newbie install...many problems (burning/booting/more to come
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
preemi
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2003 11:47 pm    Post subject: newbie install...many problems (burning/booting/more to come Reply with quote

Hello. I am very new to gentoo, and to all nix in fact. I have been running freebsd/redhat/openbsd for about a year now, and I think I've come comfortable enough that I want to depend on linux on my powerbook instead of OS X/9.2.2.

WARNING>>I am new, sorry for stupid questions, I've searched the forum and haven't found much. (Oh yea just to note, everything I know I learned on my own, AKA, I'm in high school and don't have any formal education/experience in the computing field).

Problem 1) I downloaded the G4 optimized stage 3 bzip2 tarball and burned it as a data cd using nero on XP. Now, I don't have any idea how to get into the bios on a Mac. I tried burning this file to a cd, then holding C as I restarted, but it wouldn't boot off the cd. In my mind, this is fine because it is not an ISO image so I wouldn't understand how a mac could run off of a .tbzip2 file. Also, I would have thought there to be an install script which would untar the file, but there's just a .tbzip2 file in the 1.4 release folder. So, is there a way to burn it in Nero so that it will boot, or should I just try the .iso image from 1.2 that is not G4 optimized?

I know I only explained one problem, but I need to get it installed before I start running into new problems.

Sorry for lame questions but I really want to get gentoo to work on my mac...mainly because of the ports.

Thanks a lot,
Kevin
David_Escott
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

go here
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo/releases/build/1.2/

and download the file
gentoo-ppc-1.2-r1.iso