0 SUBSYSTEM=firmware
bcm43xx: InitVals written
bcm43xx: Radio turned on
bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /home/floh/AEnative/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333
bcm43xx: Chip initialized
bcm43xx: DMA initialized
bcm43xx: 80211 cores initialized
kobject 0001:10:12.0: cleaning up
eth2: no IPv6 routers present

of cause this showed up when the dev was initialized before I tried to change the channel ;)

but iwlist eth2 scanning works
and since switching the mode to Monitor works I think kismet will work too soon ^^
_________________
[/garbage]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simprix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im trying to get this to work, I am using kernel 2.6.15-rc1 but i can't get it to compile i got 2.6.15-r5 ro compile but it won't load the firmware_class modules. Does anyone out there have a 12in powerbook titanium. If so could you post your .config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cenrim:
Kismet actually already works with just a small patch to change the ethernet type. It'll probably make it into the SoftMAC sooner or later. Using tcpdump and ethereal works flawlessly already, which is cool. :) The channel changing is working properly, it's just the information printing part that's messed up. A minor bug considering. ;)

simprix:
Just compile in firmware loading, don't use it as a module. This should pull in all of the required kernel options.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, the printings are really messed up..
iwlist says, my iBook is tranceiving with over 2 Megawatt :roll:

I gotta search a open wireless with a clear signal.. the one next to me is on the same channel as 2 other, the APs not more than 30m from each other...

oh, and
Code:
iwconfig eth2
eth2      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.437 GHz  Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=2346 dBm
RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off

[root|i-do] ~ # iwconfig eth2 channel 1
[root|i-do] ~ # iwconfig eth2
eth2      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=2346 dBm
RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off

the frequency is changing, so it works.

tried the mentioned wireless, but couldn't get a authentification :?
too many stupid people with wireless equibment, all using channel 11
_________________
[/garbage]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darklesi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there, i just can't get it to work!
my iwconfig shows me this:
Code:

eth2      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
          Mode:Managed  Bit Rate:1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=off   
          RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off


and when i do
Code:

ifconfig eth2 up

It gives me this error
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory

And my dmesg shows this:
Code:

bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.


The hotplug firmware loding option and the wireless extentions are compiled in kernel. I think i'm not missing any step, so any help would be apreciated.

Thanks in advance and sorry for my bad english :D
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The microcode isn't available. Please make sure that you've got it in the right place /lib/firmware and that the files are named correctly (this changed yesterday) and that hotplug and firmware loading are both working correctly.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darklesi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok the file is in that directory! so i just assume that my problem is related to the hotplug and firmware loading. Well how can i check if they are working correctly?

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cenrim
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

darlesi:
do you have CONFIG_NET_RADIO=y ?
I had this error too, because I forgot to enable this option... so the kernel knows about ieee 802.11 and stuff but can't talk to the hardware :roll:

btw: it's working!
i'm sittin' in my kitchen chatting and typing this ^^

it's a pity that I can't get an open wireless in my room... 7 nets, but the one that's open belongs to the 5 on the other side of the building :(
_________________
[/garbage]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sceptiq
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can some one please post url to an _clean_ Airport-driver?

so that i can fwcut on it?

this would be real nice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sceptiq:
You *DO NOT* need an airport driver, please nobody post one, I'll have to remove the link. Any version listed in the fwcutter readme will work as long as it contains the firmware files you need. Any recent version (see the version #'s in the list) should have the required firmware. Make sure that you have an updated version of fwcutter since the name of the firmware files changed from yesterday.

Cenrim:
Glad you got it working. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
sceptiq:
You *DO NOT* need an airport driver, please nobody post one, I'll have to remove the link.
I already posted this one http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/airport42formacosx1033.html
It's OK and legal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cocozz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same problem as darklesi :roll:
_________________
Soy tu amigo, amigo .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sceptiq
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which of the files listed in trunk/fwcutter/README do i have to get?
i dont understand it the *.exe is confusing me

maybe my bad englisch is confusing me too...


bz31, i have this file, but i dont know howto extrackt it and locate the file i need
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sceptiq wrote:
bz31, i have this file, but i dont know howto extrackt it and locate the file i need
I downloaded the apple driver under mac os x, then using Pacifist ( http://www.charlessoft.com/ ) to extract the file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Following the directions in the README, I select a file. For example, I'll choose this one because it's a recent release and I can download it direct.
Code:
wget http://openwrt.inf.fh-brs.de/~nbd/wl_apsta.o


I then use fwcutter on it as it says in the howto:
Code:
fwcutter wl_apsta.o


I then install the firmware as is says in the howto:
Code:
make installfw

_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sceptiq
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

THX!!!

eyery thing works fine! but... after loading all the neccesary modules, i cant use "ifconfig" any longer
after typing "ifconfig" i get no prompt back

(using 2.6.15-rc5)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That doesn't make much sense. What does dmesg say? What exactly are you doing?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Following the directions in the README, I select a file. For example, I'll choose this one because it's a recent release and I can download it direct.
Code:
wget http://openwrt.inf.fh-brs.de/~nbd/wl_apsta.o
Thanks !!!
I understand now what is firmware. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sceptiq
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
That doesn't make much sense. What does dmesg say? What exactly are you doing?


Im inserting the modules i need...

Code:

modprobe ieee80211
modprobe firmware_class
insmod ieee80211softmac.ko 
insmod bcm43xx.ko


thats it

dmesg:
Code:


ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
ieee80211: 802.11 data/management/control stack, git-1.1.7
ieee80211: Copyright (C) 2004-2005 Intel Corporation <jketreno@linux.intel.com>
tun: Universal TUN/TAP device driver, 1.6
tun: (C) 1999-2004 Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
bcm43xx: Unknown symbol release_firmware
bcm43xx: Unknown symbol request_firmware
bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
PCI: Enabling device 0001:10:12.0 (0004 -> 0006)
bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4318, rev 0x2
bcm43xx: Number of cores: 4
bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0xd, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0x9, vendor 0x4243, disabled
bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x804, rev 0xc, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x80d, rev 0x7, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Version: 3, Type 2, Revision 7
bcm43xx: Invalid PHY Revision 7
bcm43xx: Detected Radio:  ID: 8205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 8)
bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: InitVals written
bcm43xx: Radio turned on
bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333
bcm43xx: Chip initialized
bcm43xx: DMA initialized
bcm43xx: 80211 cores initialized
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 13 channels
ok.
SoftMAC: Flags for channel 1: 0000
SoftMAC: FIXME: Probing Channel 1
bcm43xx: TODO: Incomplete code in bcm43xx_set_iwmode() at /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_main.c:2441
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 13 channels
ok.
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 13 channels
ok.
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Unable to find network after scan!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bz31
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sceptiq,
Maybe you should retry, retry and retry ... to connect.
Sometimes I must make several try to obtain connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cocozz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jul 2004
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im testing with 4 o 5 firmwares but I have always the same error.

lsmod:

Code:

root@floquet:/home/cocozz/Programas/bcm43/trunk/fwcutter# lsmod | grep bcm
bcm43xx               418644  0
ieee80211softmac       35456  1 bcm43xx
firmware_class         12160  2 bcm43xx,pcmcia
ieee80211              35176  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
root@floquet:/home/cocozz/Programas/bcm43/trunk/fwcutter#


dmesg:

Code:

[  895.035428] bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
[  895.059643] bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4318, rev 0x2
[  895.059653] bcm43xx: Number of cores: 4
[  895.059658] bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0xd, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[  895.059666] bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0x9, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[  895.059677] bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x804, rev 0xc, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[  895.059685] bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x80d, rev 0x7, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[  895.062332] bcm43xx: PHY connected
[  895.062359] bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Version: 3, Type 2, Revision 7
[  895.062363] bcm43xx: Invalid PHY Revision 7
[  895.062384] bcm43xx: Detected Radio:  ID: 8205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 8)
[  895.062408] bcm43xx: Radio turned off
[  895.062417] bcm43xx: Radio turned off
[  916.560733] bcm43xx: PHY connected
[  916.652532] bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.
[  916.666910] SoftMAC: /home/cocozz/Programas/softmac/softmac/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
[  916.666924] SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: failed.


iwlist eth1 scan:
Code:

root@floquet:/home/cocozz/Programas/bcm43/trunk/fwcutter# iwlist  eth1 scan
Warning: Driver for device eth1 has been compiled with version 19
of Wireless Extension, while this program supports up to version 18.
Some things may be broken...

eth1      Interface doesn't support scanning : No such device

_________________
Soy tu amigo, amigo .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IncudE
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Exact same error as darklesi, can't seem to load
Code:
bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.


and when ifconfig ethx up
Code:
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory


Tried several firmwares from fwcutter README, every time... same result!

Can anyone post a working kernel .config? Just to eleminate probable causes!

THANKS!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You must have CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y (or as a module and have the module loaded) and have hotplug installed and running.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IncudE
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Dec 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everything is correct in the kernel! What could it be? well me, obviously! solved it with emerge hotplug! :oops:

now i get from dmesg
Code:
bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /home/incude/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333


not sure if this is really a problem!
Can't test it now though, i am nowhere near a wireless lan!

I NEED COFFEE! 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is normal. Glad you got it working, get some coffee. :)
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 2 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum