Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
why is there no wdm ebuild?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bugzilla wrote:
------- Additional Comment #6 From Brad Cowan 2003-02-19 02:15 EST -------

added to portage thanks :)


FYI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidfunk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why is WindowMaker a dependency? thats just the next bloated thing i want to avoid.. does wdm really rely on it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at the wdm homepage. It pretty plainly states that it is. I'm through working on it, though. If you can get it working without windowmaker more power to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris W
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 972
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wdm is dynamically linking to the libwraster library from WindowMaker. Only the developer could tell you exactly why this is. In the grand scheme of things WindowMaker is hardly bloated.
_________________
Cheers,
Chris W
"Common sense: The collection of prejudices acquired by age 18." -- Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acidfunk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry, WindowMaker isn't of course just bloat. But since i don't use it, it's kinda useless for me.. so i guess i'll stay with xdm and try the theming.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thorbjorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

acidfunk wrote:
why is WindowMaker a dependency? thats just the next bloated thing i want to avoid.. does wdm really rely on it?



hehe never seen someone state Window Maker as bloat. WDM im sure depends on WINGS wich is part of WindowMaker
_________________
An intellectual is someone whose mind watches itself.
- Albert Camus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thorbjorn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2003 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

acidfunk wrote:
I'm sorry, WindowMaker isn't of course just bloat. But since i don't use it, it's kinda useless for me.. so i guess i'll stay with xdm and try the theming.


yea crap-load of bloat !!!
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 539K Mar 20 14:51 /usr/bin/wmaker*

of course in-mem while runnign its a bit more ( after linking )

3,760K is what ps/top is showing me. Thats with gnome support adn superfuous settings on, and a image based theme.
_________________
An intellectual is someone whose mind watches itself.
- Albert Camus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lamaistres
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 268
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged wdm. Is their something I'm suppose to edit to get wdm to start at boot? I looked in the man page and the home page, but no information about how to start wdm at boot.

The "desktop configuration guide" doesn't work. I get,
# rc-update add wdm default
* /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/wdm not found; aborting.

Huh, there's no wdm in /etc/init.d, but I do have xdm.

I'm at a loss. Is there any information that explains how to have wdm load at boot with gentoo?

Thanks.
_________________
"Always do what you want, and say what you feel,
because those who mind don't matter, and those
who matter don't mind." -- Dr. Suess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
weltraumfahrer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 195
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
first edit '/etc/rc.conf'...
then a 'rc-update add xdm default'

Frank
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lamaistres
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 268
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

weltraumfahrer wrote:
Hi,
first edit '/etc/rc.conf'...
then a 'rc-update add xdm default'

Frank


It didn't work. All I ended with was xdm and twm,
eventhough I edited rc.conf to have WDM as my login manager and fluxbox as my window manager.

There is a thread that says to rc-update add wdm default. I sure would like to know how they did that?
:wink:

What I like to do is have WDM start so I can choose between fluxbox, xfce4, and e17. XDM doesn't let me have this choce, or does it?
_________________
"Always do what you want, and say what you feel,
because those who mind don't matter, and those
who matter don't mind." -- Dr. Suess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Big-Bull
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

you said, that you added wdm to the portage tree, but how can i install it?

emerge says that it is [ Masked ], but I don't know what this meanes and how I can install it... ("emerge wdm" doesn't work)

(New to gentoo)

Markus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3057
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Big-Bull wrote:
Hi,

you said, that you added wdm to the portage tree, but how can i install it?

emerge says that it is [ Masked ], but I don't know what this meanes and how I can install it... ("emerge wdm" doesn't work)

(New to gentoo)

Markus


Something marked stable is marked as "arch" like with an x86 processor something stable is marked with the keyword "x86". But if it is known that it at least compiles and runs on that arch, then the devs marked it "~arch" (or in the case of x86 it is marked "~x86". And then if something is known to just be buggy as hell it will be hard-masked (marked to indicate it's not ready for any arch at all).

So to unmask this (thereby letting you install it) you must do:
Code:
echo "x11-misc/wdm ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords


Though you may have to do this for more programs (since wdm likely depends on something that's also masked the same way).

And if you feel more adventurous you can add ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" to your /etc/make.conf
This will allow any programs that are masked in that way to be installed. I've yet to find any major problems doing this but I'm also more used to gentoo than you are.

edit: Fixed the file name for the unmasking file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brot
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 320

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mischer wrote:
The reason I was asking for wdm was mainly because wdm offers a
window-manager chooser, which xdm doesn't. Of course, one can use
gdm or kdm, but for a really slim system (with little resources), these
require too many fat libraries which one might not want to install.
(Well, I just installed gdm on my Pentium-MMX 233 MHz system here
and I like the eye-candy very much - it's awesome but it also really
eats the resources... :win


http://slim.berlios.de/index.php

An ebuild for that would be very very nice to see in portage; ebuild here: http://blog.keeg.de/index.php?/archives/5-Slim.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bschnzl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Folks,

mischer wrote:
The reason I was asking for wdm was mainly because wdm offers a
window-manager chooser, which xdm doesn't. Of course, one can use
gdm or kdm, but for a really slim system (with little resources), these
require too many fat libraries which one might not want to install.
(Well, I just installed gdm on my Pentium-MMX 233 MHz system here
and I like the eye-candy very much - it's awesome but it also really
eats the resources... :wink:)

By the way: looking into /etc/init.d/xdm I found the script looking for
elogind and entranced. Are there ebuilds
containing these? I had not heard of these display managers before,
but from googling a littl, I guess they belong to enlightenment...

Michael


emerge -Dvp entrance
[...]
Total size of downloads: 37,619 kB

Excuse me for not wanting to waste 37MB just so I can log right into my GUI! I paid for those resouces, and I wanna decide how they are used!

BUT! I am having an issue that has me wrapped around the axle. I have XDM installed, and have been adding it to the default runlevel ad nauseum. I have been adding packages along with other stuff I want.

When WDM starts at boot, only the "3" key worx. That limits the functionality somewhat. If I start it from a command line, or by invoking /etc/init.d/xdm, it works fine. I have looked through dmesg, and the messages file to no result.

That might be a clue there. Perhaps I need to adjust the order of things...

Any help is appreciated!

B.
_________________
Persistance Pays
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sachankara
l33t
l33t


Joined: 11 Jun 2004
Posts: 696
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

brot wrote:
http://slim.berlios.de/index.php

An ebuild for that would be very very nice to see in portage; ebuild here: http://blog.keeg.de/index.php?/archives/5-Slim.html
It doesn't support PAM, and is thus a big no-no for some people. :/
_________________
Gentoo Hardened Linux 2.6.21 + svorak (Swedish dvorak)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum