Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Wacom Volito2 and other Wacom tablets
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
CRV§ADER//KY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Torino

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SeeksTheMoon wrote:
btw, there is no 0.7.8 in portage, did you use an overlay or did your create your own ebuild? (my last sync was today 2007-08-18)

If you read my tutorial again, you'll find out that you're supposed to download the ebuild from the gentoo bugzilla.
_________________
Kyrie, Ignis Divine, Eleison ~ Elfen Lied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
josko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Mar 2007
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
gililei Desktop # ls /usr/local/portage/x11-drivers/linuxwacom/
linuxwacom-0.7.6_p4.ebuild

i Too, have the rong version.

But i *think* i've downloaded it correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRV§ADER//KY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Torino

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Installing_3rd_Party_Ebuilds
_________________
Kyrie, Ignis Divine, Eleison ~ Elfen Lied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SkeptikeR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Gernsheim, Hessen

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 12:33 pm    Post subject: Wacom compile errors Reply with quote

Hello

i read every post in this thread, because after my last update my tablet didnt work anymore.
before last Xorg update i easily emerged linuxwacom without portage overlays and everytime got the old but working wacom.
My wacom device is on ttyS0 and i get results in wacdump.
But in X11 i have no chance get it working. if i use the old driver(0.7.4_p3 i think) xorg crashes.
and i cant use the new Driver (0.7.6 and 0.7.8 ) cause of compile errors.

my system:
suspend-sources-2.6.21-r7 (tested also 2.6.22 and 2.6.22-r1 of suspend sources)
vanilla-sources-2.6.22-r1 (tested also 2.6.22)
a FSC t3010D tabletpc with a wacom touchscreen.

the compile errors:
./wcmCommon.c: In function 'xf86WcmEvent':
./wcmCommon.c:1098: error: 'pDev' undeclared (first use in this function)
./wcmCommon.c:1098: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
./wcmCommon.c:1098: error: for each function it appears in.)

for me it seems like a normal code error, like i make it sometimes ;-)

any idea? wrong kernel?

thank you

skeptiker
_________________
Mobile: FSC T3010D(TabletPC) | Centrino 1,4Ghz | 1GB DDR
60 GB | suspend-2.6.21-r7 | Intel 855Gm | Wacom TouchScreen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRV§ADER//KY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Torino

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

suspend-sources has already been reported to give compilation problem.

As for the vanilla-sources, please post the compilation error here: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=147537
maybe someone will find a solution.

- What version of X.org are you using? 7.2?
- What tablet do you have? Is it a USB or serial tablet?
- Please note that in my howto I say that the ebuild for linux-2.6.22 is BUGGY and IT WON'T BUILD, so either downgrade to linux-2.6.21 or modify the ebuild by hand (it's a trivial edit).
_________________
Kyrie, Ignis Divine, Eleison ~ Elfen Lied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SkeptikeR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Gernsheim, Hessen

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

first of all thank you for reply

i tried also with vanilla sources, and the edit i think i did also. if its only the change i think but ill try again when i am at home.

Xorg: 7.3
I think its a serial tablet, because its on /dev/ttyS0, irq 4 and port 0x0220 setserial tells me.

ill report then but it makes me hope :lol:
_________________
Mobile: FSC T3010D(TabletPC) | Centrino 1,4Ghz | 1GB DDR
60 GB | suspend-2.6.21-r7 | Intel 855Gm | Wacom TouchScreen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SkeptikeR
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Gernsheim, Hessen

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2007 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you all but with the new version of the ebuild p3 and the pdev patch i could compile, install and it works great!

thanks solved 4 me

by the way:
it runs nice with suspend-sources ^^
_________________
Mobile: FSC T3010D(TabletPC) | Centrino 1,4Ghz | 1GB DDR
60 GB | suspend-2.6.21-r7 | Intel 855Gm | Wacom TouchScreen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfragis
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Mar 2005
Posts: 95
Location: RE < IT < Europe

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here with Xorg 7.3 solved by the patch in ebuild p3.
Did anybody report this to the linuxwacom bug trucker? If so, I will fill a bug report soon.

BTW, why not using the RESTRICT="mirror" option in the ebuild?
Code:

--- linuxwacom-0.7.8_p3.old.ebuild      2007-09-24 17:06:29.000000000 +0200
+++ linuxwacom-0.7.8_p3.new.ebuild      2007-09-24 16:46:03.000000000 +0200
@@ -8,6 +8,7 @@

 DESCRIPTION="Input driver for Wacom tablets and drawing devices"
 HOMEPAGE="http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/"
+RESTRICT="mirror"
 SRC_URI="mirror://sourceforge/${PN}/${P/_p/-}.tar.bz2"

 LICENSE="GPL-2"


Thanks for your job.
_________________
Regards
Fabio Strozzi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nitm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, After I have updated to xorg 7.3 I can't use my graphire4 tablet. Here are the symptoms:

Code:

obfuscated@mraz ~ $ ls -l /dev/input/
общо 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    120 25 сеп  0,23 by-id
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    140 25 сеп  0,23 by-path
crw------- 1 root root 13, 64 24 сеп  0,25 event0
crw------- 1 root root 13, 65 24 сеп  0,25 event1
crw------- 1 root root 13, 66 24 сеп  0,25 event2
crw------- 1 root root 13, 67 24 сеп  0,25 event3
crw------- 1 root root 13, 68 24 сеп  0,25 event4
crw-rw---- 1 root root 13, 70 25 сеп  0,23 event6
crw-r--r-- 1 root root 13, 63 24 сеп  0,25 mice
crw-r--r-- 1 root root 13, 32 24 сеп  0,25 mouse0
crw-r--r-- 1 root root 13, 33 25 сеп  0,23 mouse1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root      6 25 сеп  0,23 wacom -> event6


The line with event6 tells us that it is read/write only by root and now wacdump doesn't work as normal user. Is this normal behaviour?
Wacdump doesn't work as root as well after I have started the X server.
Before I start it, just after I have issued "modprobe wacom" in text console the wacdump is working as it should: detects movement and clicks on the tablet. Very strange :?

And I have used the latest ebuild from the bugs.gentoo.org.
The module is loaded into the kernel. And Xorg also loads the module correctly I suppose:

part of /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Code:

(II) LoadModule: "wacom"
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/input//wacom_drv.so
(II) Module wacom: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 4.3.99.902, module version = 1.0.0
        Module class: X.Org XInput Driver
        ABI class: X.Org XInput driver, version 2.0
(II) Wacom driver level: 47-0.7.8 $


I'm running a ~amd64 system with ck-sources-2.6.22


Thank you in advance and if you need more info I will provide it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ray ishido
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 141
Location: Piracicaba (Brazil)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hum, hum, stupid newb question but how can I get the p3 ebuild? :oops:
I looked in the bug report but there is only the _p2 ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRV§ADER//KY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Torino

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ray ishido wrote:
hum, hum, stupid newb question but how can I get the p3 ebuild? :oops:
I looked in the bug report but there is only the _p2 ebuild

You have to apply linuxwacom-0.7.8_p2-p3.ebuild.patch to linuxwacom-0.7.8_p2.ebuild
Code:
man patch

_________________
Kyrie, Ignis Divine, Eleison ~ Elfen Lied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ray ishido
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 141
Location: Piracicaba (Brazil)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! I a newb a bit less stupid now! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CRV§ADER//KY
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Torino

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated. Now it supports linux-2.6.22.

Note that the dbus config file became broken somewhere in the past, creating a wrong device name. The symptom was the loss of pressure sensitivity in Gimp.
_________________
Kyrie, Ignis Divine, Eleison ~ Elfen Lied
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akiross
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 1170
Location: Mostly on google.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
Thanks for the howto, but I have some problems with a Bamboo one, I'm running 2.6.22-gentoo-r8 and patched (p3) drivers from the bugzilla.
The problem is that the drivers aren't loaded:

Code:
T:  Bus=02 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#=  6 Spd=1.5 MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS= 8 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=056a ProdID=0069 Rev= 2.00
S:  Manufacturer=WACOM
S:  Product=CTF-430 V2.0-0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr= 40mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=03(HID  ) Sub=01 Prot=02 Driver=(none)
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS=   8 Ivl=10ms


As you see, no drivers are loaded.

Any idea?

EDIT: Sorry, here some dmesg output
Quote:
aether linux # dmesg
aether linux # rmmod wacom
ERROR: Module wacom does not exist in /proc/modules
aether linux # modprobe wacom
aether linux # dmesg
usbcore: registered new interface driver wacom
/var/tmp/portage/x11-drivers/linuxwacom-0.7.8_p3/work/linuxwacom-0.7.8-3/src/2.6.19/wacom_sys.c: v1.46-pc0.1:USB Wacom Graphire and Wacom Intuos tablet driver
hub 1-0:1.0: state 7 ports 8 chg 0000 evt 0002
ehci_hcd 0000:00:02.2: GetStatus port 1 status 001403 POWER sig=k CSC CONNECT
hub 1-0:1.0: port 1, status 0501, change 0001, 480 Mb/s
hub 1-0:1.0: debounce: port 1: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x501
ehci_hcd 0000:00:02.2: port 1 low speed --> companion
ehci_hcd 0000:00:02.2: GetStatus port 1 status 003402 POWER OWNER sig=k CSC
hub 1-0:1.0: state 7 ports 8 chg 0000 evt 0002
hub 2-0:1.0: state 7 ports 4 chg 0000 evt 0002
ohci_hcd 0000:00:02.0: GetStatus roothub.portstatus [0] = 0x00010301 CSC LSDA PPS CCS
hub 2-0:1.0: port 1, status 0301, change 0001, 1.5 Mb/s
hub 2-0:1.0: debounce: port 1: total 100ms stable 100ms status 0x301
ohci_hcd 0000:00:02.0: GetStatus roothub.portstatus [0] = 0x00100303 PRSC LSDA PPS PES CCS
usb 2-1: new low speed USB device using ohci_hcd and address 7
ohci_hcd 0000:00:02.0: GetStatus roothub.portstatus [0] = 0x00100303 PRSC LSDA PPS PES CCS
usb 2-1: skipped 1 descriptor after interface
usb 2-1: default language 0x0409
usb 2-1: new device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
usb 2-1: Product: CTF-430 V2.0-0
usb 2-1: Manufacturer: WACOM
usb 2-1: uevent
usb 2-1: usb_probe_device
usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
usb 2-1: adding 2-1:1.0 (config #1, interface 0)
usb 2-1:1.0: uevent
usb 2-1:1.0: uevent
usbhid 2-1:1.0: usb_probe_interface
usbhid 2-1:1.0: usb_probe_interface - got id
drivers/usb/core/inode.c: creating file '007'
hub 2-0:1.0: state 7 ports 4 chg 0000 evt 0002
aether linux # cat /proc/bus/usb/devices | grep -i -A4 -B3 wacom
T: Bus=02 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 7 Spd=1.5 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS= 8 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=056a ProdID=0069 Rev= 2.00
S: Manufacturer=WACOM
S: Product=CTF-430 V2.0-0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr= 40mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=03(HID ) Sub=01 Prot=02 Driver=(none)
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS= 8 Ivl=10ms

_________________
Libera scienza in libero stato.
Horizon of Events
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akiross
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 1170
Location: Mostly on google.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I added my device ID as written here:
http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/index.php/howto/newtablet

The driver is finally active on this device:
Quote:
T: Bus=02 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 9 Spd=1.5 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS= 8 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=056a ProdID=0069 Rev= 2.00
S: Manufacturer=WACOM
S: Product=CTF-430 V2.0-0
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr= 40mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 1 Cls=03(HID ) Sub=01 Prot=02 Driver=wacom
E: Ad=81(I) Atr=03(Int.) MxPS= 8 Ivl=10ms


but actually wacdump /dev/input/wacom dump just a bit of information, when i start to move the pen, but next it stops transmitting. It also doesn't show Table model, vendor, device and "SUB" (which i don't know what it is).

Any idea? Any experience with Bamboo One?
_________________
Libera scienza in libero stato.
Horizon of Events
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akiross
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 1170
Location: Mostly on google.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/message.php?msg_name=200710092042.28683.freqmod%40gmail.com

Ok this one solved for me (at least now wacdump works :), it seems that Bamboo One aren't supported by 0.7.8-p3 drivers, yet.
_________________
Libera scienza in libero stato.
Horizon of Events
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ray ishido
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 141
Location: Piracicaba (Brazil)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a bamboo too, but with 2.3.23 kernel, and it work well (linuxwacom-0.7.8_p3).
for now my problem is about gimp configuration:
I don't have pressure but it seems to work in X:
I played a bit with "option "Treshold"" in xorg.conf, and setting the value to 255 I need to "pierce" ;) the tablet to select an icon while seting to 30 the pressure needed is less
The eraser act as the stylus.

if I can configure the option in "File -> Preferences -> Input Devices -> Configure Extended Input Devices" like indicated here http://linuxwacom.sourceforge.net/index.php/howto/gimp , I can't even draw, select, etc... (when I try, the cursor transform to the "move" cursor :( )

note: I also tryed to put "windows" in gimp option but it did not change anything.
note 2: I also rebuild linuxwacom

My other problem is: how to configure the button of the pad?

note: wacdump work well when X is not running, but xidump answer that:
Code:
localhost ray # xidump -l
Virtual core keyboard          keyboard
Virtual core pointer           disabled
pad                            unknown
eraser                         unknown
stylus                         unknown
Keyboard0                      unknown
Mouse0                         unknown


and with xsetwacom :

Code:
xsetwacom set Stylus Button2 "button 5"
Error (2): WacomConfigOpenDevice: No such device
Set: Failed to open device 'Stylus'


any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aitch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 88
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, i'm having trouble with my wacom intuos2 tablet under xorg 7.3.

while it works fine as a pointing device, I can't use it at all in gimp, krita etc.

I get no devices in my wacomcpl, just a blank panel where 'cursor, stylus, eraser' should be.
no output on wacdump..

it's really perplexing. I'm using the wacom module from x11-drivers/linuxwacom-0.7.8_p3, with the udev and wacom useflags enabled. I've followed all the steps in this guide in trying to get this thing going again but nothing seems to help.

it's odd, it just stopped working all of a sudden. I'll post any requisite logs, but my xorg.0.log seems normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ray ishido
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 141
Location: Piracicaba (Brazil)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what is the result of:

Code:
xidump -l


what kernel and version of xorg-server are you using?
I have the same problem with a bamboo. I am suspecting a compatibility pb with X, because in my case, wacdump work well. (to test, shut down X and run wacdump /dev/input/wacom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ray ishido
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 141
Location: Piracicaba (Brazil)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

It seems I was right. I just downgraded to xorg-server 1.3.0.0 (which make emerge downgrade renderproto to 0.9.2, and xf86-input-keyboard to 1.1.1-r1), and to xf86-input-mouse 1.2.2, and it solves the problem.

note that now xidump recognize stylus, pad, and eraser as "extension", but xidump stylus don't seems to work (I move the sylus and nothing changes).

but with gimp, no more pb :)

I read that in xorg 1.4 the dev implement hotplug. perhaps it is the pb (note that I am not a dev so it's purely speculation (ie don't kill me if I am wrong ;) )). I think further test are need, expecialy testing the latest version of xorg-server 1.3 with xf86-input-mouse 1.2.2. if it work, doing an upgrade to xf86-input-mouse-1.2.2-r1, before reporting to the dev of linuxwacom.

but I am quite busy in my job for now :oops: , so, if somebody else could do it that would be nice...

note: I am using compiz-fusion 0.6 with gnome 2.20 (I read that it could have pb with compiz stuff, but it not seems to be the pb here)

note 2: here is a link to configure the pad :http://sourceforge.net/mailarchive/forum.php?thread_name=1183931219.9186.24.camel%40doubler.crozat.net&forum_name=linuxwacom-discuss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionflux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Sep 2003
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem here. My Graphire3 does not work in Gimp but fine otherwise (in Gimp, I get the arrows like when the middle button is pressed to pan the view when setting the pen down and dragging around).
I am using the patched ebuild from the bug report.
Downgrading to xorg-server-1.3 solves it, so it appears to be an xorg-1.4 issue.
_________________
"The Multiverse doesn't make sense, and it ain't supposed to."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 477
Location: Bürstadt, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First of all, many thanks for the tutorial and ebuilds!

Got my Bamboo Stylus/Cursor/Erasor working. But I just don't get the pad buttons and the wheel to do something usefull. "xidump pad" shows that buttons 9 10 13 14 and wheel are working (as well as some strange buttons 4 and 5 which I can not relate to any button or wheel position).

The pointer sometimes jumps to top left corner when hitting pad buttons despite having defined "buttonsonly" "on".

Can anyone post bamboo pad specific xorg.conf or a short tutorial on how configure these buttons? I'm pretty lost at the moment.

-gentoo-sources 2.6.23 (amd64)
-ebuild from bugs.gentoo.org (p2 with patches)
-xorg-server-1.3.0, xorg-x11-7.2
-my xorg.conf (selection):
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
  Driver        "wacom"
  Identifier    "pad"
  Option        "Device"        "/dev/input/wacom"
  Option        "ButtonsOnly"   "on"
  Option        "Type"          "pad"
  Option        "USB"           "on"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
  Identifier "Default Layout"
  screen 0 "Default Screen" 0 0
  InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
  InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad" "CorePointer"
  InputDevice "Mouse1"
  InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
  InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
  InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
#  InputDevice "pad
  InputDevice "pad" "SendCoreEvents"
  InputDevice "Vaio keys" "SendCoreEvents"
EndSection



By the way:
- Yesterday I used MS Vista of necessity and installed the bamboo driver. I was surprised of what I could do there. Handwriting was recognized without a flaw giving me the possibility to almost completely replace keyboard input by writing on my bamboo. Is there any linux project heading for something like that?
- Does anyone know an application with which I can paint directly on the desktop? Something like virtualboard for windows: http://www.redsofts.com/soft/970/6485/VirtualBoard.html


Thanks for any help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aitch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 88
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey all

I upgraded my wacom driver to 0.7.9_p1, which fixed my previous issues

just copied the 0.7.8_p3 ebuild with a new name and it fetched the upgrade fine.

however, I'm having this weird issue where with krita and gimp if I try to draw anything it switches foreground and background colour every time I press the stylus button.

does that make sense? it switches colour with every stroke.. I don't know how to fix it.

any advice would be very helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ilm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 310
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure if this is the right place to put this, or if I should have started a new thread...

I'm considering purchasing a tablet to use as a general purpose "mouse"-ing device. I can get a Graphire 4 rather cheaply, but before I buy it I want to check a couple of things.

Mainly, are the buttons on the pen and tablet programmable? It's no good to me as a mouse if there's no middle-click, for example, but from what I've been able to find it isn't possible to re-program these buttons in Windows.

Also, how does the tablet work with Xinerama? Seamlessly (i.e. as if it is just one big monitor)? I don't have Xinerama atm, but I'm looking at buying myself a new box over the next few months and setting up Xinerama with it.

Finally, I'd like to hear opinions of people who do use tablets. I've never actually used a tablet before (apart from trialling them out in shops), but the main reason I'm looking at getting one is because my wrist is starting to get sore from my normal mouse (which is starting to play up on me anyway). Is a tablet usable as an everyday pointing device? And whilst I don't game much, is it usable when gaming, especially in FPSs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ilm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 310
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I ended up buying the graphire and got it working. A couple of things to note with the HOWTO:

1) Despite having already rebooted with the kernel, when I configured the tablet, re-loaded the module and restarted X, the buttons would register but motion wouldn't (restarting fixed this).

2) Is it required to have wacom listed in INPUT_DEVICES in make.conf?

3) I found expresskeys (ebuild: http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=124485) to be useful in getting the touch strip working (haven't gotten the buttons working yet though).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum