Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New to boards & setting up Gentoo on a laptop..
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lots
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 8:04 pm    Post subject: New to boards & setting up Gentoo on a laptop.. Reply with quote

Hi im new to Gentoo linux.. i've been fiddling with linux off and on for a while now but not really learning anything.. but now i want to sit down and get into it.. i've fooled around with slackware, mandrake and redhat a bit.. and i found rh and mandrake kinda slow in comparison to slack.. so i've been looking for a streamlined os and a couple of friends recommended gentoo.. so im thinking of setting it up on my laptop.. i wanted to know of any foreseeable problems with trying to get it running on my laptop..

i have a Compaq 900z .. specs:
ATI IGP chipset (the mobility U1 graphics)
256 DDR
athlon XP 1500+
20 gig hd..

i also have a wireless linksys card i'd like to set up as well
WPC11 ver3

my main concern is that there wont be compatability with Xfree and the graphics card.. another not as important concern is the Power Now! that the athlon chip has.. im curious if linux supports the function.. and if i can get it up and running on the laptop.. its not very important since im either plugged in or using it on batteries for a very short time (most of the battery use will be in WinXP pro since the way the wireless network is set up at school.. it doesnt support linux cuz of this software u have to install to use the network.. retarded no?..)

i was also thinking of starting from stage3 (considering my experience in linux isnt very high)

thx in advance for any help
dirtboy
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2003 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote