Gentoo - A Beginner's Perspective
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jimbo62
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 7:48 am    Post subject: Gentoo - A Beginner's Perspective Reply with quote

I am a Gentoo beginner and a Linux noob. I have installed several Live CD distros, Knoppix, Mepis, PCLinuxOS, Peanut, Slax, DSLinux and Puppy. And I have installed Mandriva 10.1, Debian Sarge and Gentoo r9. IMHO, Gentoo, far and away, has the most complete and detailed documentation, the most active forum and the most helpful forum. I have yet to see a call for help answered with a patronizing "RTFM". Installation of Mandriva was simpler, a lot was configured to defaults that worked on my system. I used the "net install" option for both Debian and Gentoo. Gentoo took longer and required more configuration. As a result, I learned more about Linux than I did from all of the other distro installations combined. Who would have thought that I could sucessfully compile a kernel? Or recompile the kernel later to add support for the ntfs file system? The portage package manager makes software installation and updates painless. My only concern is the time it takes to install the larger applications. It took between 9 and 12 hours to completely install KDE. I gave up and went to bed after 9 hours. I woke up 3 hours later and installation was complete. I suppose installation from a CD would speed things up some. I guess that is the price you pay for all of the flexibility. Anyway, just some thoughts from a Gentoo beginner.

Thanks Gentoo, jimbo
ansient
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Free tip: press enter more often. It makes posts easier to read ;)

To make emerges painless:
Code:
emerge screen

So you can:
Code:
screen -xR <name>                     # suggest using "emerge" for the <name>