Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Will a 380w PSU be sufficient?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 474
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 4:44 pm    Post subject: Will a 380w PSU be sufficient? Reply with quote

Intel Pentium 4 "Northwood" 2.8GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology - Retail (CP-026-IN)

Intel Desktop D865PERL Rock Lake 865P "Springdale" (Socket 478) Motherboard - Retail (MB-002-IN)

GeIL 512MB (2x256MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5 (GE5123200BDC) (MY-004-GL)

Sony DDU1612 DVD-ROM (Silver) - OEM (CD-015-SO)

MSI CR52 Active Panel 52x/32x/52x CD-ReWriter - Retail (CD-008-MS)

Asus V9520 Magic/T GeForce FX 5200 128MB (GX-013-AS)

Maxtor DiamondMax Plus9 Serial ATA 80GB 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-017-MD)

OcUK Value Floppy Drive - Silver (CD-001-AP)

Akasa AK-670 Pentium IV Cooler (Socket 478) (HS-000-AK)

Hyundai ImageQuest Q770S 17'' Perfectly Flat CRT Monitor - Black/Silver (MO-006-HY)

YS-TECH FD1225 120mm Fan - 4 Pin (FG-003-YS)

Creative Desktop 6000 - Retail (KB-003-CL)

These are all the parts that I am getting. Only thing is my case only has a 380w PSU. Will this be enough to power everything? What happens in the event of not enough power?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted

http://verted.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31878
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verted,

Thats not enough information. Your 380W will be split between the different voltages it provides. I need to know that split to be able to calculate the total load vs the total supply capacity.

The load is not constant. CPUs draw more power when they are working hard, that when they are idle. CDRWs need more power for writing than reading. Graphics cards wnat more power for 3D games than word processing.

If the PSU is overloaded at peaks only, your system will work most of the time then crash when peak load is applied and the PSU overload protection kicks in. It may trash your filesystems then too. If its grossy overloaded the PSU will do resets hundreds of times a second. The PC won't work and the noise is very unpleasent.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verted
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 474
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. Thanks. I dont know how to find out the information though? Is it at all likely that the PSU will be enough?
_________________
Thanks,
-Verted

http://verted.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonhelmet
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 770
Location: Somewhere in a school

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, and I wouldn't mind betting you could run it just fine on a 250W PSU, so long as it was approved for Pentium 4 processors.

I don't get why power supply wattages are getting so enormous these days. It's not really necessary for the bulk of users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 31878
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Verted,

I did something similar for a poster a while ago. I don't think you will get past 300W flat out. Thats with a Gforce 6800 graphics card in the mix too.

380W will be plenty.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
localjoe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 10:12 pm    Post subject: 300W is ok for me.. Reply with quote

AMD XP2400 OC'd to 3200 speeds(a mere 200mhz more)
250GB HD
80GB HD
Audigy Platinum 2 w/ live drive
GeForce Ti4200 128 8X
2 512MB RAM
DVD Drive
CDRW Drive
Modem card
TV Tuner Card
Ethernet card

and I'm using a 300W power supply. never had a problem, and never will with my setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homeobocks
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 345
Location: I'm from Canada, and they say I'm a little slow . . . eh?

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

380 W should be enough for pretty much anything, AFAIK.

Ha ha! Now all you American base are belong to us! No 12 horsepower PSUs, only Watts!
_________________
HOW DO I SHOT WEB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum