Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:04 pm    Post subject: Grub problem Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm installing gentoo on a AMD Athlon 3200+ 64bit processor, everything went fine as always but when i had to reboot after installing grub the bootloader outputs the following:
Code:

"GRUB loading stage 1.5."
"GRUB loading, please wait..."


I know there have been many topics about this, i've read much of them and tried all kinds of things but i made no progress.

Here's some information about my machine:

I have a VIA VT8237 Serial ATA controller with 2 x 160gb disks connected.

The /dev/sda (first disk) disk i have partitioned like this:
Code:

/dev/sda1   boot   Linux (ext3)  /boot
/dev/sda2            Linux Swap
/dev/sda3            Reiserfs        /


The device.map file contains the /dev/sda HD as (hd0).

My grub.conf looks like this:
Code:
timeout 1
default 0

title=server2
root  (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/sda3
setup (hd0)


If i run grub-install it says that the installation is completed successfully and no problems have been reported.
But still i get the same error.

I've tried to emerge grub with empty CFLAGS -> did not work
I've tried grub-static -> did not work
I've tried a unstable lilo version -> did not work (got L 99 99 99 99 ...)
I've tried ...

Does somebody has a suggestion because i'm getting crazy :P

Thanks,
OrbiT^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I beleive if you change you grub.conf to look like this then you will boot.
Code:
default 0
timeout 1

title=server2
root (hd0,2)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/sda3
setup (hd0)


you root drive sda3 should be counted as hd0,2 and only one space between root and (hd0,2)

What happens when it boots?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply but it didn't help and i think that root (hd0,0) was right.
I read so in the gentoo handbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry didn't saw the grub error collection, you may delete this topic, i've reposted it in the grub error collection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doubleagent
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 444
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have
Code:
timeout 1
default 0
when it should be
Code:
default 0
timeout 1

_________________
shickapooka wrote:
i think they programmed [otw] based on a right-wing jewish-nigger-nazi, his gay, retarded, left-wing love slave with webbed feet, and their three headed cat that poops uncontrollably. the cat is also an apple fanboy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, setup() should not be in the config file.
It's the command which installs the boot loader and supposed to be used in the grub shell, not in the config file.
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davascript
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 618
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

they are right
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

edited the config file but those things did not make a difference :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay next.
It should be "title server2" instead of "title=server2".
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried that before and doesn't help to. Some howto's tell me to use 'title=server2' others 'title server2'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay sorry. The sample file included with grub doesn't use the = so I went after that.

Which brings me to my next idea: could you please post the output of
"ls -l /boot/grub"
versus
"ls -l /lib/grub/$ARCH-pc" (replace $ARCH with whatever is in that dir)
and
"ls -l /usr/lib/grub"

Perhaps your /boot wasn't mounted when you updated grub and the stages in /boot/grub don't match the grub version in the bootloader.
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey man, thanks for helping me with my problem, here you have the output of the 2 first command phrases:
the 3th dir you would like me to run ls on doesn't exist?

Code:
livecd / # ls -l /boot/grub/
total 438
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    197 Sep 20 20:03 default
-rw-r--r--  1 root root     15 Sep 17 19:39 device.map
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   8052 Sep 20 20:03 e2fs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7812 Sep 20 20:03 fat_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7060 Sep 20 20:03 ffs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    134 Sep 20 20:03 grub.conf
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   1624 Sep 19 22:45 grub.conf.sample
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7124 Sep 20 20:03 iso9660_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   8544 Sep 20 20:03 jfs_stage1_5
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root      9 Sep 17 18:58 menu.lst -> grub.conf
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7252 Sep 20 20:03 minix_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   9524 Sep 20 20:03 reiserfs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  33856 Sep 19 22:45 splash.xpm.gz
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    512 Sep 20 20:03 stage1
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 105544 Sep 20 20:04 stage2
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 105544 Sep 19 22:01 stage2.old
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 105544 Sep 19 22:45 stage2_eltorito
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7336 Sep 20 20:03 ufs2_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   6708 Sep 20 20:03 vstafs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   9372 Sep 20 20:03 xfs_stage1_5


Code:
livecd / # ls -l /lib/grub/x86_64-pc/
total 304
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   8052 Sep 19 22:45 e2fs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7812 Sep 19 22:45 fat_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7060 Sep 19 22:45 ffs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7124 Sep 19 22:45 iso9660_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   8544 Sep 19 22:45 jfs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7252 Sep 19 22:45 minix_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   9524 Sep 19 22:45 reiserfs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    512 Sep 19 22:45 stage1
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 105544 Sep 19 22:45 stage2
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 105544 Sep 19 22:45 stage2_eltorito
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   7336 Sep 19 22:45 ufs2_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   6708 Sep 19 22:45 vstafs_stage1_5
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   9372 Sep 19 22:45 xfs_stage1_5


Greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's very frustrading, installed a very nice linux distro on a very nice new computer and it doesn't want to boot :s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephros
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Graz, Austria (Europe - no kangaroos.)

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks okay. Damn. :evil:

Are you really really sure your boot partition is actually mounted when you do all this checking and the conf editing? Yes it's a stupid question bit who knows.
_________________
Please put [SOLVED] in your topic if you are a moron.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OrbiT^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it is, i always mount /dev/sda1 on /boot before i chroot /mnt/gentoo (where /dev/sda3 is mounted on)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum