Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How big are your /usr and /proc?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hauser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 650
Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 4:50 pm    Post subject: How big are your /usr and /proc? Reply with quote

My gentoo box is becoming really fat! My /usr is about 4.3G, where /usr/portage is around 650M.
Here's my world file:
Code:
app-admin/sudo
app-admin/syslog-ng
app-arch/rpm2targz
app-cdr/cdrtools
app-cdr/k3b
app-doc/doxygen
app-editors/gedit
app-editors/nano
app-editors/nedit
app-editors/vim
app-i18n/fcitx
app-i18n/scim
app-i18n/scim-chinese
app-i18n/zhcon
app-misc/screen
app-office/oooqs
app-office/openoffice-ximian
app-portage/esearch
app-portage/gentoolkit
app-portage/gentoolkit-dev
app-text/a2ps
app-text/gv
app-text/rcs
app-text/sgml-common
dev-cpp/gtkmm
dev-db/mysql
dev-libs/atk
dev-libs/glib
dev-libs/libol
dev-libs/libpcre
dev-libs/libxml2
dev-libs/libxslt
dev-libs/lzo
dev-python/pygtk
dev-util/ccache
dev-util/yacc
games-board/cgoban
games-board/gnugo
games-board/xmahjongg
games-sports/torcs
gnome-base/control-center
kde-base/kdeaddons
kde-base/kdeadmin
kde-base/kdeartwork
kde-base/kdebase
kde-base/kdegraphics
kde-base/kdelibs
kde-base/kdemultimedia
kde-base/kdenetwork
kde-base/kdepim
kde-base/kdeutils
mail-mta/ssmtp
media-fonts/hkscs-ming
media-fonts/ttf-bitstream-vera
media-gfx/bootsplash
media-gfx/fbgrab
media-gfx/gimp
media-gfx/gphoto2
media-libs/alsa-lib
media-libs/alsa-oss
media-libs/flac
media-libs/fontconfig
media-libs/freetype
media-libs/libao
media-libs/libgphoto2
media-libs/libid3tag
media-libs/libmad
media-libs/libmikmod
media-libs/libmpeg2
media-libs/libogg
media-libs/libpng
media-libs/libsdl
media-libs/xine-lib
media-plugins/xmms-arts
media-sound/abcde
media-sound/alsa-utils
media-sound/amarok
media-sound/beep-media-player
media-sound/cdparanoia
media-sound/easytag
media-sound/esound
media-sound/lame
media-sound/madplay
media-sound/mpg123
media-sound/normalize
media-sound/sox
media-sound/vorbis-tools
media-sound/xmms
media-video/kaffeine
media-video/kmplayer
media-video/mplayer
media-video/nvidia-glx
media-video/nvidia-kernel
media-video/vlc
media-video/xanim
net-dns/djbdns
net-fs/samba
net-im/gaim
net-irc/xchat
net-libs/linc
net-misc/clockspeed
net-misc/d4x
net-misc/ntp
net-p2p/amule
net-p2p/azureus-bin
net-print/cups
net-print/foomatic
net-print/foomatic-db
net-www/lynx
net-www/mozilla
net-www/mozilla-firefox
net-www/mozilla-launcher
net-www/netscape-flash
net-www/opera
net-www/prozilla
sys-apps/acpid
sys-apps/hotplug
sys-apps/module-init-tools
sys-apps/modutils
sys-apps/pciutils
sys-apps/qingy
sys-apps/vixie-cron
sys-boot/grub
sys-devel/gettext
sys-devel/prelink
sys-fs/convertfs
sys-fs/dosfstools
sys-fs/mtools
sys-fs/reiserfsprogs
sys-kernel/genkernel
sys-kernel/gentoo-dev-sources
sys-kernel/mm-sources
x11-base/opengl-update
x11-base/xorg-x11
x11-libs/gtksourceview
x11-libs/libXft
x11-libs/pango
x11-libs/qt
x11-misc/numlockx
x11-misc/xscreensaver
x11-terms/gnome-terminal
x11-wm/metacity
x11-wm/windowmaker
xfce-base/xfce4
xfce-extra/xfcalendar
xfce-extra/xfce4-themes
xfce-extra/xffm-icons

Not many things, right?
Besides, my /proc is 514M. Do you guys think this is normal?
_________________
AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl

Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think proc has a fake file that shows it has the same size as your ram, but doesnt actually

edit - /usr is 3.2G


Last edited by El_Presidente_Pufferfish on Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32026
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hauser,

/proc doesn't really exist. When you look at a file in /proc, the kernel provides the info in a readable form 'on the fly'.

/usr is 9.2Gb Gb=2^30
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My /usr is 5.3GB, of which 2.9GB is /usr/portage. But then, this install is only a couple of days old, so it hasn't had time to accumulate any of the junk I normally have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hauser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 650
Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Hauser,

/proc doesn't really exist. When you look at a file in /proc, the kernel provides the info in a readable form 'on the fly'.

I understand that you only see files in /proc when you boot into your system, but don't you think they actually occupy some diskspace when system is running? Otherwise how can du show 514M?
_________________
AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl

Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 32026
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hauser,

df /proc shows
Code:
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
none                         0         0         0   -  /proc
which is exactly right.
The /proc filesystem is used to expose kernel data structures and to allow them to be read and written 'on the fly' without doing restarts. It doesn't take any space on the hdd.
Did you make a partition for /proc ?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hauser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 650
Location: 4-dimensional hyperplane

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Did you make a partition for /proc ?

No, I didn't make any partition for /proc, (Who would think of doing that?). I'm aware that /proc is a virtual filesystem which contains runtime system information, but:

# du -h /proc
0 /proc/asound/seq
0 /proc/asound/oss
0 /proc/asound
0 /proc/ide/ide1/hdc
0 /proc/ide/ide1
0 /proc/ide/ide0/hda
0 /proc/ide/ide0
2.0K /proc/ide
........
5.0K /proc/10050/task/10050/fd
5.0K /proc/10050/task/10050
5.0K /proc/10050/task
5.0K /proc/10050/fd
10K /proc/10050
514M /proc

this is why I'm beginning to wonder.

El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
i think proc has a fake file that shows it has the same size as your ram, but doesnt actually

This is correct, I've got 514M ram. :wink:
_________________
AMD Athlon XP 2600+; 512M RAM;
nVidia FX5700LE; Hitachi 120Gb
2.6.9-nitro4, reiser4, linux26-headers+nptl

Do I like to compile everything?
Positive definite!


Last edited by Hauser on Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:46 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

/usr is 3013MB
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One thing you can do to save some space is delete things in /usr/portage/distfiles that you no longer need. It has all the source tarballs and such in it, and since portage never deletes tarballs for the sources of older versions of something it can get quite big. I would delete some of the stuff in there if I were you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anime_Fan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Linköping, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ls -lh /proc/kcore
-r-------- 1 root root 479M Jul 11 12:37 /proc/kcore

Hmmm... I have 32MB reserved for the internal GFX card... 479 + 32 = 511MB...

Around my total RAM (512)... Strange. Perhaps kcore is the ammount of RAM the system can use.

So, does anyone honestly believe the RAM is hogging disk space?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sapphirecat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 376

PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/usr: 5274 MB (of a / partition consuming 7156 MB)
/usr/portage/distfiles: 3371 MB
free space: 31109 MB (81% free... I don't have to worry for a while. ;))

Besides the distfiles, another possible space hog is /var/tmp/portage/*, which can be safely removed (assuming no emerges are running).
_________________
Former Gentoo user; switched to Kubuntu 7.04 when I got sick of waiting on gcc. Chance of thread necro if you reply now approaching 100%...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lojack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Newark, DE (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, what files/directories can be safely deleted without destroying a fairly new desktop system? Can /usr/portage/distfiles be deleted completely? There are a lot of packages in that directory that I will never use, as well as in /usr/portage. Should I go through /usr/portage and /usr/portage/distfiles directory by directory, file by file and delete what I don't want? Or can the entire directory (referring to /usr/portage/distfiles) go?
I saw reference to ccache. I'm not familiar with ccache and what it does. I'll be Googling in a moment.
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

TIA
Chris/CMS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roguelazer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to Free Lots of Space

Code:

# rm -fr /usr/portage/distfiles/*
# rm -fr /var/tmp/portage/*
# ccache -c


Run monthly for best effects. Do NOT run while portage is emerging something. For even more space, you can run ccache -C instead of -c (capital c clears more space because it clears the entire cache instead of just cleaning it).
_________________
Registered Linux User #263260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lojack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Newark, DE (USA)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roguelazer wrote:
How to Free Lots of Space

Code:

# rm -fr /usr/portage/distfiles/*
# rm -fr /var/tmp/portage/*
# ccache -c


Run monthly for best effects. Do NOT run while portage is emerging something. For even more space, you can run ccache -C instead of -c (capital c clears more space because it clears the entire cache instead of just cleaning it).


By ccache, are you referring to dev-util/ccache?

Chris/CMS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nizar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 257
Location: localhost

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/usr: 4.9GB
I clean(delete some tarballs) /usr/portage/distfiles from time to
time
/proc: 516MB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FWIW, du reports that /proc is 898M. Methinks this is a stealthy way of discovering how much RAM people have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VincentVega
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 16
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My /usr is just under 10Gb in size. Of this, /usr/portage/distfiles is about 1.5Gb. A large amount of the total space used (around 4Gb) is taken up by the CVS sources for KDE.

This is all on a partition that's just under 32Gb in size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roguelazer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2004 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lojack wrote:


By ccache, are you referring to dev-util/ccache?

Chris/CMS


Yeah. Most people have it installed (and FEATURES="ccache" in make.conf) because it makes compilign a lot faster. However, it uses a cache for this which can grow to quite large sizes if allowed.
_________________
Registered Linux User #263260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
geniux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 1400
Location: /home

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
0       /usr/portage/distfiles/cvs-src
413M    /usr/portage/distfiles
2.1G    /usr

513M    /proc


Like it clean 8)
_________________
AMD Athlon64 X2 4200+ AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum, Enermax Liberty 500W
1GB RAM Crucial DDR2 667MHz, MSI nVidia 7600GS 256MB
400GB + 250GB Samsung SATAII HDD
Gentoo - BeyondSources 2.6.19-20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MatzeOne
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 579
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thebell wrote:
FWIW, du reports that /proc is 898M. Methinks this is a stealthy way of discovering how much RAM people have.


got 1.5gb ram "du -h /proc" reports 927M

/usr is 3.7G
_________________
Mit null lässt sich eine ganze Menge machen.
Sportschule Hamburg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nadir-san
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I install random stuff sometimes to see what its like. :D
32G /usr/
like said before it doesnt reall mean anything but...
259M /proc/

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/hdb4 18G 14G 2.7G 84% /
/dev/hdb1 39G 32G 5.1G 87% /usr
/dev/hda2 169G 156G 4.2G 98% /main
/dev/hda1 19G 9.5G 8.0G 55% /main/media/upload
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnuageux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/usr 3.4 GB
_________________
The realOTW: http://forums.realotw.org/index.php

Registered Linux user#364538
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MatzeOne wrote:
got 1.5gb ram "du -h /proc" reports 927M
Is that with or without highmem support? The kernel can only map a certain amount of ram at a time, so i'm guessing that's an upper limit on the size of /proc/kcore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sapphirecat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 376

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2004 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lojack wrote:
Should I go through /usr/portage and /usr/portage/distfiles directory by directory, file by file and delete what I don't want?

Everything in /usr/portage (except the distfiles and packages directories) auto-cleans or -regenerates itself when you do emerge sync, so it wouldn't be worth your time to mess with anything else under /usr/portage. And unless you have buildpkg set in FEATURES, or copied a bunch into there during a GRP install or something, /usr/portage/packages should be empty anyway.
_________________
Former Gentoo user; switched to Kubuntu 7.04 when I got sick of waiting on gcc. Chance of thread necro if you reply now approaching 100%...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
russianpirate
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Sep 2004
Posts: 1167
Location: Detroit, MI

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

6       bin/
1       boot/
3       dev/
49      etc/
33229   home/
22      lib/
1       lost+found/
1       media/
1       mnt/
12643   opt/
514     proc/
16      root/
7       sbin/
0       sys/
102     tmp/
3814    usr/
221     var/


whole list, but USR is 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum