Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Web Server How-To (Apache2 + mod_php + mysql)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
khel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 5:45 am    Post subject: Web Server How-To (Apache2 + mod_php + mysql) Reply with quote

I couldn't find any step-by-step instructions on setting up a webserver, so, after lurking on this forum for a while, I decided to share my experience on the subject. Anyway, to make the long story short, that's what I did to make Apache2/mod_php/mysql combo work to suite my needs :-)

edit /etc/make.conf and add
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"
USE="-X -gtk -gnome -alsa -qt -qtmt -pdflib mysql apache2 pam ssl"


and don't forget to run env-update after changing the make.conf :-)

emerge mysql
rc-update add mysqld default
emerge netpbm
(image manipulation package required by Gallery)


emerge apache
rc-update add apache2 default


then
emerge mod_php
emerge clean


edit /etc/conf.d/apache2 and add this line
APACHE_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP4"

edit /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf and add this line
LoadModule php4_module /usr/lib/apache2-extramodules/libphp4.so

then restart apache

/etc/init.d/apache2 -k restart

p.s. If you change "DocumentRoot" in apache2.conf, you'll need to change it in commonapahche2.conf as well.
Look for

###This should be changed to whatever you set Document root to.
###
<Directory /home/httpd/htdocs>

And in /etc/apache2/conf/modules.d/41_mod_ssl.default-vhost.conf for SSL to work

So far it works just fine for me, but time will show how stable and bug free it is :-)

If you have any comment/suggestions - feel free to post :-)
I hope this will be useful at leas to somebody.


Last edited by khel on Tue Apr 08, 2003 2:56 pm; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnick
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 243
Location: Lawrence KS USA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kind of hard to write a specific guide for a webserver ... for example i just emerge apache dont usually have a mysql backend sometimes emerge php if its needed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slartibartfasz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1462
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i would go without xinetd and emerge mysql before (!) apache - also make sure that the useflags for mysql, apache2, php and the like are correct - its difficult to write a gentoo specific doc for this - as people set up their servers very differently depending on their needs...
_________________
To an engineer the glass is neither half full, nor half empty - it is just twice as big as it needs to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Buzzz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 63
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 9:07 am    Post subject: Re: Web Server How-To Reply with quote

khel wrote:

I'm not new to linux but really new to Gentoo :-) anyway, for example what steps should be taken after finishing with Installation guide?

1. emerge xinetd (any use variables??)
2. rc-update add xinetd



I don't use xinetd, I think it is only confusing. All access control can be done in apache itself or with your firewall. I just like the stand-alone way of doing things.
_________________
There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just updated my original post. I hope it makes a little bit more sense now :-) ... and following your example, decided to try running my system without xinetd (habits are so difficult to change :-) ).
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WarMachine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks I found this useful since I'm considering re-doing my gentoo machine. It's still on the old GCC 2.9.something...that's another story. As of now I didn't use emerge to install all these things, this would help a lot.

Would there be anything different if one was to use the latest stable version of apache instead of apache 2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slartibartfasz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1462
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:00 am    Post subject: Re: Web Server How-To (Apache2 + mod_php + mysql) Reply with quote

khel wrote:
Though I already had these USE flags in make.conf, mod_php was still showing X as a dependency 8O , to fix this I ran
export USE="-X -gtk -gnome -alsa -qt -qtmt -pdflib mysql apache2 pam ssl"


perhaps u forgot to run env-update after changing the make.conf...
_________________
To an engineer the glass is neither half full, nor half empty - it is just twice as big as it needs to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WarMachine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried to follow this except using the latest (1.3.27) version of apache. Here's the result:

My ssl and php are not working, apache (with the exception of those two) is.


Quote:
root@localhost sbin # ./apachectl configtest
[Sun Mar 9 08:05:06 2003] [alert] apache: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
Syntax OK
[Sun Mar 9 08:05:06 2003] [error] Cannot remove module mod_ssl.c: not found in module list
[Sun Mar 9 08:05:06 2003] [error] Cannot remove module mod_php4.c: not found in module list


Here are my USE flags
Quote:
USE="mysql apache mod_ssl mod_php -java"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
khel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WarMachine wrote:
I've tried to follow this except using the latest (1.3.27) version of apache.


I didn't install apache 1.3.27 on my gentoo box, but you can try following the instructions in Desktop Configuration Guide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WarMachine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's no real difference between that and these instructions except for these 2 lines

# ebuild /var/db/pkg/dev-php/mod_php-4.2.2-r1/mod_php-4.2.2-r1.ebuild config
# ebuild /var/db/pkg/net-www/mod_ssl-2.8.10/mod_ssl-2.8.10.ebuild config


these print and you're instructed to do them after you emerge each mod_php and mod_ssl anyway :\
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WarMachine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gave up and decided to use apache 2

although I can't get ssl working right and when I tried to turn it on in the phpBB (what I'm using the webserver+database for) I totally messed it up, whatever I'll figure it out all in due time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WarMachine
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2003 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found I need to add -java to my USE to get mod_php to work correctly. If I don't have it there I get an error on configure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tgoodaire
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 145
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2003 7:39 am    Post subject: xinetd Reply with quote

I like using xinetd for everything for several reasons. It starts and stops my servers for me as they are needed, so they're not sitting there taking up my RAM when they're rarely used. Also, there is much better access control and logging than what's in most standalone servers. It's not too hard to configure either. If you can figure out how to configure apache, xinetd should be a breeze. :)
_________________
I bent my wookie.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tabascal1
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am an newbie to gentoo.
I want to install apache 2.0.45

I am using 1.4.rc3

Though my USE='apache2"
Whenever I am doing emrge apache it installs apache 1.3.27.r3

If simply emerge /usr/portage/../apache 2.0.45 then after the installation it says apachectl not found

As a result I have to first installed apache 1.3 and apache 2
After this emerge mod_php and edit apache to -D PHP as perthe instruction on the screen. But PHP does not work.

Please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mxc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2003
Posts: 442
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2003 4:59 pm    Post subject: Apach2 and php4 - libpq.so.2: cannot open shared object Reply with quote

Hi All,

I have emerged apache2 and php4. I have checked the steps as outlined by khel in the first post and all seems ok.

I have my php .so file in /etc/apache2/extramodules.

When I run apache2 start I get the following error

Syntax error on line 57 of /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf:
Cannot load /etc/apache2/extramodules/libphp4.so into server: libpq.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or dir

How do I fix this? I know it may be simple to some of you but I am struggling a bit. I need to get to know php/apache/postgres to get a piece of software I want to evaluate, i.e tutos, working.

Thanks
Mark


Edit ****** Ok I have found a libpq.so.3 on my system. How do I edit php4 to use this instead of the .2 version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pots
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:37 pm    Post subject: ehm Reply with quote

I think

APACHE_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP4"

should be

APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP4"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0wn_under
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 300
Location: Sheffield, England

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2003 11:00 am    Post subject: Same problem with Apache 1.3.27-r3 Reply with quote

I get the same problem with apache 1.3.27-r3...

* Starting apache...
Syntax error on line 21 of /etc/apache/conf/apache.conf:
Cannot load /etc/apache/extramodules/libphp4.so into server: libpq.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory [ !! ]

For a similar, but different problem, some people have suggested doing the following

export LDFLAGS='-lstdc++'
emerge sablotron

but it didn't work for me. apache does work if I take out php4 from the config files, but that doesn't help :(

Anyone any ideas?

Robin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
utabintarbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2002
Posts: 53
Location: Warren, MI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tabascal1 wrote:
...
I want to install apache 2.0.45

...

Though my USE='apache2"
Whenever I am doing emrge apache it installs apache 1.3.27.r3

...


I believe this particular bit might help:
khel wrote:
...

edit /etc/make.conf and add
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"
...




IIRC, the "~86" keyword allows masked ebuilds to be included. But it has been many moons, so check for yourself.

Bob
_________________
Let the market decide!

And in case it wasn't apparent, sarcasm is yet another of the free services I offer. :roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nepenthe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 317
Location: Sanford, ME

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 12:31 am    Post subject: *FIXED* Reply with quote

Quote:
Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
having same error....

*resolved, to an extent*

strange I edit /etc/hostname change it to nep.servehttp.com
and then do
Code:
hostname nep.serve.httpcom
and it works.
But after a restart it have to do
Code:
hostname nep.servehttp.com
[/code]
again... hmmm


Last edited by nepenthe on Fri May 02, 2003 2:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nepenthe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 317
Location: Sanford, ME

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone know how to setup directory browsing, or indexing with apache2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggelln
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jan 2003
Posts: 98
Location: Montreal Quebec

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for this post it has helped me out :-)

question, what is the difference between

"-D PHP" and "-D PHP4"

ah see a spatering of both when I search.

Gabriel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mta
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 28
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried so many combinations of stuff to get apache 1.3 working, with no luck. used this tutorial for apache2 which helped a lot, thanks :)
For me it didn't work first time, I had to make these changes:

-java in USE, otherwise apache wouldn't compile

these 4 lines in /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf:

LoadModule php4_module /usr/lib/apache2-extramodules/libphp4.so
LoadModule ssl_module /usr/lib/apache2-extramodules/mod_ssl.so
Include conf/modules.d/40_mod_ssl.conf
Include conf/modules.d/41_mod_ssl.default-vhost.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chatgris
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Oct 2002
Posts: 383
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:48 am    Post subject: Re: Apach2 and php4 - libpq.so.2: cannot open shared obje Reply with quote

mxc wrote:
Hi All,

I have emerged apache2 and php4. I have checked the steps as outlined by khel in the first post and all seems ok.

I have my php .so file in /etc/apache2/extramodules.

When I run apache2 start I get the following error

Syntax error on line 57 of /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf:
Cannot load /etc/apache2/extramodules/libphp4.so into server: libpq.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or dir

How do I fix this? I know it may be simple to some of you but I am struggling a bit. I need to get to know php/apache/postgres to get a piece of software I want to evaluate, i.e tutos, working.

Thanks
Mark


Edit ****** Ok I have found a libpq.so.3 on my system. How do I edit php4 to use this instead of the .2 version?


libpq.so.2 is postgres interface..

Either you need to install postgres, or compile php with -postgresql

hope that helps.
_________________
Open your mind. Open your source.

Due credit for avatar from http://www.aikida.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decode
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 11:48 am    Post subject: rc-update add mysqld default problem Reply with quote

Code:
# emerge mysql
# rc-update add mysqld default
* /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/mysqld not found; aborting.


I'm not quite sure what to do here. I recompiled mysql twice and same error.

mysql version: 4.0.13
_________________
/--------------------------------------------------\
x ∈ U ∆ V ↔ ( x ∈ U ∪ V ∧ x ¬∈ U ∩ V )
\--------------------------------------------------/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nepenthe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2002
Posts: 317
Location: Sanford, ME

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what about trying
Code:
rc-update add mysql defaul


I think when I had setup mysql the init script was called mysql not mysqld
Just a thought =]


~nep
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum