Additional Coordination Needed Internally to Gentoo Project
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
drumz
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 1:24 pm    Post subject: Additional Coordination Needed Internally to Gentoo Project Reply with quote

First: The intention of this is NOT to start a flamewar, or to complain about Gentoo in general. The intention is to make an improvement from the end users side to something that needs to be thought about now before it becomes a real situation. This post is about *constructive* feedback to the developers.

I've been a heavy Gentoo user now for more years than I can remember (prior to that I was on RedHat). Throughout this time my experience has been great, and as a developer I apperciate the work of the Gentoo team. There have been a few minor bumps along the road for one reason or another, but considering the pace that Gentoo moves it's a truly remarkable accomplishment. Today, however, there are probably many people who use Gentoo in production or sem-production environements at home and at work or are trying to convince their management that it can be done.

And this is where an issue is starting to surface that some thought/mechanisms need to be put into place.

Issue: From an outsiders perspective (non-Gentoo developer) there is a need for better communication between the developers cutting code/releasing updates and the documentation staff and more importantly the end users when changes to an important component are made that can affect the stability/usability of the users' systems.

Examples: