Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to get xdirectfb working
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ivion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 45
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, everything is working fine here with XDirectFB...really nice. ^_^
But now I want to run mplayer in XDirectFB, just like mplayer when you use XFree86 (so just type the command in a term and it 'pops' up). I've tried different kinds of -vo settings, tough none of them worked (or they screwed up my XDirectFB in a way, or they returned no image or they crashed). Has anyone have experience with this? Because I'dd really like to get it working. :D

Or is the speed when playing videos with(in) XDirectFB not suffecient? If that's the case, can some of you offer a different solution?

Many Thanks. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brazilian_joe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2003 7:47 pm    Post subject: video is OK, but what about the mouse? Reply with quote

I made it work all right, but the mouse crazes out, just like it did on Xfree before I configured it correctly.
It uses IMPS/2 on Xfree, I thought XdirectFB would use that setting, but it is not.
Where do i configure it? Or the drivers simply dont exist?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paramthegreat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2002
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 9:33 pm    Post subject: changing transparency in directfb w/o wheel mouse Reply with quote

hi all,
i have a three button mouse but not a wheel mouse. how can i change the transparency of any application dynamically. i do not want that i preset all the applications to a specific transparency level.
thanx,
param.
_________________
Parminder
guptaparminder at yahoo dot com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nerdbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 981
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2003 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lockup wrote:


-the cursor leaves a black trail behind it, as if i was selecting stuff in a term(i mean for the "style" of the black crap it leaves....vertical rectangles the size of an eterm char buffer)



had a similar problem - xdirectfb doesn't deactivate gpm, so I had to do it manually:
Code:

/etc/init.d/gpm stop

_________________
I'm really wondering what Lovechild is doing nowadays...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snutte
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Apr 2002
Posts: 181
Location: Sweden, Malmö

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2003 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is kinda nice. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dantrevino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2003 5:11 pm    Post subject: next step? Reply with quote

Ok, it works great. I have Gnome2 running under directxfb. Now how do I make my menus translucent?
_________________
embrace the wrevolution
http://wrevolution.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Oct 2002
Posts: 821
Location: Somerville, MA

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2003 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does directxfb support dual heading, similar to xinerama from xfree?

the reason i ask is that it's the only reason keeping me from trying directxfb, because i finally got xinerama working (not perfectly, but good enough) and i don't know if i can go back to just one monitor :p (oh, the horror!). if it doesn't have dual monitor support, would anyone know when it's planned to be added?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dantrevino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2003 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ian wrote:
does directxfb support dual heading, similar to xinerama from xfree?

the reason i ask is that it's the only reason keeping me from trying directxfb, because i finally got xinerama working (not perfectly, but good enough) and i don't know if i can go back to just one monitor :p (oh, the horror!). if it doesn't have dual monitor support, would anyone know when it's planned to be added?


I dont know much about the project, but according to this (http://www.directfb.org/download/DirectFB/NEWS) they "Enabled acceleration for the second head of a dual head Matrox card." as of version 0.9.13. So my guess is yes. But there is a mailing list ( http://www.directfb.org/mailinglists.xml ) where they might be able to answer better. And even archives of that list ( http://www.directfb.org/mailinglists/directfb-users/ ).

dan
_________________
embrace the wrevolution
http://wrevolution.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I got this working no problem. Well ok, so there is one problem. Framebuffer refresh rates suck is pretty much the conclution I'm comming to. I was using rivafb first and I can't seem to get it above 640x480.. some reading told me its not able to go higher than that. Alright, fine.. back to vesa. Well, evidently vesa can't have a refresh higher than 60hz for 1280x1024 (read it somewhere in the bootsplash thread). Right. So the framebuffer, for any decent res, makes my eyes fall out. Really nice idea in theroy, but having transulcent windows isn't worth making my eyeballs fall out. No, seriously. My eyes have been aching for the last 30 minutes. They are going to fall out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Oct 2002
Posts: 821
Location: Somerville, MA

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dantrevino wrote:

I dont know much about the project, but according to this (http://www.directfb.org/download/DirectFB/NEWS) they "Enabled acceleration for the second head of a dual head Matrox card." as of version 0.9.13. So my guess is yes. But there is a mailing list ( http://www.directfb.org/mailinglists.xml ) where they might be able to answer better. And even archives of that list ( http://www.directfb.org/mailinglists/directfb-users/ ).

dan


well, i have an art radeon 8500, and i do remember seeing that ati cards were supported, so maybe i'll get lucky and it'll work. unfortunately, gnome stopped working for me a few days ago, so i need to get that working first...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dantrevino
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 9:18 pm    Post subject: mouse acceleration? CTRL-ALT-F2? Reply with quote

Two things:

1. Everything works great, but my mouse moves too slow for me. I'm running GNOME, and maxed out the mouse accel control to no avail. How can I accelerate my mouse movement?

2. How can I change to another console once I've started GNOME? CTRL-ALT-Fx doesnt work.

dan
_________________
embrace the wrevolution
http://wrevolution.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2003 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. I've read all about xdirectfb, it sounds great, and the screenshots are incredible. But when I follow the instructions in the beginning of this thread, and get to emerging xdirectfb, I get:

Code:
waoh xdirectfb# ACCEPT_HEYWORDS="~x86" emerge xdirectfb-1.0_rc4.ebuild
Calculating dependencies \
!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy ">=dev-libs/DirectFB-0.9.17" have been masked.
!!!    (dependency required by "x11-base/xdirectfb-1.0_rc4" [ebuild])

!!! Error calculating dependancies. Please correct.


what can I do about this?
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
esapersona
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will this fb stuff still work with the opengl stuff? (QuakeIII, Chromium, etc..)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fimblo wrote:
Code:
waoh xdirectfb# ACCEPT_HEYWORDS="~x86" emerge xdirectfb-1.0_rc4.ebuild
Calculating dependencies \
!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy ">=dev-libs/DirectFB-0.9.17" have been masked.
!!!    (dependency required by "x11-base/xdirectfb-1.0_rc4" [ebuild])

!!! Error calculating dependancies. Please correct.


Try it again, and this time spell KEYWORDS correctly. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh gawd. doh!!!

*bonks himself on the head*
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2003 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hullo :) prolly another stupid question, here goes:

I compiled xdirectfb, and when I want to start it, I type XDirectFB and I get this blue screen like hhaamu discovered. he solved the problem by waiting a while (at least thats what it seemed like he did). I've waited like 30 seconds or so, and still nothing.

I've passed vga=828 video=vesa:mtrr,ywrap to the kernel (828 looks best on my system, I've got a s3 supersavage (I've got an IBM t23 laptop)).

I've got an .xinitrc file, with my windowmanager in it (waimea).

How do I start my windowmanager?

EDIT: doh, I ran startxdfb and it worked after a while:)

Another question- I've seen some people talk of other frameuffers, other than vesafb (like rivafb etc). I've also seen (in other forums) people write video=savagefb. the question is- does anyone with a savage card know what flags to pass to the kernel so that it maximizes the hardware acceleration of my video card?

cheers!
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 11:31 pm    Post subject: recompile?! Reply with quote

need i recompile all of my apps that have been compiled for X?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimblo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 306
Location: European Union, Stockholm

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, I just plugged in my mouse and started up startxdfb.
_________________
http://blahonga.yanson.org - little geekblog
http://blahona.yanson.org/howtos/livecd - yet another livecd howto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CoronaLover
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 163
Location: Rosh-ha'ayin, Israel

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tips for NVIDIA users:
1. user rivafb
2. make sure you have "desktop-buffer-mode=backsystem" in your .directfbrc this will speed up XDirectFB ALLOT!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nerdbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 981
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CoronaLover wrote:
tips for NVIDIA users:
1. user rivafb
2. make sure you have "desktop-buffer-mode=backsystem" in your .directfbrc this will speed up XDirectFB ALLOT!

good hint, but rivafb crashes my computer (I'm using a GF3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MADcow
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 742
Location: RIT (Henrietta, New York, United States)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 12:04 am    Post subject: dissappointed Reply with quote

ok, the clear windows are cool, but it sucks with enlightenment; none of the effects work (E effects). my background is replaced by this lame solid blue thing, i cant click on my e desktop for my menu, i only have one virtual desktop, and tuxracer is slow ass ass....

im back to xfree...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Frozenwings
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2003
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So no 3d acceleration? It's one thing that keeps me from trying this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nerdbert
l33t
l33t


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 981
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:17 pm    Post subject: Re: dissappointed Reply with quote

MADcow wrote:
ok, the clear windows are cool, but it sucks with enlightenment; none of the effects work (E effects). my background is replaced by this lame solid blue thing, i cant click on my e desktop for my menu, i only have one virtual desktop, and tuxracer is slow ass ass....

im back to xfree...


didn't know this is specific to enlightenment (which I use), but it definately sucks.
However, this stuff seems to be quite experimental right now and I don't want to blame the guys behind it at this stage of the development.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
tips for NVIDIA users:
1. user rivafb


how do you use rivafb? I've tried enabling it as various things in the kernel, but I can't seem to get my grub lines correct.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CoronaLover
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 163
Location: Rosh-ha'ayin, Israel

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just added video=rivafb:1024x768-16@85 , this is on 2.5.70 kernel. on 2.4 I think you should replace rivafb with riva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 2 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum