Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Audacity no "Wave Out" source [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:19 am    Post subject: Audacity no "Wave Out" source [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I am trying to use audacity to record some audio streaming off the net.
The site http://audacity.sourceforge.net/help/faq?s=recording&i=streaming suggests to select "wave out" or "stereo mix" from the drop down menu, but I have only "Mic:0" and "Front Mic:0".
Is this an issue related with alsa? Or is there something in the kernel I have to check?

Thanks for the help!

Efo


Last edited by Efo on Sun Mar 21, 2010 7:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We need more info about your alsa.
I can record streaming audio with audacity w/o problem.
Do you have any kind of mixer installed?
If so check to see "mix mono" is available that's what I use.
Gerard.

Edit:Mix mono records in stereo.Why it's called mix mono I don't know.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi gerard82,

Thank you for the reply. I have never played around with this, so forgive my cluelessness.
I have gnome-alsamixer installed, which has "Nvidia ID 3" in "Mixer Names and Visibility". This already looks a little funny to me.
I also have sdl-mixer installed (related?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use neither.
Can you find anything like "capture" in either mixer?
If you have alsa-utils installed you can run alsamixer in a terminal.
I've had problems at first to make this work.
I ran alsamixer and enabled everything.
I use kmix but if you don't use kde that's no option.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have capture in alsamixer and I have "Rec." checked.
I also have alsa-utils installed; however, I think gnome-alsamixes is the GUI for alsamixer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can audacity play soundfiles on your HDD?
Do you have other soundrelated software installed (jack esound etc) ?
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Gerard,

That's a good point, I have mplayer and xine working on the system; but if I try to play a file with audacity the sound doesnt come out. You may be on to something here...

Efo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you set the Device preferences in Audacity?
Mine is set to alsa.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the device set to ALSA, and I changed the playback option to dmix: now it plays the music files, but still no recording.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Audacity is very picky.
In the past with kde-3.5 you had to kill the kde sound daemon artsd.
I only have experience with my own hardware which is soundblaster emu10k1.
Try different entries for device in audacity.
Sorry to be of little help.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the different options without success.
Thank you for helping and keeping the post alive, maybe someone with a similar problem will pop in.

Efo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[update]

I installed kmix, which provided me with more playback options, to no avail. I tired all the new options but no recording.
Anybody with any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi efo,
I wonder if you succeeded in recording streams w. audacity.
Maybe this post will help.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-818256-highlight-.html
In kmix did you see "ac97" ?
I have to enable it and tick "capture".
Grtz,
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Gerard,

Thanks to keep looking. That is a nice link, I had a bunch of codecs installed in the kernel and I removed most of them. Unfortunately I am still having the same problem, but now I have a feeling it has to do with the backend.

When I run kmix I get the following message:
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
QSystemTrayIcon::setVisible: No Icon set
nonetheless it is present as a process. However, nothing changes in Audacity.

Thanks again,

Efo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Little update,

I am trying to use qarecord, but when I try to check the "capture" box I get:
Error opening PCM device plughw:0 (Device or resource busy)
Could not open PCM for capture.
ALSA capture failed!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll ask again:
Do you have jack and/or esound installed.
I had to put -jack in /etc/portage/package.use for audacity.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Gerard,

Sorry for missing that, and thank you for bearing with me.
No I dont have "jack" installed, but I did reemerged audacity with "-jack"... just in case.
I dont know if it is relevant but I have pulseaudio installed, it is required by few packages. Also, I can record from the front microphone.
By the way, when you can record the stream, do you have the "stereo mix" or "wave out" option in the drop down menu?

Efo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my dropdown menu I have :
Line.0
Video.0
Phone.0
CD.0
Aux.0
Mic.0
Mix.0
Mix Mono.0
Both Mix.0 and Mix Mono.0 work for streams.
Of the others I only use Line.0 when I want to copy from my external amplifier.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I have is:

Mic:0
Front Mic:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have pulseaudio,kde uses phonon.
I browsed the pulseaudio ebuild and it mentions jack-audio-connection-kit.
You could install it and experiment with the different connection possibilities.
You may need to re-emerge pulseaudio after installing jack-audio-connection-kit
and audacity with jack use flag.
I have a completely different setup on my box so -jack in my case is ok.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had jack-audio-connection-kit installed with jack... now I have removed jack and related flags from pulseaudio and audacity.

Too bad your system has completely different setup, but I surely appreciate your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have gstreamripper installed?
It can record streams which you later could load into audacity.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi efo,
Have you read this?
http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Mixer_Toolbar_Issues#Using_the_Control_Panel
Scroll to the Linux part.
There's a link with more info in it.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Efo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2005
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Gerard,

gstreamripper doesnt really give me all I want.
Anyway, I am working on it but I wanted to give you an update; here is what I have from "About audacity..." "Build Information" tab:

Build Information

File Format Support
libmad (MP3 Importing) Enabled
libvorbis (Ogg Vorbis Import and Export) Disabled
libid3tag (ID3 tag support) Disabled
libflac (FLAC import and export) Disabled
libtwolame (MP2 export) Disabled
QuickTime (Import via QuickTime) Disabled
Core Libraries
libsamplerate (Sample rate conversion) Enabled
PortAudio (Audio playback and recording) v19
wxWidgets 2.8.10 (Unicode)
Features
Nyquist (Plug-in support) Enabled
LADSPA (Plug-in support) Disabled
Vamp (Plug-in support) Disabled
Audio Units (Plug-in support) Disabled
PortMixer (Sound card mixer support) Enabled
SoundTouch (Pitch and Tempo Change support) Disabled
Build Information
Program build date: Mar 7 2010
Build type: Release build

Does anything look funny compared to your info?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2228
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the link I sent you there's another link which contains this:

QUOTE
Audacity

Audacity as packaged in Fedora 11 and 12 works with PulseAudio.

Audacity has now been packaged with a proper "alsa: pulse" device listed, in a ppa for ubuntu intrepid. See https://launchpad.net/~diwic/+archive

The following is information for versions without the pulseaudio patch:

Audacity doesn't support PulseAudio, nor Esound for the moment. You'll have to kill or suspend pulseaudio before you use this application. Audacity uses the PortAudio cross-platform Audio API which doesnt support pulseaudio. Some work was started on making portaudio support PulseAudio but this does not appear to be under active development currently and does not work in it's current state.

Audacity can use OSS for sound input and sound output. By changing the 2 settings in preferences to /dev/dsp, and running audacity as

padsp audacity

you route OSS sound through pulseaudio and can have successful playback and recording with audacity. You could also set the sound input to be ALSA which (for regular users) is less likely to be blocked by another application, as recording with multiple applications at once is less commonly done

Using pasuspender to momentarily suspend pulseaudio is another way to use Audacity.

pasuspender -- audacity <argument>
END OF QUOTE.

The output of about audacity you showed looks ok.
This line is the most important:
Code:

PortAudio (Audio playback and recording) v19

It's exactly as I have it.

As you can see from the above pulseaudio is the culprit.
You said you needed it for some programs so unmerging
is no option.
I don't know what desktop you use but it probably has
a "console" or terminal.
Fire it up and kill pulseaudio.
Code:

pkill pulseaudio

Then tune in to a stream and start audacity and try to
record.
Gerard.

Edit:The pkill command may not work because the binary is not named pulseaudio.
It could be something like pad (pulseaudio deamon).
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum