Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
error while loading shared libraries: libcom_err.so.3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gil
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Vancouver, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you people are saving the day for everyone in the community.

Thankful and really appreciated.

Gil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ph03n1x
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2003
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed nice effort from seemant ;)

But I'm still wondering why revdep worked here and for others it didn't. Hope my system won't go down...

PHP seems to work, had no time to check samba, gonna do that tomorrow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:57 am    Post subject: Re: That Darned libcom_err.so.3 Reply with quote

zmedico wrote:
boater wrote:
I have upgraded to gentoolkit-0.2.1_pre4 in an attempt to fix this problem but it didn't help. I have an infinite loop kinda thing going on here. everytime I run revdep-rebuild I get the same output and actions.


Try this and let us know

Code:
revdep-rebuild --soname libcom_err.so.3


This claims to succeed but when I re-run revdep-rebuild I get the same loop as above.
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="wgi"]
seemant wrote:

It also wants to rebuild firefox, which did not seem to be broken (well, at least it worked). At least it detects openssh as broken...


If this is Firefox-bin on AMD64 then that is a different know problem. revdep-rebuild fails to handle *-bin packages correctly.
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arenium
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup, seems like it's sorted out in the 1.4 release:

Code:
# emerge sync && emerge -avuD world
...
# revdep-rebuild -p
...take off the -p if you must...I didn't have to....
# equery which mit-krb5
/usr/portage/app-crypt/mit-krb5/mit-krb5-1.4.1-r2.ebuild
# /etc/init,d/sshd restart
# ssh node
Last login: Thu Jul 14 00:56:58 2005 from arenium


Excellent. Not sure if the OP can mark this as SOLVED, though.

EDIT: No, guess it's not. Read the posts below.


Last edited by Arenium on Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:54 am    Post subject: That F$%@!^& libcom_err.so.3 library. Reply with quote

Arenium wrote:
Yup, seems like it's sorted out in the 1.4 release:

Excellent. Not sure if the OP can mark this as SOLVED, though.


No, it isn't solved for me. I first thought it was specific to AMD64 but many people here are using x86 and having very similiar problems. Many of the looping dependencies of revdep-rebuild were solved by removing the *-bin packages. This one is solved by removing the mplayer32 package (a 32 bit binary for AMD64) as app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-gtklibs-2.1 is a dependency of mplayer32 but that really isn't an option I want to do. The systems 'seems' to function correctly though. It just irritates me when there are errors. :x
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frilled
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Atlantis, inner city ring

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I am on x86 and "go with the source, Luke". No -bin. But I have one machine constantly nagging about blackdown-jdk on revdep-rebuild, too.
_________________
"Failure is not an option!"
"Sir, we are out of further options."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 5:40 am    Post subject: source v *-bin on x86-64 Reply with quote

wgi wrote:
No, I am on x86 and "go with the source, Luke". No -bin. But I have one machine constantly nagging about blackdown-jdk on revdep-rebuild, too.


I think it's "Use the source Luke." Anyway I use the source too except where I have to have a 32 bit binary and emerge can't make them on x86-64. Media and Flash are the two big culprits there.
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frilled
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 386
Location: Atlantis, inner city ring

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it seems to be sorted out now. Seemant gave me a hint to try with ss-1.38 and com_err-1.38, and now Samba works again. So probably those new versions will be unmasked in the near future.

The problem that remains is revdep-rebuild not catching the breakage.
_________________
"Failure is not an option!"
"Sir, we are out of further options."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 5:39 am    Post subject: That F$%@!^& libcom_err.so.3 library. Reply with quote

Well it seems that sys-libs/com_err-1.38 and sys-libs/ss-1.38 were released today. I dutifully upgraded my system (along with some other packages) and everything seems to have gone okay. Upon conclusion I retried revdep-rebuild and came up with the same error: rm /root/.revdep-rebuild*.?_* ; revdep-rebuild
...
Checking dynamic linking consistency...
broken /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib/gtk/themes/engines/libpixmap.so (requires libgdk_imlib.so.1)
broken /usr/kde/3.3/lib/kde3/kio_http.so (requires libcom_err.so.3)
done.
(/root/.revdep-rebuild.3_rebuild)
...
All prepared. Starting rebuild...
emerge --oneshot =app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-gtklibs-2.1
...
Build finished correctly. Removing temporary files...

I don't have the same symptoms as others (w/ Samba) and I'm sure /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib/gtk/themes/engines/libpixmap.so is related to mplayer32-bin but for some reason revdep-rebuild doesn't even attempt to fix /usr/kde/3.3/lib/kde3/kio_http.so.

"equery belongs /usr/kde/3.3/lib/kde3/kio_http.so" failed to return anything but "equery belongs kio_http.so" returned both kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r9 and kde-base/kdelibs-3.4.1-r1. Do I even need 3.3.2 if I have 3.4.1? Just to be safe with some of the older packages I didn't --unmerge it. Manually trying to re-emerge kde-base/kdelibs ("emerge -avDt --newuse kde-base/kdelibs") yielded a number of "Error: libgd was not built with FreeType font support" which could be an insite to the problem as media-libs/libgd is a part of the mplayer32 package and not available as a 64 bit package. In my opinion kdelibs should not be linking against a 32 bit binary library. Anyway, that is where it stands at the moment, re-emerging kdelibs didn't change anything.
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renihs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 82
Location: Austria, Vienna

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i emerged mit-krb5-1.3.6-r3.ebuild and tried to run revdep-rebuild ...however i only get

Assigning files to ebuilds.../usr/bin/revdep-rebuild: line 510: /bin/fgrep: Argument list too long

(its about 40 packages to be fixed according to revdep-rebuild, the system has over 2000+ packages)

this isnt good :(
_________________
Gentoos are the fastest underwater swimming birds, reaching speeds of 36 km/h (22.3 mph).
Height: 75cm (29in), Weight: 5.5kg
If you discover spelling errors, you are authorized to keep them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

renihs wrote:
i emerged mit-krb5-1.3.6-r3.ebuild and tried to run revdep-rebuild ...however i only get
Assigning files to ebuilds.../usr/bin/revdep-rebuild: line 510: /bin/fgrep: Argument list too long
this isnt good :(


This can mostly be overcome by looking at some of the packages and emerging them again manually. The list will shrink accordingly.
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
renihs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Mar 2004
Posts: 82
Location: Austria, Vienna

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm i did check manual with equery (took hours!) ...
its only 16 packages to be recompiled....-> that argument list is too long????
_________________
Gentoos are the fastest underwater swimming birds, reaching speeds of 36 km/h (22.3 mph).
Height: 75cm (29in), Weight: 5.5kg
If you discover spelling errors, you are authorized to keep them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RiverRat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 65
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

renihs wrote:
hmm i did check manual with equery (took hours!) ...
its only 16 packages to be recompiled....-> that argument list is too long????


Now pick one of the 16 packages and "emerge -avDt --newuse <pkg_name>", then pick the next. It should only take a few packages before the argument list is no longer too long.
_________________
RiverRat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arenium
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wierd, now I'm getting rsync errors like this:

Code:
rsync: error while loading shared libraries: libacl.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
# revdep-rebuild
...says nothing has to be done...
# locate libacl.so.1
/lib/libacl.so.1
/lib/libacl.so.1.1.0
# equery belongs libacl.so.1
[ Searching for file(s) libacl.so.1 in *... ]
sys-apps/acl-2.2.27 (/lib/libacl.so.1 -> libacl.so.1.1.0)
# emerge --oneshot =sys-apps/acl-2.2.27
...
...try an rsync again...
rsync: error while loading shared libraries: libacl.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I must have recompiled OpenSSH 4 or 5 times now. This is with mit-krb-1.4.1-r2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zmedico
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: California USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arenium wrote:
# emerge --oneshot =sys-apps/acl-2.2.27
...
...try an rsync again...
rsync: error while loading shared libraries: libacl.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory[/code]


That's strange, so you remerged acl but rsync still doesn't work? I have rsync-2.6.5 and it works fine with acl enabled. What version or rsync do you have? Did you run ldconfig again to see if that helps?
_________________
Zac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cchee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 214
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did a system upgrade then i got libcom_err.so.3 error in loading the shared library. I check /lib the file isn't there (only libcom_err.so.2.1 and the symbolic link for libcom_err.so.2 and libcom_err.so). I did revdep-rebuild as well as revdep-rebuild --soname libcom_err.so.3. No luck either. Now I am stuck with cvs command which keeps giving me the error. I did a emerge cvs again. No luck either. Doesn't anyone has any other suggestion on how I can get my cvs command working again? My deadline is coming up very soon. I really need to get cvs working so I can move forward. Greatly appreciated for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcgreg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 264
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:44 pm    Post subject: There may be a problem with a dependant lib Reply with quote

cchee wrote:
... Now I am stuck with cvs command which keeps giving me the error. I did a emerge cvs again. No luck either. ...

I had this problem with the Subversion application -- the "svn" command kept failing with an error on this library. Re-building Subversion didn't help. I finally realized that one of the applications/libraries that Subversion was dependent on needed to be rebuilt. Perhaps this is happening in your case as well.

You can view the dependency tree/graph for an application by using "equery depgraph <package name>". Therefore, you may want to try:
Code:
equery depgraph cvs


Of course, I'm assuming that you upgraded your system libraries properly. Do you have the "sys-libs/com_err" package installed (version 1.38 or higher)?
_________________
Greg T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cchee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 214
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did a "emerge -eN cvs". Still no luck. Will try equery depgraph cvs and do the package one-by-one manually to see if that helps... thanks for the tip anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cchee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 214
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I now able to use most of the cvs commands (cvs add, cvs commit, cvs edit) except "cvs update" that still give me the same problem. anyone have any insight on how to address this one? thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fcgreg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 264
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 1:46 am    Post subject: I wonder which library is broken Reply with quote

cchee wrote:
Ok. I now able to use most of the cvs commands (cvs add, cvs commit, cvs edit) except "cvs update" that still give me the same problem. anyone have any insight on how to address this one? thanks in advance.

Hmmm, I wonder which library is still broken under-the-hood. I don't know enough about CVS internals to know right off. Since that part of the app uses the networking layer, perhaps it's something in there?

Do you use an SSH wrapper around your CVS comands? If so, start there.

Otherwise, you might want to wrap your CVS command in "strace":
Code:
strace cvs update


See what you find there.
_________________
Greg T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cchee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jul 2003
Posts: 214
Location: NYC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found the problem....

The server side cvs command has the same issue.... Need to "emerge -eN cvs" on the server side as well... Thanks for the help..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gloob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

solved after
Code:
emerge -Dup world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum