Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Modular X server bugs, annoyances and solutions (Part 1)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 35, 36, 37  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try but I don't see how something that has been there forever (and this conf was initially created by xorgconf with modular xorg) is going to fix this. Will have to try later as I am emerging world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destr0yr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Kelowna, BC.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:01 am    Post subject: evdev nvidia lockup Reply with quote

I have a problem that I can't seem to correct. I've followed http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Modular_Xorg and cannot get evdev to work. When I run `startx', I see the pretty nvidia logo, and my system just locks up, my only recourse being CTRL+ALT+DEL.

In /etc/X11/xorg.conf, I have:
Code:

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver     "evdev"
    Option   "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName   "geForce 4200"
    VideoRam    131072
    Option      "NvAGP" "3"
    BusID       "AGP:3:0:0"
EndSection

In /etc/make.conf:
Code:
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"
VIDEO_CARDS="vesa fbdev nvidia"

evdev is compiled into my kernel (not a module). The following packages are emerged: x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-1.0.0.5, x11-base/xorg-x11-7.0-r1, media-video/nvidia-glx-1.0.8178

Suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/dev/input/mice needs to be /dev/input/eventX where X is the number of the event releating to your mouse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
destr0yr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 80
Location: Kelowna, BC.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nesl247 wrote:
/dev/input/mice needs to be /dev/input/eventX where X is the number of the event releating to your mouse.

Thank you.

Side mouse buttons seem a little lethargic (ie. not working), but i think I read a post 15-20 pages back about that...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticapix
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 138
Location: France, Paris

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 8:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Xv Reply with quote

Eckzow wrote:
I'm stumped. I got modular installed and running well enough, but there's two problems.

I should start off by saying I'm using 2.6.15-gentoo-r4 on ~amd64 with ati-drivers 8.21.7.

Problem #1, and most importantly: XVideo appears to be broken?

Code:
$ xvinfo
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
 no adaptors present


The lines:
Code:

(II) Loading extension XVideo
(II) Loading extension XVideo-MotionCompensation

Are clearly present in my logs...

[...]

Any ideas?

Problem #2, and annoying though not critical: Xorg (or more likely fglrx) causes a system freeze after I exit X in any way... is this just more ATI's drivers sucking?


Hi

I'm nearly in the same situation:
- using ati-drivers-8.22.5
- kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1
- xorg-x11-7.0-r1

and xvinfo gives me:
Code:
X-Video Extension version 2.2
screen #0
 no adaptors present


I don't have media-plugins/gst-plugins-xvideo installed.
Code:
~\:0>glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
    GLX_ATI_render_texture
OpenGL renderer string: MOBILITY FIREGL T2 Pentium 4 (SSE2) (FireGL) (GNU_ICD)
~\:0>


Code:
~\:0>cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i -A 1 Xv
(II) Loading extension XVideo
(II) Loading extension XVideo-MotionCompensation
(II) Loading extension X-Resource
~\:0>


Do you know how to get xvinfo back ?

Pierre
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da Fox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Howto get vmware working again? Someone asked 1-2 pages ago, but no answer, the error is:
Code:
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libgcc_s.so.1/libgcc_s.so.1: version `GCC_3.4' not found (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)

And I found a strange bug with mplayer/xv:
When I run mplayer with vo xv, and an other window, which is broader than the mplayer window is placed over the top of the xv window, so essentially the top half of the mplayer window is covered over the entire width, a strang glitchy bug manifests. It's kind of hard to describe what happens, but I'll try:
The xv window continues to output video, but shifts upward, for the same amount that it is covered in the top, while in the bottom there is now a space the size of the covered area of xv window where you can see previous video frames standing still and highly 'vibrating' / shifting up and down very fast.

Does anyone have similar experiences, or can anyone recreate this?

I am using:
Code:
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: MOBILITY RADEON 9600 Generic
OpenGL version string: 2.0.5642 (8.22.5)

and x11-base/xorg-x11-7.0-r1

I am 99.9% sure this was *NOT* present in xorg 6.8.x (Which I've been using until 2 days ago), I think I would have noticed before, as this is pretty obvious :)
_________________
"Man fears the darkness, and so he scrapes away at the edges of it with fire."
- Rei Ayanami

JGBE, a Java based GameBoy Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ticapix
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Dec 2003
Posts: 138
Location: France, Paris

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Da Fox wrote:
Howto get vmware working again? Someone asked 1-2 pages ago, but no answer, the error is:
Code:
/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/bin/vmware: /opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libgcc_s.so.1/libgcc_s.so.1: version `GCC_3.4' not found (required by /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2)


Same error, with this config:
- using ati-drivers-8.22.5
- kernel-2.6.15-gentoo-r1
- xorg-x11-7.0-r1

In fact just the interface have no more the correct theme (an old one, seems to be the default one), but vmware is working, so ...
I'm more interested by solving my xv error.

Pierre
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samonli
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am    Post subject: I can't startx by user Reply with quote

I can't startx by user:

Code:

X Window System Version 7.0.0
Release Date: 21 December 2005
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 7.0
Build Operating System:Linux 2.6.16-rc3-nitro1 i686
Current Operating System: Linux eliy 2.6.16-rc3-nitro1 #1 PREEMPT Wed Feb 22 11:
59:47 CST 2006 i686
Build Date: 23 February 2006
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Thu Feb 23 18:19:01 2006
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/misc, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/75dpi, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/100dpi, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/TTF, removing from list!
Could not init font path element /usr/share/fonts/Type1, removing from list!

Fatal server error:
could not open default font 'fixed'
XIO:  fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0"
      after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.


how to solve it ? thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nesl247
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2004
Posts: 1614
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is common when using -Bdirect. IF you are in your LDFLAGS, then do this:

Add to "/etc/portage/bashrc" (Probably a new file)

Code:
[[ "$CATEGORY/$P" == "x11-libs/libXfont-1.0.0" ]] \
        && export LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--sort-common -Wl,--enable-new-dtags -Wl,-hashvals -Wl,-zdynsort"


Change your LDFLAGS here (But don't include -Bdirect.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Da Fox: I supposed you already try to re-run the batch of configuration of vmware ?

Using workstation here, w/o problem. But I was using cairo already before moving Xorg-7. I wonder if vmware need to be reconfigured somehow.
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da Fox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, obviously ;)
I also reemerged vmware-workstation but that didn't help

-edit: I got it working again:
It appears this is an error with VMware preloading the wrong version of some library:
http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=117863 wrote:
"We preload the libgcc_s.so.1 lib we ship (which comes from gcc 3.3) because of
GCC ABI compatibility issues. Apparently, libcairo.so.2 is not happy because it
wants a more recent lib (coming from gcc 3.4)."

If vmware wants to preload the wrong gcc lib file, there's nothing we can do
about it. VMware is broken in this respect, and is closed source (so we can't
rebuild with a valid gcc). Take it upstream.


What I did was search for the offending lib (/opt/vmware/workstation/lib/lib/libgcc_s.so.1/libgcc_s.so.1) on my system (/lib/libgcc_s.so.1) and make the former a symlink to the latter. VMWare is running happily again now 8)
_________________
"Man fears the darkness, and so he scrapes away at the edges of it with fire."
- Rei Ayanami

JGBE, a Java based GameBoy Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmartino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopefully someone can help me out,

I am currently running 7.0 without any problems. I am currently trying to upgrade to 7.0-r1 and the process keeps stopping at xserver--1.0.1-r4 (currently have -1.0.1-r1 installed).

Here is the error:
Code:
 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../include -I../../GL/include -I../../hw/xfree86/os-support -DHAVE_DIX_CONFIG_H -I/var/tmp/portage/xorg-server-1.0.1-r4/work/Mesa-6.4.2/include -DXFree86Server -DIN_MODULE -DXFree86Module -DXFree86LOADER -Wall -Wpointer-arith -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wmissing-declarations -Wnested-externs -fno-strict-aliasing -D_BSD_SOURCE -DHAS_FCHOWN -DHAS_STICKY_DIR_BIT -I../../include -I../../include -I../../Xext -I../../composite -I../../damageext -I../../xfixes -I../../Xi -I../../mi -I../../miext/shadow -I../../miext/damage -I../../render -I../../randr -I../../fb -I../../lbx -march=k8 -mtune=k8 -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -funit-at-a-time -frename-registers -fprefetch-loop-arrays -pipe -MT glxcmds.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/glxcmds.Tpo -c glxcmds.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/glxcmds.o
glxcmds.c: In function `__glXBindSwapBarrierSGIX':
glxcmds.c:1749: warning: cast to pointer from integer of different size
glxcmds.c: In function `__glxQueryHyperpipeNetworkSGIX':
glxcmds.c:1796: error: `xGLXQueryHyperpipeNetworkSGIXReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1796: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
glxcmds.c:1796: error: for each function it appears in.)
glxcmds.c:1796: error: `req' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1796: error: parse error before ')' token
glxcmds.c:1797: error: `xGLXQueryHyperpipeNetworkSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1812: error: `reply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1825: error: `sz_xGLXQueryHyperpipeNetworkSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c: In function `__glxDestroyHyperpipeConfigSGIX':
glxcmds.c:1836: error: `xGLXDestroyHyperpipeConfigSGIXReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1836: error: `req' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1837: error: parse error before ')' token
glxcmds.c:1838: error: `xGLXDestroyHyperpipeConfigSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1851: error: `reply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1863: error: `sz_xGLXDestroyHyperpipeConfigSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c: In function `__glxQueryHyperpipeConfigSGIX':
glxcmds.c:1871: error: `xGLXQueryHyperpipeConfigSGIXReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1871: error: `req' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1872: error: parse error before ')' token
glxcmds.c:1873: error: `xGLXQueryHyperpipeConfigSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1889: error: `reply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1904: error: `sz_xGLXQueryHyperpipeConfigSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c: In function `__glxHyperpipeConfigSGIX':
glxcmds.c:1915: error: `xGLXHyperpipeConfigSGIXReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1915: error: `req' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1916: error: parse error before ')' token
glxcmds.c:1917: error: `xGLXHyperpipeConfigSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1935: error: `reply' undeclared (first use in this function)
glxcmds.c:1949: error: `sz_xGLXHyperpipeConfigSGIXReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
make[2]: *** [glxcmds.lo] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xorg-server-1.0.1-r4/work/xorg-server-1.0.1/GL/glx'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/xorg-server-1.0.1-r4/work/xorg-server-1.0.1/GL'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

!!! ERROR: x11-base/xorg-server-1.0.1-r4 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1894:   Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 941:   Called src_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 1609:   Called x-modular_src_compile
  x-modular.eclass, line 302:   Called x-modular_src_make



I have run rev-revdep-rebuild and it says everthing is ok. I thought it might me a Mesa problem and recompiled it and still no go.

Anyone have any ideas.

Thanks Bill
_________________
Intell C2D Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz -- ASUS P5W DH
Zalman 9700 LED -- 8g OCZ Gold Memory -- GECUBE 1950xtx
250g Gentoo64 -- 200g Windows Vista Ultimate -- 200g Mac OSX
250g Windows XP PRO -- Liteon DVD, Pioneer DVR-111D DVD-D/L-RW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheDaveMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i get the message "X11TransOpen: Unable to find transport for local" ever since I did a system update yesterday... anyone encounter this previous, or know how to solve it? any help would be appreciated
_________________
New Laptop!
Core2 5500
2GB DDR2 667mhz ram
Intel GMA 950
160GB 5400rpm hard-disk
DVD-RW drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpikeXtrem
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Quebec, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried opengl driver and X11 driver... can't help

My trouble looks like this http://bleh.mine.nu/Screenshot-1.png

What you see the pink thing at the bottom is the UI... It's that way only in Xgl
_________________
Gentoo'ing Since 11/2004
Intel E6750, 4 Go ram DDR2 800mhz, Leadtek GeForce 8800 GTS 320 megs
kernel 2.6.24-r3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da Fox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spike, (I think) you should ask Xgl questions in the Xgl thread, you're far more likely to get an answer there :)
_________________
"Man fears the darkness, and so he scrapes away at the edges of it with fire."
- Rei Ayanami

JGBE, a Java based GameBoy Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomaschik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have installed XOrg 7, but the scroll lock doesn't work. When I turn off the num lock or caps lock the scroll lock LED lights up, and it doesn't respond to the scroll lock button. There is no problem in the console terminal environment. Anyone has any idea to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taipan67
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 866
Location: England (i'm told...)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thomaschik wrote:
I have installed XOrg 7, but the scroll lock doesn't work. When I turn off the num lock or caps lock the scroll lock LED lights up, and it doesn't respond to the scroll lock button. There is no problem in the console terminal environment. Anyone has any idea to fix this?

I'm getting it, too, on a newly-installed 'xorg-x11-7.0-r1' running on a newly-built Gentoo base-system. It happens as soon as you touch any of the modifier-keys.

EDIT:If i 'CTRL-ALT-F*' to a console, then 'ALT-F7' back to X, the situation is resolved - but it's a niggle nonetheless, & i have a thing about getting my systems just so...

It's got something to do with the new keyboard-configuration setup, though i haven't figured out how to get rid of it, yet. I believe the scroll-lock LED is being used to notify the user of either a 'change of group', or that the 'group is locked' - not sure which. :?

I also believe it's related to the now-infamous warning :-
Code:
The XKEYBOARD keymap compiler (xkbcomp) reports:
> Warning:          Type "ONE_LEVEL" has 1 levels, but <RALT> has 2 symbols
>                   Ignoring extra symbols

I've been going through the various files in /usr/share/X11/xkb looking for a clue, & mostly confusing myself even more. The /usr/share/X11/xkb/symbols/level3 file seems to be what's causing that warning to come up on my system, coz my 'gb' layout pulls it in, along with 'latin'.

If anyone else can take the next logical steps to resolving this (if they haven't already), i'd very much appreciate it, as i'm taking a break & emerging 'gnome-light' for a spot of relief. :lol:
_________________
"Anyone who goes to see a psychiatrist should have their head examined!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da Fox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone know why emerge --update world wants to install xterm, and as a result of that, downgrade xorg to 6.8.2?
Code:
[ebuild  N    ] x11-terms/xterm-207  USE="truetype -Xaw3d -doc -toolbar -unicode" 727 kB
[nomerge      ]  dev-python/python-fchksum-1.7.1
[nomerge      ]   dev-lang/python-2.4.2  USE="X gdbm ipv6 ncurses readline ssl tcltk -berkdb -bootstrap -build -doc -nocxx -ucs2"
[nomerge      ]    dev-lang/tk-8.5.0  USE="threads" [1]
[ebuild  N    ]     virtual/x11-6.8  0 kB
[ebuild     UD]      x11-base/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r6 [7.0-r1] USE="bitmap-fonts% cjk% ipv6% mmx% nls% opengl% pam% sse% truetype-fonts% type1-fonts% xv% -3dfx -3dnow% -debug% -dlloader% -dmx% -doc% -font-server% -insecure-drivers% -minimal% -nocxx% -sdk% -static% -xprint%" 45,134 kB

_________________
"Man fears the darkness, and so he scrapes away at the edges of it with fire."
- Rei Ayanami

JGBE, a Java based GameBoy Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Da Fox wrote:
[nomerge ] dev-lang/tk-8.5.0 USE="threads" [1]
[ebuild N ] virtual/x11-6.8 0 kB]

See how tk appears in the hierarchy, immediately before it all goes wrong? Check the dependencies of your "tk" ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da Fox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tk doesn't seem to (directly?) depend on xterm, from the ebuild:
Code:
DEPEND=">=sys-apps/sed-4.0.5
   >=sys-apps/portage-2.0.47-r10
   virtual/x11
   =dev-lang/tcl-${PV}*"


However emerge -pvt tk does give similar results:
Code:
[ebuild  N    ] x11-terms/xterm-207  USE="truetype -Xaw3d -doc -toolbar -unicode" 727 kB
[ebuild   R   ] dev-lang/tk-8.5.0  USE="threads" 3,042 kB [1]
[ebuild  N    ]  virtual/x11-6.8  0 kB
[ebuild     UD]   x11-base/xorg-x11-6.8.2-r6 [7.0-r1] USE="bitmap-fonts% cjk% ipv6% mmx% nls% opengl% pam% sse% truetype-fonts% type1-fonts% xv% -3dfx -3dnow% -debug% -dlloader% -dmx% -doc% -font-server% -insecure-drivers% -minimal% -nocxx% -sdk% -static% -xprint%" 45,134 kB


I don't understand what happens, but I think virtual/x11 has something to do with it, because 'emerge -pvt x11' outputs the same (minus the dev-lang/tk line).
What I'd like to know is:
- Why does only tk seem to depend on virtual/x11 (I do have a lot more programs that use X...)
- Why is virtual/x11 not installed, because I do have xorg-x11 installed

btw, it seems it is xorg-x11 that wants xterm, as an "PDEPEND".
So what I have now is:
dev-lang/tk needs virtual/x11, virtual/x11 wants to install(downgrade is a better word) x11-base/xorg-x11(-6.8.2-r6), and xorg-x11 wants to install x11-terms/xterm.
Where do I need to break the chain, and how do I break it?
--edit: reordered sentences to look&feel more 'english' ;)
_________________
"Man fears the darkness, and so he scrapes away at the edges of it with fire."
- Rei Ayanami

JGBE, a Java based GameBoy Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulBredbury
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Posts: 7310

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Da Fox wrote:
virtual/x11

Instead, use the "modular X compatible" dependencies as in /usr/portage/dev-lang/tk/tk-8.4.11-r1.ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taipan67
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 866
Location: England (i'm told...)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The version of 'dev-lang/tk' in your output is no longer listed in the online package database, so maybe an 'emerge --sync' would resolve your problem..? :?
_________________
"Anyone who goes to see a psychiatrist should have their head examined!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Da Fox
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, I copy & pasted the modular X depends to my ebuild and that worked fine, tk no longer wanted to install xorg-6.
Now it was aalib who longed for xorg-6 :(. So I unmasked aalib, retried, still xorg-6 came up, now because of some other lib. So several packages later I got it to the point where it no longer felt like installing xorg-6. 8). Is still had to install xterm though, in the end it was xinit who wanted to have it, so I let it have its way.

--edit
That version of TK isn't in portage, it is in my overlay. It has support for AA-Fonts, wich look a lot better in aMSN 8)
_________________
"Man fears the darkness, and so he scrapes away at the edges of it with fire."
- Rei Ayanami

JGBE, a Java based GameBoy Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taipan67
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Dec 2004
Posts: 866
Location: England (i'm told...)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taipan67 wrote:
The version of 'dev-lang/tk' in your output is no longer listed in the online package database, so maybe an 'emerge --sync' would resolve your problem..? :?
Da Fox wrote:
That version of TK isn't in portage, it is in my overlay.

I figured as much after looking through the Changelog, but you must have submitted your reply a second before i tried to delete my post. :roll:
_________________
"Anyone who goes to see a psychiatrist should have their head examined!"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cameta
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 695

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
I have installed XOrg 7, but the scroll lock doesn't work. When I turn off the num lock or caps lock the scroll lock LED lights up, and it doesn't respond to the scroll lock button. There is no problem in the console terminal environment. Anyone has any idea to fix this?

I have the same problem and no warning in kbd
II) LoadModule: "kbd"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/input/kbd_drv.so
(II) Module kbd: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
compiled for 7.0.0, module version = 1.0.1
Module class: X.Org XInput Driver
ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 0.5
_________________
Si algo falla LEE el jodido manual, Si sigue fallando LEE BIEN el jodido manual.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 35, 36, 37  Next
Page 36 of 37

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum