Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error Collection [Part 1]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your kernel really is /boot/kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r6 (verify that!) and /boot is /dev/hda6, it would be
Code:

root (hd0,5)
kernel kernel-2.4.20-gentoo-r6

because grub begins counting with zero, thus /dev/hda6 gets (hd0,5).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowak07
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:31 pm    Post subject: Still getting Error 15 Reply with quote

Can't locate the kernel in /boot. (After booting with the LiveCD and chroot into /mnt/gentoo) Quite possible I'm not looking in the right place. I've tried all combinations from the manual to configure grub.conf.

Lest I forget, I used GRP. All I did was:

# emerge --usepkg gentoo-sources
# emerge --usepkg genkernel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you run genkernel at least once? Did it finish without errors?
Make sure to mount the partitions (also /boot) before chroot'ing to /mnt/gentoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowak07
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't remember. hope it won't do any harm if I go back and run genkernel again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowak07
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry. Do I have to emerge gentoo-sources once again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowak07
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have managed to get past the grub config problem - that's after running genkenel. When gentoo starts booting, I ge this message:

warning: Unable to open an initial console. Kernel panic: no init found ...

Can anyone help or point me to useful postings on the forum?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idoneus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 243
Location: Graz, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nowak07 wrote:
Sorry. Do I have to emerge gentoo-sources once again?

No. You only need to do this once. Then the sources will be installed and you can configure your kernel according to your wishes.
Be sure to copy your kernel to your boot partition, and mount it first. (Or does genkernel do this automatically?)
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nowak07
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all the suggestions.

Now I can boot into gentoo. I'd like to install xfree and other stuff from the LiveCD2. After mounting the CD, when I tried to copy the packages I get input-output error. emerge --usepkg xfree failed woefully. Any ideas?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizzzard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Bonn, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I've a kind of weird problem, but I don't know if this is the right place to ask for a solution, but I'll give it a try :wink:

After updating to the last grub version, I get the grub prompt instead of the boot menu when I do a reboot. That's strange, because I did no changes at all in the config files. Reinstalling grub after the Gentoo installing manual did not work, too. I am able to boot the system, but type the root and kernel parameters into the prompt. :(

So, has anybody an idea of what to do next? I'm running out of them.

Thx in advance


P.s.: I know it's not directly an error, but it's strange however.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idoneus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 243
Location: Graz, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wizzzard wrote:
After updating to the last grub version, I get the grub prompt instead of the boot menu when I do a reboot. That's strange, because I did no changes at all in the config files. Reinstalling grub after the Gentoo installing manual did not work, too. I am able to boot the system, but type the root and kernel parameters into the prompt. :(

Are you sure that you executed the root (hd0,0) and setup (hd0) stuff? Cause I had the same problem, and that fixed it.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlworld
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jun 2003
Posts: 89
Location: Vigo, Spain

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

idoneus: I have the same problem (grub propmt's instead of graphical interface) just after updating grub to the newest version (~x86 keyword).

I've tried the root (hd0,2) setup (hd0) stuff, but it isn't working right for me :cry: ... any ideas?

Thanks in advance...
_________________
Registered Linux user #184323. "The software said Windows95 or better, so I got a Gentoo..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizzzard
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Mar 2003
Posts: 116
Location: Bonn, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it, somehow my menu.lst link on grub.conf has been deleted, just linking it and doing again the root - setup stuff should do the trick.

Now I have a bootmenu again, but my background image isn't there anymore, weird.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dlworld
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jun 2003
Posts: 89
Location: Vigo, Spain

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've never had a menu.lst link in my grub.conf :? My grub.conf still exactly the way it was. Just in case you'll need it, here it goes:
Code:
default 0
timeout 5
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
 
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,2)/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda6 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr vga=0x317 splash=silent
initrd=(hd0,2)/initrd-1024x768
 
title=Gentoo Linux (old building)
root (hd0,5)
kernel (hd0,2)/vmlinuz.old root=/dev/hda6 video=vesa:ywrap,mtrr vga=0x317 splash=silent
initrd=(hd0,2)/initrd-1024x768
 
title=Windows XP
root (hd0,1)
chainloader (hd0,1)+1

Hope to solve it soon...
_________________
Registered Linux user #184323. "The software said Windows95 or better, so I got a Gentoo..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dlworld wrote:
I've never had a menu.lst link in my grub.conf :? My grub.conf still exactly the way it was. Just in case you'll need it, here it goes:


It doesn't hurt to have the link. And maybe different versions might behave differently on that specific.
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idoneus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 243
Location: Graz, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pilla wrote:
It doesn't hurt to have the link. And maybe different versions might behave differently on that specific.
Where exactly does this menu.lst link to? Cause I don't have it either, but would like to mention it in the top posting.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3vr0n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys. I'm trying to install Gentoo.

When i boot, grub comes up:

"Grub loading, please wait...
Error 2"

What is that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yamakawa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you are!

I had the same situation after the latest update.
In my case, the solution, though not complete, is
Code:

# cd /boot/grub
# ln -s grub.conf menu.lst

At least I got the menu back.
The problem now is, although the menu appears itself, there is no nice image at all. Only a boring color menu.

Any fix for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7214
Location: Pelotas, BR

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yamakawa wrote:

The problem now is, although the menu appears itself, there is no nice image at all. Only a boring color menu.

Any fix for that?


are you sure that /grub/splash.xpm.gz exists?
_________________
"I'm just very selective about the reality I choose to accept." -- Calvin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yamakawa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Jul 2003
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it!
It has nothing to do with image file or grub.conf.
As you would see in grub-0.93.20031222.ebuild, the patches for splashimage are commented out. That is WHY.
The previous version of grub-0.93.20030118.ebuild for ~x86, there are patches for it in line 35 and 39. The newest one, still masked, grub-0.93.20040125.ebuild has lines of patches commented out.

So, I think we should wait for a while until the maintainer will modify it. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idoneus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 243
Location: Graz, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d3vr0n wrote:
When i boot, grub comes up:

"Grub loading, please wait...
Error 2"
Sorry I can't help you out with this one. Any more details?

Yamakawa: thanks for the ln -s code. I assume it was meant as an reply to my previous posting.
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/grub.html#Stage2%20errors
Code:

2 : Bad file or directory type
This error is returned if a file requested is not a regular file, but something like a symbolic link, directory, or FIFO.

what does you grub.conf look like?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d3vr0n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the problem resides somewhere other than in my grub.conf

I'm starting over. yay :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gonad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yamakawa wrote:
In my case, the solution, though not complete, is
Code:

# cd /boot/grub
# ln -s grub.conf menu.lst

At least I got the menu back.

I already had this symlink, so this won't "fix" it for me. Mine just boots to the grub console.

yamakawa wrote:
The problem now is, although the menu appears itself, there is no nice image at all. Only a boring color menu.

I've also lost my splashimage.

There is a real problem with grub 0.93.20031222
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earthwings
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 7751
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Problems with grub 0.93.20031222?
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39392
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dkaplowitz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 596
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very killer thread. Just found it today, and it answered my question. Thanks for posting and maintaining it.

Dave
_________________
http://dkap.info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 2 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum