Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dyndns like service
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sabre66
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 4:25 am    Post subject: dyndns like service Reply with quote

Hi ive got a bunch or customers that need to log in to certain equipment that is hooked up via ethernet, they can reach their device if they know their ip adress but since its all dhcp , ips are constantly changing and here i am making another no charge service call to fix the problem.
I would like to try and set up a small dyndns service to try to fix this problem , what software do i need i guess apache to handle the virtual domain part no problem but how do i automatically update apache to point in the right direction incase ips change , user software seems readily available so im not really concerned about that .
I thought about setting up my clients through dyndns but it would be a lot more professional if i used my companies domain and at least i would have control of the server(s)
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.............

Thnx Sabre66
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gsfgf
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 May 2002
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why not just use dyndns.org? Or is this all intranet stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sabre66
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, this is not intranet stuff. Dyndns.org is an easy solution but it is not profesional. My clients pay big bucks for what they have and part of the reason they have purchased what the did was the ability to log into there devices from any where in the world as they can and do now , but with dynamic ips this can and has led to problems.
I just really want to offer a better solution to this small problem.
Using my own domain would just make it look like im taking care of them personally, instead of some one else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JayBee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2002
Posts: 26
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For a fee (about US$50 i think per domain) you can set up your domain on dyndns.org, and use it that way. I think you can then specify sub-domains to point to the customers equipment, but I may be wrong...
_________________
"There is no patch for stupidity"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
perry
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Cornfields of Indiana

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you run the DNS server and the DHCP server? Can you setup DHCP to do dynamic DNS updates? (Or are you asking how to do this?)

This page may be of some help: http://www.thismetalsky.org/magic/projects/dhcp_dns.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sabre66
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jun 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well im looking into the custom dns at dyndns i feel that just may do the trick thanks for the replies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum