Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 2]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4078
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Grub error 17 after booting WinXP"
merged with
"grub error collection [POST GRUB QUESTIONS HERE!]"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smono927
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the response.

I tried changing the partition id of hda4 to "5", extended, but it wouldn't allow me to change a non-extended partition to an extended one. It said that I had to delete it first, and then recreate it. Does deleting a partition do anything more than alter the MBR, such as actually write information to the actual locations of the start and finish? I deleted hda4 and created it again as an extended partition, but the logical partitions (hda5-hda7) didn't return as I had hoped they would.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4727
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if I understood your question correctly, deleting a partition from the disk does not erase the data from the disk sectors. You can recreate a deleted partition, but you must recall the exact sectors for the beggining and the end of the partition. If you have that information available, you should be able to recover your data by recreating the partitions. Just don't format or create a filesystem in any of those partitions or you will lose the data - I don't think the process erases the data from all the partitions's sectors disk, but it removes the metadata, making it very hard to recover any info.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smono927
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After I try recovering the partitions, should I hide the non-Windows partitions when I boot XP? Would that prevent XP from changing the partition id's?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4727
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, that never happened to me and I've been running dual-boot systems for more than 6 years. I still don't understand what happenned. So I can't tell you if it well help or not.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zweigart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2005
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

smono927

I dont understand your partition table::?:

- what is your /dev/hda4 ? : no fs, no mountpoint
- which is the primary partition you divided into hda5678

After you wrote your partition table and exiting fdisk -w, have you formatted your partitions running mke2fs -j /dev/hda5 (6,7,8) , mkswap /dev/hda3, mke2fs /dev/hda 2 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smono927
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/hda4 is (was) an extended partition. And I had already formatted all of the partitions to their proper filesystems. I was completely done installing and had successfully booted both Gentoo and Windows XP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idiotprogrammer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2002
Posts: 179
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:56 am    Post subject: no Tab complete/grub doesn't see devices! Reply with quote

Hi, there, I have a strange problem with grub. I emerged grub from a networkless install and tried first grub-install, then grub. Nothing worked. In fact, upon booting, grub doesn't even come up. I'm doubtful whether anything was actually written to the mbr.

I modified the grub.conf file as expected. However, I don't think grub actually did anything to the MBR.

I have 2 sata drives (raided as 1 sata drive on the motherboard). The raided SATA drive appears as a single drive /dev/sdb in fdisk. The motherboard is A8vdeluxe, via vt8237 southbridge chipset

When I start the live CD, I modprobe sata-via (the module for the sata-via raid controller).

When I enter GRUB, and do root (hd1,0) (I tried both hd1 and hd0, see below).
nothing comes out on tab complete. (Error 22: No such partition).

When I run
grub-install /dev/sdb, I see
"Installation finished. No error reported. Device map reads
fd0 /dev/fd0
hd0 /dev/sda"
hd1 /dev/sdb

Even though I specify /dev/sdb, it sees hd0 (as sda) and hd1 (as sdb).


SYMPTOMS
- when I try to boot, I get message to the effect of, nonbootable device; please insert boot cd
--tab completion from grub command line totally does not work
I'm guessing that grub-install never installed anything on the MBR, and that it doesn't detect my devices even though it says installation was successful. (How can I verify?)

WHAT I'VE TRIED
1)removing the two lines from device.map file for sda and floppy
2)changing the reference from hd1 to hd0 and erasing the other line
3)confirming that ext3 options are set in the kernel compile (yes)
4)unmerging and reemerging grub, making sure to remove the grub directory entirely
4)verifying that modprobe sata-via was run prior to grub-install


THINGS I RULED OUT (AGREE?)
1)Grub.conf might have typo. This may well have happened, but this would have no effect on the tab complete for grub.
2)I didn't forget to run this cp /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
3)misconfigured kernel. Even if this is true, wouldn't grub appear at the start at boot? And wouldn't tab completion work from the live cd.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
grub.conf

default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11 Gentoo r1
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd1,0)
kernel /mykernel root=/dev/sdb3

(Initially I used hd0, then I switched to hd1).

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Robert Nagle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vladsinger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I try to save grub.conf, it just says "Error writing /boot/grub/grub.conf : No such file or directory" How can I edit it if it supposedly doesn't exist?:?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vladsinger
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whoops. Problem solved -I didn't make /boot/grub/ after rebooting into the CD.:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wingnut691983
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:34 pm    Post subject: 10.b in install guide - getting grub error 15: file not foun Reply with quote

Hi everyone.

Well earlier today i was having some serious problems trying to get this to work but between very closely investigating the grub.conf file and /etc/fstab i have gotten it pretty much working, with being my first time messing with linux i was pretty proud i was able to troubleshoot that far :)

Anyway I am getting error 15 from grub now... "file not found" I did a little research on this which said

15 : File not found
This error is returned if the specified file name cannot be found, but everything else (like the disk/partition info) is OK.

Which leads me to believe grub.conf is ok (other than possibly the filename) and /etc/fstab is ok.

if I go into /mnt/gentoo and type ls /boot/kernel* /boot/initrd* (as it says in the install guide) I get

/boot/initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 /boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

in my grub.conf file i have as follows:

Code:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=dev/hda3 udev
initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3


my mountpoints are

/dev/hda1 - /boot
/dev/hda2 - swap
/dev/hda3 - /

so (hd0,0) is the boot partition as far as grub is concerned and must be working and approrpriate because the splash image shows and i can select the title specified in grub.conf to boot but as soon as i hit enter on that i get the error 15.

hopefully i have explained this well and someone will be able to tell me whats up!!!

Thanks alot!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31893
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wingnut691983,

Hmm. Do you really mean
Quote:
if I go into /mnt/gentoo and type ls /boot/kernel* /boot/initrd*

It should be true if
a) your boot partition is mounted on /mnt/gentoo/boot
b) you are not using a /boot partition at all.

When you do ls /mnt/gentoo/boot with everything mounted do you still see your kernel and initrd files?
When /boot is not mounted on /mnt/gentoo/boot,
Code:
ls /mnt/gentoo/boot
should show no files at all.
When its mounted, it should show your kernel, initrd and a dir called lost+found.

If you installed your kernel with boot not mounted, the files will go to the wtong place (not the boot partiton) and grub will not find them to boot with.

You are on the right track.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wingnut691983
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, my boot partition is mounted in /mnt/gentoo/boot

When I manually mount them first i mount /dev/hda3 to /mnt/gentoo as root and then mount /dev/hda3 to /mnt/gentoo/boot

when I do ls /mnt/gentoo/boot with everything mounted i see:

Code:
System.map-2.6.11-r11   boot   grub   initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r11



ok this is where i stop and slap myself and yell realizing now what I did.

When i was installing gentoo i wrote down the kernel and initrd name as i was told by the install instructions, i wrote down -gentoo-r11 which is what it was. Then i had those problems with it not working and i had to boot from the livecd a few times to tweak fstab and grub.conf, one time when i was booted off of the livecd i browsed to the boot directory (the one on the cd) and did a ls /kernel* /initrd* and it gave me gentoo-r3. So me not thinking went and changed what i wrote down not realizing i was copying the name of the kernel on the disk.

I changed my -r3 to -r11 in grub.conf and it booted just fine which is awesome :)


One question though... when booting the only warning that came up was one that said:

Waring: /etc/init.d/serial missing: skipping

why is that and how do i fix it if i need to?

Thanks alot for helping me realize my mistake!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31893
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wingnut691983,

You learn best when its your realisation of what went wrong.

/etc/init.d/ contains scripts that may be stared at boot time if you wish. There must be one called serial, which the system is attempting to start but is not installed.

These startup scripts are turned on and off with the rc-update command, which you will have used in the install.
rc-update -s shows current settings.
rc-update add <script> <runlevel> adds a script to a runlevel
rc-update del <script> removes a script for the runlevel its assigned to.

So
Code:
rc-update del serial
will probaly sort you out.
I don't know what serial is though. It must be harmless, since you don;t jhave it
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wingnut691983
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Much appreciated,

again thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4078
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Merged
"10.b in install guide - getting grub error 15: file not foun"
to
"grub error collection [POST GRUB QUESTIONS HERE!]"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xithix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:53 am    Post subject: Grub setup on hdc? Reply with quote

As odd as this may sound, I have a dead IDE channel on my motherboard, and it's the hda/hdb channel. I am trying to install gentoo with hdc as my hard drive and hdd as the cdrom. I've gotten as far as grub configuration.

Here are my partitions. Unlike most of you I haven't put /boot on its own partition:
Code:
/dev/hdc1 * Windows NTFS
/dev/hdc2 Extended Partition
/dev/hdc5 Reiserfs, the root partition /
/dev/hdc6 Linux swap
/dev/hdc7 Windows swap

When I tried to install grub into the boot sector, I got interesting results. I could only get it to find my partition with the command "root (hd0,5)" to which it responds "Filesystem type is reiserfs, partition type 0x83"

So I type "setup (hd0)" .. here's the output:
Code:
Checking if /boot/grub/stage1 exists... yes
Checking if /boot/grub/stage2 exists... yes
Checking if /boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5 exists... yes
Running "embed /boot/grub/reiserfs_stage1_5 (hd0)"...19 sectors are embedded
Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 (hd0) (hd0)1+19 p (hd0,5)/boot/grub/stage2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... failed

Error 12: Invalid device requested


Do you need my grub.conf or menu.lst? (I have written and symlinked them). As a side note I'd love for a way to copy/paste into links2, that was a lot of typing
_________________
:wq


Last edited by Xithix on Fri Jul 08, 2005 2:37 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xithix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub.conf /// menu.lst:

Code:
# Boot automatically after 10 secs.
timeout 10

# By default, boot the first entry.
default 0

# Fallback to the second entry.
fallback 1

# For booting GNU/Linux
title Gentoo 2.6.11-r6
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.11-r6 root=/dev/hdc5

# For booting Windows
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader  +1

_________________
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
romalong
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 488
Location: Kiev

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 12:32 pm    Post subject: configure GRUB Reply with quote

hi!

i got error 15 booting gentoo.

here're my fstab:

Code:


/dev/sda1   /boot     ext2    defaults,noatime  1 2
/dev/sda2   none      swap    sw                0 0
/dev/sda3   /         ext3    noatime           0 1

none        /proc     proc    defaults             0 0
none        /dev/shm  tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,noexec  0 0

/dev/cdroms/cdrom0    /mnt/cdrom    auto      noauto,user    0 0



and grub.conf:

Code:


default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda3
initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

title=W2k
root (hd1,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1



also what should i enter for windoz in fstab?

thanx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see everyone referring to being able to dual-boot Windows/Gentoo using grub. Are there some good instructions around?

I understand it in the case of separate hard disks, but in my case I installed Windows in the MBR, and installed Gentoo in /dev/hda2. I had been using lilo and dd to create a bootsect.lnx file that the Windows boot selector thingy would use to boot into Gentoo, but I got to believe there is a better way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickDaFish
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Sep 2002
Posts: 112
Location: Boston, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: Grub rebooting the system? Reply with quote

Hi Folks!
I've been having a hell of a time with one of my systems. I have *just* descovered that what I assumed was a BIOS problem is actually a grub problem. As soon as this system hits grub it reboots. I was adding disks to this system and had to grub them so they would be bootable (My boot partition is mirrored). Apparently grub did something bad, as now every time I try and boot from these disks the system resets. I have reproduced this on other hardware too... so I don't see how it can be the Mobo.... it has to be grub.

Any ideas? I've lost the last nights sleep to this *%!@% thing and I really need to get it fixed :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4727
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

Post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf and /etc/fstab and the output of fdisk -l. You say that your /boot partition is mirrored. Do you mean software RAID? And you were messing with the disks? You should perhaps look at the software RAID config.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickDaFish
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Sep 2002
Posts: 112
Location: Boston, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
Hi.

Post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf and /etc/fstab and the output of fdisk -l. You say that your /boot partition is mirrored. Do you mean software RAID? And you were messing with the disks? You should perhaps look at the software RAID config.


I'd love to post the stuff you ask for but I can't boot :cry:
I'm currently trying to coax one of the live CDs into mounting the arrays so I can get in and fiddle....

I am indeed using software raid. The config is fine. I've been playing with this stuff for a good while now without issue.
The problem only started when I re-grubed my disks. Now as soon as the BIOS sees grub it reboots.
What I *think* I need is a boot disk that I can re-grub with. I'm thinking that the most recent ebuild for grub didn't quite merge propperly on my system.
Does anyone know a liveCD or a floppy that has grub? All the Gentoo live CD I can find don't and none of the rescue CDs/Floppys I've found do either......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NickDaFish
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Sep 2002
Posts: 112
Location: Boston, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2005 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NickDaFish wrote:
What I *think* I need is a boot disk that I can re-grub with. I'm thinking that the most recent ebuild for grub didn't quite merge propperly on my system.
Does anyone know a liveCD or a floppy that has grub? All the Gentoo live CD I can find don't and none of the rescue CDs/Floppys I've found do either......


Answering my own question..... a re-grubbing was exactally what I needed.
I found the perfect livecd here:
http://sysresccd.org/
To my happy suprise (though I don't know why it should be) it's Gentoo based! In case anyone else runs across this post and needs to replace a fouled grub, there are actually two stages. 1) replace the stage files 2) regrub. Don't forget that all the grub shell really does is setup the stage files.

What was messed up for me was the stage files. I'm guessing that it was only the stage1 file as my machine was rebooting fine untill I used the grub shell to remake the MBR. When I tryed to remake the MBR using the grub on the rescue CD it made no differrence. It's only when I replaced the stage files and then re-ran grub that I was all set. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vorticies82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everybody

I am having a really strange problem. I just installed a new kernel, and then I went and edited /boot/grub/grub.conf and changed a few numbers so that instead of the name saying
2.6.11-gentoo-r8

it now says
2.6.12-gentoo-r4

and I changed the kernel option likewise. I have done this many times on other machines and it works great. However, on this machine, when I rebooted, it is still showing me 2.6.11-gentoo-r8. I pressed e and edited the line so that I could boot into my 2.6.12 kernel. Then I did cat /boot/grub/grub.conf just to make sure that I had saved my changes and everything. I am really puzzled as to why it isn't reading my config file. So, just to screw with it, I moved my entire grub folder from /boot to /root so that grub couldn't find it. I rebooted again, and this time, instead of showing the grub screen with options, it proceeded to map my drives and boot XP which is my default option. This is really confusing and I would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 1 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum