Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
rt2500 can't get an IP address [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rosscharben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:14 pm    Post subject: rt2500 can't get an IP address [solved] Reply with quote

I have just bought a pro-star 4764 AMD64 notebook which apparently is the same as the Clevo D470K. The Wireless card seems to be a Ralink rt2500.
Code:
AMD64 ross # lspci -v | grep Network
0000:00:05.0 Network controller: RaLink Ralink RT2500 802.11 Cardbus Reference Card (rev 01)
I emerged the rt2500 driver and
Code:
AMD64 ross # modprobe rt2500
AMD64 ross # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
rt2500                191208  0
then I added
Code:
config_ra0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_ra0="-t 10"
to /etc/conf.d/net and create the symlink
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.ra0
then
Code:
ifconfig ra0 up
after which I can see
Code:
AMD64 ross # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
rt2500                191208  1
and
Code:
AMD64 ross # ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:90:F5:32:B0:9A
          inet addr:192.168.0.5  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::290:f5ff:fe32:b09a/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:24673 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:23871 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:11347807 (10.8 Mb)  TX bytes:3298279 (3.1 Mb)
          Interrupt:201 Base address:0x2800

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:212 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:212 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:6316 (6.1 Kb)  TX bytes:6316 (6.1 Kb)

ra0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:09:16:E0:0C
          inet6 addr: fe80::211:9ff:fe16:e00c/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:5287 (5.1 Kb)
          Interrupt:177 Base address:0x4000
and also
Code:
AMD64 ross # iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

ra0       RT2500 Wireless  ESSID:"NETGEAR"
          Mode:Ad-Hoc  Frequency=2.437 GHz  Cell: 00:09:5B:FA:9F:AC
          Bit Rate=11 Mb/s
          RTS thr=2312 B   Fragment thr=2312 B
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality=76/100  Signal level=-34 dBm  Noise level:-192 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
However,
Code:
AMD64 ross # /etc/init.d/net.ra0 start
 * Starting ra0
 *   Configuring wireless network for ra0
 *     no access points found
 *   Couldn't find any access points on ra0
 *   Failed to configure wireless for ra0 


What's going on???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rosscharben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the router set to limiting access to specific mac addresses DOH!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickvernam
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wondering, did you get the card reader or the camera to work? I have the same laptop. Never did get wireless, camera or card reader working, although I never tried the camera or the card reader.

Bty, I noticed you got your rt2500 working...wondering if you using all 64-bit & SMP (for hyperthreading)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rosscharben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickvernam wrote:
wondering, did you get the card reader or the camera to work? I have the same laptop. Never did get wireless, camera or card reader working, although I never tried the camera or the card reader.

Bty, I noticed you got your rt2500 working...wondering if you using all 64-bit & SMP (for hyperthreading)?

Well as you can imagine, I just bought this beast and immediately installed Gentoo on it :D Wireless was the first thing I've tried to get working along with a useable desktop. I'll move onto the card reader and camera just as soon as I've found the time to get accelerated graphics working.

I am using 64-bit but NO SMP...

Before I embark on this journey has anyone else got this machine and got these things working???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rickvernam
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Jul 2004
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have accelerated graphics. Hmm...wishing I remembered what I did to get it though...
I really am drawing a blank right now. but I am testament that it is possible :-)
I'll be watching for questions I can answer...

Just curious at the moment, not really concerned enough to take the time to do the research...but how does not having SMP affect overall performance? I know that having SMP is the only thing preventing me from using my rt2500 wireless card...

[edit]
okay, here is the first place I went for the graphics stuff:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-301437-highlight-amd64+atidrivers.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rosscharben
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 11
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rickvernam wrote:

Just curious at the moment, not really concerned enough to take the time to do the research...but how does not having SMP affect overall performance? I know that having SMP is the only thing preventing me from using my rt2500 wireless card...

Maybe someone else can answer this, I really don't know!!

rickvernam wrote:
[edit]
okay, here is the first place I went for the graphics stuff:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-301437-highlight-amd64+atidrivers.html

Thanks I'll be giving that a shot tonight :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum