Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Sony Vaio FS series FN keys
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have my kernel compiled as it says to do here with (1280x800@58 ) VESA default mode. I've emerged splash-themes-gentoo and put this in my /boot/grub/grub.conf
Code:
title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,1)
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/hda4 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1280x800-32@58 splash=verbose,fadein,theme:emergence CONSOLE=/dev/tty1
initrd /boot/fbsplash-emergence-1280x854
...sorry this is really offtopic, maybe I should be sending you a private message instead?
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
strago
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, nice work...

Just if that can help : if you are not in "type 1" in bios FN control, that's doesn't work... (2hours to find that...:evil: )

I'm going to check xosd (doesn't work for the moment) and runlevel script.

EDIT : FS115M under debian kernel 2.6.13.4 .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strago wrote:

...
Just if that can help : if you are not in "type 1" in bios FN control, that's doesn't work... (2hours to find that...:evil: )
...


Thanks for the tip :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2005 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a bit OT but can someone explain how to get the suspend to ram to work? I'm having a hard time understanding how to do it. Thnx
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messenjer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Pijalu,

Thanks for your explanation and script.

I easily install your kernel module and script to work with my vaio vgn-fs315b on ubuntu breezy.

I just rewritte /etc/init.d/fsfn to works with debian (runscript is gentoo only).

Code:
#!/bin/sh

PATH=/sbin:/bin

. /lib/lsb/init-functions

if ! test -e /proc/acpi/sony/fnkey ; then
    log_failure_msg "Sony acpi key handler not found"
    exit 1
fi

case "$1" in
    start)
        log_begin_msg "Starting fsfn key handler"
        start-stop-daemon --start \
                    --nicelevel 10 \
                    --pidfile /var/run/fsfn.pid \
                    -x "/usr/local/bin/fsfn"
        log_end_msg $?
    ;;
    stop)
        log_begin_msg "Stopping fsfn key handler"
        start-stop-daemon --stop --pidfile /var/run/fsfn.pid
        log_end_msg $?
    ;;
    *)
        log_success_msg "Usage: /etc/init.d/fsfn {start|stop}"
        exit 1
esac

exit 0


Thanks a lot :D

Mathieu Laurent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

messenjer wrote:
Hello Pijalu,

Thanks for your explanation and script.

I easily install your kernel module and script to work with my vaio vgn-fs315b on ubuntu breezy.

I just rewritte /etc/init.d/fsfn to works with debian (runscript is gentoo only).
[snip]
Thanks a lot :D

Mathieu Laurent


Thanks to you for the debian script, pretty sure it will be usefull for other people :-)
I put it in the repos of berlios and bumped version to include it

Btw,if you writed somewhere a how-to for ubuntu, you can send me the link to it so I can update explanations to include it for ubuntu people ending on gentoo forums ;-)


Last edited by pijalu on Fri Nov 25, 2005 12:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gtwilliams
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

G2k wrote:
hey guys I was wondering if you know a way to have the system shutdown when the battery is low. Right now the only way I can know my battery status is through torsmo, but it would be nice to have the computer shutdown if I'm not around to do it myself. Any success on the suspending to RAM issue?

Also, will an ebuild for this ever come out :o cus I've been too lazy to attempt getting the FN keys to work properly.
thanks


You might find my approach useful: http://www.zvolve.com/~garry/my-acpi.tar.gz

I also patched the gnome battery monitor to work on the Sony FS640/W with Fedora. I don't know, if this will help, but you might have a look at the patch at: http://www.zvolve.com/~garry/lappy.html#acpi_support

Hope this helps.

Garry Williams
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aharris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 6:05 am    Post subject: VGN-FS740 FN keys Reply with quote

I have a VGN-FS740 notebook. Suse 10.0 installed beautifully and I have almost all ACPI capabilities which Windows provides and more. However the function key combinations for hardware (FN + F5 for screen dimming, etc) do not work. I’m hesitant to patch the sony_acpi and I don’t really know how anyway.



My problem is that the spicctrl commands return a value of zero no matter what command I use. Do you have any ideas?



Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 2:57 pm    Post subject: Re: VGN-FS740 FN keys Reply with quote

aharris wrote:
I have a VGN-FS740 notebook. Suse 10.0 installed beautifully and I have almost all ACPI capabilities which Windows provides and more. However the function key combinations for hardware (FN + F5 for screen dimming, etc) do not work. I’m hesitant to patch the sony_acpi and I don’t really know how anyway.

My problem is that the spicctrl commands return a value of zero no matter what command I use. Do you have any ideas?

Regards,


spicctrl use a hardware device that most (ALL?) sony vaio FS don't have... If you want to use the sony special keys, I guess you should try to shoot at fsfn... If you follow http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-2722251.html#2722251 , you won't have to "patch" sony_acpi, since I put on berlios an already patched module.
The rest of the explanation will allows you to install a program to handle this module in a "user-friendly" way. (This will not modify your "in-use" kernel... just add a new module to it).
The only limitation is: you need to install the tools to compile modules on your suse. I guess this page can give you the needed info: http://www.novell.com/coolsolutions/feature/16340.html
They give a example on how to compile PWC, you can use sony_acpi instead...

Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aharris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your prompt reply and information.

Before my post, I actually downloaded the fsfn tar, ran the ./configure, which complained about libasound and xsod not being present.

I found no libasound for Suse 10, but downloaded the closest which was the latest ALSA packages for Suse 9.x. This satsified the ./configure process. I did the make and make insall, which seemed to go ok.

I started the fsfn daemon by typing 'fsfn' at the terminal prompt, tried my function keys, and got no results. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong here, as I am clearly a linux noob.

The ALSA package for Suse 9.2 downgraded my sound, as no suprise, and caused a repair mess for someone like me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aharris wrote:
Thank you for your prompt reply and information.

Before my post, I actually downloaded the fsfn tar, ran the ./configure, which complained about libasound and xsod not being present.

I found no libasound for Suse 10, but downloaded the closest which was the latest ALSA packages for Suse 9.x. This satsified the ./configure process. I did the make and make insall, which seemed to go ok.

I started the fsfn daemon by typing 'fsfn' at the terminal prompt, tried my function keys, and got no results. Perhaps I'm doing something wrong here, as I am clearly a linux noob.

The ALSA package for Suse 9.2 downgraded my sound, as no suprise, and caused a repair mess for someone like me.


To use fsfn, you need to first install and modprobe sony_acpi.
For the dependencies: fsfn use Alsa for the sound, and xosd for the user osd thing.
Sadly, I don't have a clue on how install the needed dependencies on a SuSe... never used this one ;)
Maybe try to get help on some SuSe forums for these specific tasks ?
[evangelism] or maybe give a try to a Gentoo ? [/evangelism] ;-)

For the noob feeling... every one has been a noob... don't worry and keep trying (and made looots of backups) ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
messenjer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu wrote:
Thanks to you for the debian script, pretty sure it will be usefull for other people :-)
I put it in the repos of berlios and bumped version to include it


Thanks a lot. It will be usefull.

pijalu wrote:
Btw,if you writed somewhere a how-to for ubuntu, you can send me the link to it so I can update explanations to include it for ubuntu people ending on gentoo forums ;-)


Here is the list of ubuntu packages to install :

Code:
sudo aptitude install gcc make linux-headers-686 libasound-dev libxosd-dev


According to your kernel : you can install linux-headers-386, linux-headers-k7, ... instead of linux-headers-686

Regards

Mathieu

Note: I updated to fsfn 0.3-r1 all works fine
_________________
Mathieu Laurent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wizo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this great post guys!!! :D

I had a problem with /dev/input/event0
Code:
omega init.d # fsfn -n
Opening event interface /dev/input/event0
event interface open failed: No such device


but I solved enabling a kernel parameter:
Code:

Device Drivers
  Input device support
    <*>   Event interface


I hope this help anyone who got the same problem!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For all gentooist using fsfn, ebuilds are now available at http://download.berlios.de/fsfn/fsfn_overlay.tar.bz2
you should untar this in your overlay root, this should create app-laptop (if needed) and allows you to emerge sonyacpi and fsfn in a easy way (i hope)

For everyone: fsfn 1.0 is out (http://download.berlios.de/fsfn/fsfn-1.0.tar.gz), in short
* supports hibernate correctly (at least it should)
* determine automagically the right device (no more problems to find out the /dev/input/event to use)
* Customization:
- all the FN+keys actions via /etc/fsfn.conf
- OSD colors and font
- Alsa device name (I read somewhere someone needed that)
* man pages (man fsfn and man 5 fsfn ... use them ;-) )
* init scripts for fedora

All your thanks should go to gtwilliams and soudmind for their works on this

EDIT:
* 2005-12-13: changed app-misc to app-laptop


Last edited by pijalu on Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gtwilliams, soudmind and pijalu, I love you guys!
Quote:
supports hibernate correctly (at least it should)
So you were able to get hibernation to work? Could you give me some tips on how to do this I haven't had any success :o Thanks so much to all of you!
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

G2k wrote:
gtwilliams, soudmind and pijalu, I love you guys!
Quote:
supports hibernate correctly (at least it should)
So you were able to get hibernation to work? Could you give me some tips on how to do this I haven't had any success :o Thanks so much to all of you!


take a shoot at garry or soundmind web page, they both got it working and give loads of details for that :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, did that already. Those are the two guides I followed.
First off, soundmind has a typo there when he says to use the kernel parameter acpi_os_name="Windows Windows XP" (which is not even a 20 character string). It should be acpi_os_name="Microsoft Windows XP". Second, I tried his DSDT and kernel configuration, but I can't even boot up unless I have acpi_skip_timer_override as a kernel parameter in my grub.conf (by the way, I'm using a 2.6.12 kernel). Once I was finally able to boot I was able to suspend but when I hit a key to turn it back on the computer was in an unusable state (blank screen...I can't ssh into this machine so I couldn't see what was going on, but I wasn't running X and I tried doing `sudo /sbin/reboot` [whcih should reboot as regular user for me] which didnt work). garry's version didn't work for me either. :cry:
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm.... On my side I got suspend to disk working, but this needs me to use nv instead of nvidia (didn't not succeed a on battery with this boy )... Working "ok" - issue is if the machine on battery, then the write to disk takes age (more than 100sec...) . So I forget about the 2.5min i lost by doing a shutdown/restart of system ;)

EDIT: just notice something in what you said: Are you using his DSDT ? - Do you have same hardware ? (his dsdt is different from mine... )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sound-mind
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah perhaps forums are a better venue than email for working out these problems... now everyone can benefit. I fixed the string in my guide, thanks for pointing out that error g2k. I also updated it with the latest information I have pertaining to the S3 state. Should we start another thread to discuss these issues perhaps?

In the meantime, I'm going to compile a kernel w/out the fixed DSDT so I can post that as well. I'm beginning to think this is related the video drivers I was using at the time. My emerge.log says I was using nvidia-kernel/nvidia-kernel-1.0.7676 at the time when the suspension and resumption was functioning properly. Maybe I'll roll back to this with kernel 2.6.12 to see what happens with that combination.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevewabc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

? I have a sony vgn-s460 and installing fedora fc 4 tonight so will these steps work on fc4 to? thanks for your input. There just isnt much out there on howto for sony's and us half ass newbees :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knefas
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 828

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

stevewabc wrote:
There just isnt much out there on howto for sony's and us half ass newbees :wink:

Man, have you seen this? http://gentoo-wiki.com/HARDWARE_Sony_VGN-S4 :)

(S4's have different fn key system, btw. :) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
axterics
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Verona - IT

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to compliment with pilaju and all the coders for the beatiful work. I use the ebuild and it work greatly.

I suggest 3 things for the next release:
1 Remember moving the advise to launch fsfn -o (xosd support) in the tail of the compilation (I don't see it immediatly..)
2 Create an /etc/fsfn.conf.example with the various option can be changed (I have to look /var/log/messages to understand what change)
3 Add other options changeable (position of bar in the screen, length of the bar, bar style (i saw the xosd api, it is very simple))

:D thank's a lot guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gremo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 450
Location: Udine (Italy)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi guys i need help please!
i have compiled the kernel with Sony Programmable I/O Control Device Driver BUILT IN!
node /dev/sonypi exist (not created by me...)

however, running sonypid utiliy does not show pressed keys (show nothing..)

any ideas?
_________________
In nome delle migliaia di innocenti assassinati vi auguro di passare il resto dell’eternità con le vostre 72 puttane ad arrostire a fuoco lento all’inferno. Stronzi cammellieri con l’asciugamano in testa, baciate le mie nobili palle irlandesi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sound-mind
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gremo wrote:
hi guys i need help please!
i have compiled the kernel with Sony Programmable I/O Control Device Driver BUILT IN!
node /dev/sonypi exist (not created by me...)

however, running sonypid utiliy does not show pressed keys (show nothing..)

any ideas?


Please post the model of your notebook. Did you follow the directions here? The application we've discussing here (fsfn) is different from sonypid since the existing sonypid fn-key mechanism was not compatible with our laptops.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Dortmund, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu wrote:
Ok, following
Code:

cat /proc/bus/input/devices


your keyboard is mapped as event2
cf
Code:

I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0001 Product=0001 Version=ab41
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
P: Phys=isa0060/serio0/input0
H: Handlers=kbd event2
B: EV=120013
B: KEY=4 2000000 3802078 f840d001 f2ffffdf ffefffff ffffffff fffffffe
B: MSC=10
B: LED=7


So, can you see if
Code:

fsfn -n -d /dev/input/event2

Does it do the trick ? (if not, run pm code on this device)


I have a problem.

Code:
cat /proc/bus/input/devices


gives me no "event output" like yours, so I cannot "cat" it. All in all, my system behaves strange concerning all those FN-Keys


Code:
I: Bus=0011 Vendor=0001 Product=0001 Version=ab41
N: Name="AT Translated Set 2 keyboard"
P: Phys=isa0060/serio0/input0
S: Sysfs=/class/input/input3
H: Handlers=kbd
B: EV=120013
B: KEY=4 2000000 3802078 f840d001 f2ffffdf ffefffff ffffffff fffffffe
B: MSC=10
B: LED=7



Code:
/etc/init.d/fsfn start


starts fsfn, but I see no process, even a fsfn.conf hasn't been created.
After installing the packets you mentioned in your post I do not have /proc/acpi/sony/fnkey. brightness and brightness_default are there and changing brightness works well with

Code:
echo X > /proc/acpi/sony/brightness


But as you may assume, that's not what I want :)
_________________
http://www.dispatchmusic.com
- Listen to Dispatch - smile - be happy -

http://www.maggimarkus.de
- my (german) page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 4 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum