Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 1]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 3:37 am    Post subject: Re: Grub error when booting. Reply with quote

Hi.

zonian1903 wrote:

...
Code:
default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r11
root (sd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sda3



GRUB uses the syntax hd to refer to disks, whether they're IDE, SCSI or SATA. Therefore, you want to change the /boot/grub/grub.conf to
Code:
default 0
timeout 30

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r11
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sda3

_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zonian1903
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2004
Posts: 22
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I just changed it and it worked right away!

Proud to show my ignorance :)
Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
escobar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 5:35 am    Post subject: Grub error 13 Reply with quote

hey guys, I've just finished installing gentoo base system in my pc and I've came across a lil problem to boot into gentoo
grub is issuing the

Error 13: Invalid or unsupported executeable format

my grub.conf:
Code:

default 1
timeout 20

title=Gentoo
root (hd0,5)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hda8

#windows boot here (this one is working :? )


my fdisk is something like this
Code:

/dev/hda6 /boot
/dev/hda7 swap
/dev/hda8 /


any clues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Best guess at the moment is you copied the wrong file over 8O .

Reboot the LiveCD, do all the mounts and chroot in again, and do the copy again - make sure you are in /usr/src/linux first.
Can be done without the chroot, but if you're new, it's probably easiest to follow the appropriate sections of the handbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4078
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub error 13 merged with the grub error collection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathwing00
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 4078
Location: Barcelona, Spain

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub error when booting merged with the grub error collection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
escobar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2005 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

syg00 wrote:
Best guess at the moment is you copied the wrong file over 8O .

Reboot the LiveCD, do all the mounts and chroot in again, and do the copy again - make sure you are in /usr/src/linux first.
Can be done without the chroot, but if you're new, it's probably easiest to follow the appropriate sections of the handbook.

Your guess was absolutely right... thanks a lot =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexis101
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there
I just finish all the installation progress and now its time to configure grub! But i got some error.
When id do grub-install --no-floppy /dev/hda . Well its still looking for my floppy and i got som I/O error since i dont have any floppy!! So i try grub --no-floppy . then i did root (hd0,6)
Filesystem type is ext2fs,partition type0x83
then i did setup (hd0)
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1"exists... no
Checking if "/grub/stage1" exist... no

Error 24: Attempt to access block outside partition

What should i do??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genjix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

for Grub error 15 it would NOT find my kernel image no matter what (with a single harddrive, with the image on the 4th partition under /), so I used lilo instead and it worked perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tokihiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:49 pm    Post subject: oh Reply with quote

http://kablog.finance.livedoor.com/exec/vote/13k3i4d3tq.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augury
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 718
Location: philadelphia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the grub line to put root on usbfs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slugworth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grubs not working for me. I have 2 hd's, hda (gentoo), hdb (windows). Linux willl boot perfectly but windows will not...
Code:

dmesg | grep -i hd

hda: Maxtor 51024H2, ATA DISK drive
hdb: MAXTOR 6L080L4, ATA DISK drive
hdc: LITE-ON LTR-24102M, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive


Code:
 
fdisk /dev/hda

Disk /dev/hda: 10.2 GB, 10239860736 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19841 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1         195       98248+  83  Linux
/dev/hda2             196        2134      977256   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda3            2135       19841     8924328   83  Linux


Code:

fdisk /dev/hdb

Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80054059008 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9732 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1   *           1        3824    30716248+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hdb2            3825        9731    47447977+   f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdb5            3825        9731    47447946    e  W95 FAT16 (LBA)


the windows part of my grub.conf:
Code:

title Windows
map (hd1) (hd0)
map (hd0) (hd1)
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


I figured that I should use 'map', since its hdb, but something isnt working.
_________________
i like e17.

Me: "Yea I use Linux. Heard of it?"
Other person: "Yea, It's better than windows or something right?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lessthan_jake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 2:47 pm    Post subject: Maybe I don’t understand grub that well. Reply with quote

I'm sorry if this exact situation has been posted before. The search option only works so well trying to find topics that deal with the kernel, sata, grub, no ide...

my grub/device.map looks like this:

(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/sda
(hd1) /dev/sdb
(hd2) /dev/sdc

This is a quick summary of fdisk:

sda1 NTFS

sdb1 NTFS boot (windows xp)
sdb2 ext3 boot (linux)
sdb3 none swap
sdb4 ext3 /

sdc1 NTFS

I don’t know why linux labels my devices as such. In the bios, I have them set up with sdb first.

My fstab looks like this:

/dev/sdb2 /boot ext3 defaults,noatime 1 2
/dev/sdb4 / ext3 noatime 0 1
/dev/sdb3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0/ /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,usr 0 0

none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
none /prov/bus/usb usbfs defaults 0 0

My first grub.conf looked like this:

default=0
timeout=30
spashimage=(hd1,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title linux
root (hd1,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sdb4

title windows xp
root (hd1,0)
makeactive
chainloder +1

After fiddling around with the command line in grub, I discovered that the following settings work sort of:

default=0
timeout=30
spashimage=(hd0,1)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title linux
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sdb4

title windows xp
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
makeactive
chainloder +1

Now, I can successfully launch windows. When I boot into linux, the kernel loads, but then I get this error:

VFS: cannot open root device “sdb4” or unknown-block (0,0)
please append a correct “root=” boot option
kernel panic – not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (0,0)

Some say that this is faulty configuring of the kernel. That is possible. I did read carefully into all of the choices when I configured it manually though. But why is the grub naming of the drives all whack? My sdb should be hd1 not hd0?

Some more interesting information. My first install, I did genkernel all option with kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3. When I booted then, I got a similar error from the kernel dealing with real_root=/dev/sdb4 or something. That is why I opted this time to configure it manually and be able to just use root=/dev/sdb4 in the grub.conf

This second time around, I used kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11. (I had followed the older manual on the disk instead of the online one and didn’t –sync the first time around) But like I said I also did this manually this time around. Yes I’m introducing more variables. Undoubtedly making this harder to sort out.

What would be the best thing for me to try out?

I want to unplug my sda and sdc drives, and try a new grub.conf with that. But if it’s a kernel issue, then I should just re-compile it. Should I try genkernel all with this newer kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11? Or should I trust my manual setup?

Thanks for the help in advance.
(also, there may be typos, etc because my comps at home, and all this info is from my notes)
Also, I'm using the gentoo AMD64 2005.0 version with my ASUS A8N-SLI, AMD 64 |3000+ ATHLON

--------
Solved. It was a kernel issue. With enabling some scsi sata things. But I'm still baffled by the whole grub thing not pointing to where it "should" be. But hey, it works.


Last edited by lessthan_jake on Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slugworth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the right filesystem compiled into your kernel? And yes afaik if its sdb it should be hd1 in grub, but if it works, then it works. Another thing you could try doing is unplug the cables and switch sdb with sda, so that the linux one is first. Still waiting on reply of my post...
_________________
i like e17.

Me: "Yea I use Linux. Heard of it?"
Other person: "Yea, It's better than windows or something right?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhav211
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok this is kind of a dumb question, but I'll ask anyways, so bear with me.

Anyways I have a SATA HDD called /dev/sdb first off.

In the handbook, the part about configuring GRUB for genkernel users I'm just wonder about parts where it says (hd0,0), example splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz. Should I replace the (hd0,0) with (sd0,0) or something?

Thanks, oh and don't get mad at me or anything since this is kind of a, well, noobish question. Once again, thanks in advance.

Edit 2: Ok I basiclly figured this out by doing some reading. I'm guessing my /dev/sdb1 is called (hd0,0) and /dev/sdb3 is called (hd0,2). Well, I'll be installing Gentoo in just a little bit. I hope it works this time (last time LILO didn't seem to work when I reboot :? )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slugworth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yea it is a little confusing, but this is how grub works...

any time grub talks about "hd"'s, its talking about the hard drive itself, so hd0, is the first hard drive you have.

so /dev/sda = hd0

the second part, the ",0", is talking about the partition on that drive.

so /dev/sda3 = hd0,2

remember that in most unix things we start counting at 0. so the third partition is ",2"

dont waste your time with lilo.
_________________
i like e17.

Me: "Yea I use Linux. Heard of it?"
Other person: "Yea, It's better than windows or something right?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoperesolution
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 4:32 am    Post subject: grub error 2 Reply with quote

I am having a problem with grub, its giving me an error 2 when I try to boot in to the system right after creating my grub.conf

here is my grub.conf file

default 0
timeout 30
title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r11
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda3



gentoo is the only thing installed on this hd and the fstab is this

/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 defaults,noatime 1 2
/dev/hda3 / ext3 notime 0 1
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0

none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs nodev,nosuid,noexec 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slugworth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 189

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

make sure your grub is pointing to your right kernel. Check the symlinks in /boot. when my kernel was created, it made a symlink called vmlinuz that points to the real kernel. Still awaiting a reply to mine.
_________________
i like e17.

Me: "Yea I use Linux. Heard of it?"
Other person: "Yea, It's better than windows or something right?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scoperesolution
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grub is pointing to the right kernel
the symlink in boot points to ./
and my kernel is kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mustangfanatic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jul 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 5:45 am    Post subject: Another problem Reply with quote

I apologize for this being my first post. That being said I have been reading google and these forums for a couple hours without finding a solution to my seemingly easy problem.

I just installed Gentoo and followed the walkthrough posted here :
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/2005.0/handbook-x86.xml?part=0&chap=0

Everything seems to have gone well except I am getting one of the problems mentioned in the first post of this thread.
Booting 'gentoo Linux'

root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hdc3

Error 15: File not found
Press any key to continue...

I am dual booting with XP and XP boots fine. I have two hard drives: Windows is on the Master primary (hda), and Gentoo is on my master seconday (hdc). My setup for Gentoo is the following:
/dev/hdc1 ext2 32M Boot partition
/dev/hdc2 (swap) 512M Swap partition
/dev/hdc3 ext3 Rest of the disk Root partition

Grub is configured as the following for the linux portion:
root (hd1,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hdc3

I popped in the live cd and executed a "mount /dev/hdc3 /" (I really hope this didn't hurt anything as I wasn't sure what to do really)
In my /root directory there was kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 (amongst a couple other things). What am I doing wrong? I have tried several different combinations for grub of what looks like it should work, but always with the same 'file not found' error.

Any helps would be much appreciated, I'm eager to start playing around with Gentoo.

edit: splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz is loading the splash image correctly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Another problem Reply with quote

mustangfanatic wrote:

...
Grub is configured as the following for the linux portion:
root (hd1,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hdc3
...
In my /root directory there was kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 (amongst a couple other things). What am I doing wrong?
...
edit: splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz is loading the splash image correctly


Your kernel should be inside /boot and not /.
After mounting /dev/hdc3 as /mnt/gentoo, mount /dev/hdc1 as /mnt/gentoo/boot. Then see if you have your kernel inside the boot dir. If not move it there.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhav211
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

slugworth wrote:
yea it is a little confusing, but this is how grub works...

any time grub talks about "hd"'s, its talking about the hard drive itself, so hd0, is the first hard drive you have.

so /dev/sda = hd0

the second part, the ",0", is talking about the partition on that drive.

so /dev/sda3 = hd0,2

remember that in most unix things we start counting at 0. so the third partition is ",2"

dont waste your time with lilo.


Thanks a lot man for clearing that up, I should try to install Gentoo again pretty soon. For some reason windows xp deleted hal.dll on its own and when I to reinstall hal.dll is still missing. Oh well, I don't want any help on that anyways, I can figure that out on my own.

I had a friend who told me to use LILO because he said he found it eaiser than GRUB, but he also couldn't get Gentoo to work either, heh. Anyways thanks for the advice slugworth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madman2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't boot, this is the error (roughly):

VFS: Cannot open root device "sda7" of unknown block (0,0)

Please append a correct "root=" boot option

Kernel panic: not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root FS on unknown block (0,0)

My grub.conf:

default 0

timeout 30

splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo 2.6.11-r11
root hd(0,0)
kernel hd(0,0)/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sda7

I currently use one of my sata drives.

/dev/sda1 = boot
/dev/sda2 = swap
/dev/sda3 = home
/dev/sda4 = extended partition
/dev/sda5 = usr
/dev/sda6 = var
/dev/sda7 = root

My device.map:

(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/sda
(hd1) /dev/sdb
(hd2) /dev/sdc



Anyone know what it is wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmbsvicetto
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 4730
Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

From your post I think that you've made a typo. You should have
Code:
splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Gentoo 2.6.11-r11
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sda7

In the last two lines you must have (hd0,0) and not hd(0,0).
I think that you're missing the SATA controller driver in your kernel. Remember that it has to be compiled in the kernel and not as a module. You must also have the / filesystem compiled in kernel.
_________________
Jorge.

Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madman2003
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2005
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jmbsvicetto wrote:
From your post I think that you've made a typo. You should have
Code:
splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Gentoo 2.6.11-r11
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/sda7

In the last two lines you must have (hd0,0) and not hd(0,0).
I think that you're missing the SATA controller driver in your kernel. Remember that it has to be compiled in the kernel and not as a module. You must also have the / filesystem compiled in kernel.


I manually wrote that, but the problem was the sata driver, i suddenly found a post saying that often people forget sata drivers and i did too, because they were hidden amongst scsi drivers. Now i just need to figure out how to get the mouse back in console, because i liked that :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 23 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum