block kazaa 2.0?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
anonazyet
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:31 am    Post subject: block kazaa 2.0? Reply with quote

Hi!
I'm a student at a Univ with 512kb Cable connection. My sys admin is kinda new and I need to help him out, blocking kazaa 2.0 as most of the guyz here just download movies all the time leaving every body with a 404 not found page( even google doesn't work!) There are about 75 windows clients. I guess just blocking the port doesn't work, tried to do a google couldn't come up with any hits. Has anyone successfully blocked kazaa and other p2p apps? I did guide him to use squid but dunno what he's upto, any suggestions would be gratefully passed on,
thanx,
Abhi
guero61
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'll probably end up having to do QoS or some such -- AFAIK, most modern P2P apps are port port agile, and can (and do) randomly change their port at will, even to use 80. Good luck, but I'm no expert on setting QoS up!
BlackBart
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can't just block port 1214, I'm sure somebody could find away to reroute traffic but it should work until word get's out on how to bypass it. Or you could just send to people using port 1214 threatening to revoke network access.
magi.sys
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Instead of picking ports to block I've always found that picking ports to leave open works better :D

Just open http, ftp, pop3, smtp, and IM client ports they use. Anything else they want open will be something bandwidth hungry anyway.
Koon
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2003 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote