View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fret
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2002 1:49 pm    Post subject: Gentoo Latency Reply with quote

I'm new to Gentoo, and the install went smoothly enough. But now I've got a working system I'm finding that the performance is rock bottom.

For instance when I'm compiling something, running X, KDE3, and so on I get periods of between 1 and 12 seconds where the machine locks up, no mouse movement, no screen update, sound skips etc. Rather nasty for a so called 'pre-emptive operating system'. I previously had Mandrake installed (yeah I know, I know) and it didn't suffer from this sort of lockups (as much, sound would never skip).

So what can I do to smooth things out a bit. 12 seconds of no action is unbearable... it completely stops my work flow.

FYI
- Althon 1.4 running at 1.2 on 100 fsb
- 256mb ram
- Gentoo stage3 install, i686 kernel, Kde3, Alsa/SbLive

Help!
T2
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2002 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may try compiling vanilla kernel sources or compiling all stuff from stage1, Which motherboard, video card do you have?
lx
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2002 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could also try to use the mandrake kernel (or at least same configuration and relevant patches).
TGL
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2002 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a thought... do you have some kind of power management (APM or ACPI) enable ? If yes, maybe you should try to turn it off. (In fact, I'm wondering if some hardware wake-up can freeze your computer during a few seconds. But I'm really not sure of that.)
Zu`
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2002 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DMA enabled on your harddisk(s)?